We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair enough”

Big Island Backpacking Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Island Backpacking Hostel
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hilo
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hostel was pretty empty when I stayed there (maybe 50% capacity), which was good because it only has 3 showers and 3 toilets. Not an issue for my stay but would become one with more people. Cheap and centrally located - and only 45min drive to the volcanoes national park. I only spent two nights there but would have stayed longer if i could. the owner and the staff were cool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Brotherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Big Island Backpacking Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 55 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place was aweesome. I stayed here for 2 nights and found the experience aweeesome...meeting other people from other countries and exploring together was pretty cool....This place was cheap, clean and quiet.....I would recommend everyone who comes to HILO to stay here....thank you sasha from Canada and J....you guys ROCK....

Room Tip: the private rooms are just as good as the dorms....
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 613PaulaF613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel has good central location, but to get here from the airport you need rent a car, the free car park is just next to hostel.

Hostel is very clean, rooms big clean and beds very comfy. There is big kitchen and common area with PC+internet, TV and even there is small gym.

Fro breakfast there is available slices of papaya, toast, buter and jam and tea or coffee DIY.

I was quite satisfied with the stay but I have to point out that the tsunami evacuation we came about during my sty was poorly handled by the hostel staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We found that there was more to do on the Hilo side of the Big Island than there was on the Kona side. The Hilo Backpackers Hostel was the cheapest one in town and also included a nice breakfast with 3 slices of toast, coffee tea and - our favorite - a papaya.

The building was nothing special and we found that there could be done more out of it. Anyway, the kitchen, common area, dorm room and bathroom were fairly big.

The hostel was close to a grocery store, ATM and there was even a Walmart within driving distance.

We would especially like to mention the VERY friendly and helpful staff at the hostel. We would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perfectday248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed for two nights. It was a very quiet hostel, with just a few guests. Didn't stay a lot in the room, as there are enough things to do around. Friendly staff, sharing stories about Hawaii. Sleep with the sound of the Cookie frogs.

Room Tip: any will do
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peshovuchev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This hostel is still under renvations, it is still live able, there no builders so there is no noise!
they are getting a new kitchen fitted, should be very nice when finished. all mattress are brand new, we stayed in other hostels with bed bugs, but it was very nice here and bed bug free!

Location in heart of hilo, close to shops and supermarkets, but hilo is quite a ruff area, dont walk alone at night, a lot of homeless people live in hilo.

Recommendations do see the volcanos, hire a car for the day and drive the 28miles to the national park and they have free tours at 9am onwards. the tours to the volcanos cost $100 per person and is too expensive when your backpacking around the world. there is no public bus to the volcanos so your options are a tour or rent a car. we paid $50 for the day for a 4 wheel drive and was very cheap on fuel.

Public bus to Kona only cost $1 each.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barneyboo8690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The facilities here are on par with most hostels I've stayed in around the world. It's not a huge place so it has a homey feel that I prefer to the giant hostels in Waikiki. That said, you need to plan to take care of all transportation and all arrangements yourself. I did get the hostel to cover transportation to/from the airport, but it was not arranged in advance like I had asked for. Also, the tours were not run on a consistent basis and I found that to be very misleading because I planned my stay here so that I could attend all of the tours. I ended up having to make outside arrangements for almost everything I did because the schedule was completely at the whim of the owner. Charles is a friendly, person, but he is not very reliable and his laid-back attitude is a little difficult to handle when you arrive with specific expectations. Also - I highly recommend arranging a car rental for your time on the Big Island.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benFlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
1.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilo Bay Hostel
Hilo Bay Hostel
#4 of 11 in Hilo
194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Island Backpacking Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Island Backpacking Hostel

Address: 69 Waianuenue Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2433 (Formerly Hilo Backpackers Hostel)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hilo
Price Range: $30 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Island Backpacking Hostel is a large two story structure with rooms upstairs and a large common area downstairs. We offer free Wifi, breakfast and operate a locally grown, fresh farmers market in our parking every Thursday and Saturday. We have kayak rentals available for cruising Hilo Bay (which can be viewed from our private rooms) and moped and bicycle rentals for getting around town. Mauna Kea, Volcanos National Park, and beach tours available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Big Island Backpacking Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Island Backpacking Hostel Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing