We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed and Home-like”
Sky Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sky Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Sky Room
The Horse Grazing In The Front Yard
Welcome to the Hilltop Legacy Vacation Rental
Relax In The Garden and Look Down On Hilo Town
Enjoy The Cool Night Air In the Garden
At Night The Surrounding Jungle Provides a Unique Quiet
In the backyard our family horse roams around. He has been with us for over 25 years.
Snowball Our Outdoor Cat Taking a Nap
Our Tulips Blooming Over Looking The Back Yard
The sounds of the koi pond water fountain will be sure to get you prepared for a relaxing vacation.
The Back Lanai Over Looks The Rolling Green Hills.
Enjoy Panoramic Views of Hilo Bay
Play pool in the living room while you enjoy the relaxing sounds of the Koi pond right outside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathryn51...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“In a word - awful.”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
22
people found this review helpful

We arrived to an empty house with a phone and a note from the owner on the outside front stoop saying they had "stepped out". The phone's battery was dead, but there it sat with the note, undisturbed, for the next 24 hours. We tried calling the number on the note and eventually got through to the owner who gave us instructions for letting ourselves in. We never saw the owner(s), just their poor cat that was locked out of the house and was desperate to get in. We never saw or heard from the owner the entire time we were there.

The room we stayed in was the largest of three. There was only one dim lamp on the desk and a ceiling light. There was no lighting appropriate for reading. King bed, with a nasty looking bedspread in place of a blanket, worn sheets and sad, flat pillows with a thin, saggy mattress. The bathroom appeared to have been updated last about the time Eisenhower was in office and the shower had virtually no water pressure and looked shabby with dirty, worn grout. The screen door leading out to a rooftop deck from the bedroom had a broken lock, so the room was unsecure the entire time.

The next morning when we went down for breakfast, there was no food, no owner, no note - nothing. We ran into another couple staying in the next room as we were leaving and they said they had called the owner their first morning to ask about breakfast and were told if they wanted breakfast they had to pay extra. There was no mention of this "policy" when we booked the room.

The best I can say is we only had to stay there for one night. Overall, a very unpleasant experience.

Date of stay: January 2014
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There was nothing to like about this property.
Liked least: The overall condition of the room and the clear indifference of the owner.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennyfam
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
1 review
“Relaxed and Home-like”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Our family traveled from various places and Hilltop Legacy was the perfect choice for us all. We could be together in a very private setting, enjoy the spectacular views and be so close to Hilo Town. It was perfect.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and privacy
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prandi
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bland & Forgetable, Not horrible”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Not really a B&B, just a house with 4 room for rent. Continental breakfast included. Close to center of town, but Hilo doesn't really warrant a lot of attention. Accommodations are adequate but not much else to offer.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Proximity to town, airport
Liked least: Not attractive
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Hilo”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We loved this old plantation style home. The owner greeted us via a phone left outside on the porch and "walked me" through the house to the upstairs room. This place has a quiet atmosphere; I didn't see or hear any of the other guests until breakfast, which was very nice: fruit, breads, coffee, and juice. We rented the Volcano room which has its own private bathroom, giant TV, small fridge, and coffee pot. We saw a couple of small cochroaches and small bugs, but not enough to scare us at all. Overall, it was very clean, comfy, and charming. It has a beautiful deck and nice view and good parking. We just used the GPS to get there. I think it might have been a little difficult to find without that.

Date of stay: June 2013
Liked best: comfortable bed and breakfast
Liked least: couple of bugs... but not a big deal
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scitzo
Sunnyvale, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4
people found this review helpful

After reading the other reviews and checking the prices, I thought we had scored a great deal: high rating at a low price. It turned out that the facility was a reasonable for the price paid. This place was considerably cheaper than other places we stayed on the big island, but that might be because Hilo is cheaper.

The run down:
Location: looks great on google maps, but it is a good distance from town. No walking to restaurants or shore. It's probably only 10 blocks or so, but way up on the hill (hilltop legacy), so it would take a while. I hate driving, but I never walked anywhere from here. That said, if you are look for views and isolation, this place is it.

Facilities: it was clean, but not quite clean. More of a older feel to it. Older carpets, etc.

Volcano room: cramped. No place in the room to hang out except for a single chair and the bed. The room is advertised as private bath - it was private, but not connected to the room, so you have to go into the public hallway to reach it. TV reception was poor on some channels, likely due to the shoddy cable in the back. TV downstairs in the pool room was better. Nobody goes to Hawaii to watch TV, but if your hockey teams makes the second round...

Other facilities: pretty good. Nice breakfast spread, pool table, outside lounging etc. We did not really use them, but they were nice.

Jade was quite nice and helpful.

Loud frogs, but not in a bad way. Nice nature feel to

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hijabicyc...
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The only place to stay”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I don't want to tell you how great the place is, how awesome the rooms are, how great the breakfast taste, or how beautiful the property is because I want this place available for myself when I visit. Jade is super awesome, and I will always stay there when I am in Hilo.

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nice cats outside
Liked least: Coffee - folgers is not my thing.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyComp...
Marty Computers, Yorkshire and PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I want to go back and its only been a few days!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
4
people found this review helpful

The first thing to note about Hill Top is that it is located in a nice quiet residential area. This has some advantages (quiet, lack of cars etc) it can be a bit disconcerting if your coming in from New York City (or other big city). However, the lack of cars means you get to listen to the frogs and gecko's during the night (boy do they make a lot of noise!).

The House it's self is in good shape and feels very much like a home from home, there were a few times when the house showed its age (could do with a repaint on the roof of the toilet as its staring to peel a little) however, for a humid climate like Hilo its not a surprise and certainly not a big deal.

Next to our host, Jade is possibly one of the friendliest Hawaiians we met during our stay (and we met a lot of very friendly people!) he never complained at any request and was always on hand with help or advice. I can't thank him enough for helping make our stay comfortable and pleasant. He also stayed up to let us in on our first night after our plane was delayed, he greeted us with a smile and made us feel at home straight away.

The Hilltop is located only a short distance away from Rainbow Falls and various trails, therefore if you want to get out early there is plenty to do and explore. We set off at 5.30am most days and didn't get back till the early evening without getting bored.

Please note however, if you want to see the real Hawaii this is the place to go. Hilo is not designed for tourists so as long as you don't act like one and are polite to the locals they'll treat you well.

If you want the touristy Hawaii (which is fair enough I suppose) Kona on the other side of the island will be more your style.

All in all I have fallen in love with Hilo and the Hilltop, if I ever get the chance to go back I'll be staying here.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House, The Location, The Host!
Liked least: I loved it all!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing