We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Burgers!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilo Burger Joint

Hilo Burger Joint
Ranked #15 of 237 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The burgers here are great, they are quality and generous portions. The menu is a unique variety of delicious combinations, making it hard to decide. There are board games available to play while you wait for your food, which is a nice twist. Free wi-fi is also available. My only complaint is the musty smell (but that is hard to avoid in Hilo) and the old broken cushions on the booths. But once you take your first bite you no longer notice those things. They also have a nice selection of local beers, that are quite delicious. This is also the first and only place we found on the Big Island where you can drink and smoke on the patio, the breeze is good so you don't even notice the smoke. Definitely worth trying!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    101
    33
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going away party”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The local beers are over priced, the bartender was ver rude and couldn't care less if he waited on us and the burgers are over priced as well and are average in presentation and taste. Won't be back......

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank debjtm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

They have a huge selection of burgers to chose from. My husband and I chose to split an 8 oz classic burger which comes with fries or a salad. We ordered the fries and a side salad for $1.50 more. They cut the burger in half and served it on two plates. The side salad was enough for both of us to share. It was good for $13.00 bill.
As for the atmosphere, it smelled like a bar and looked one too. Maybe they need to clean the carpet?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank p l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great bar & food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Great burgers and service! They make a blue cheese burger salad for gluten-free people! Great beer selection including local beer and full bar. Live music was played in a Thursday night. Bartender gave us other local recs. Good local/bar atmosphere. Not too expensive! Open relatively late;) we recommend!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our new best place for burgers on The Big Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went here because it was recommended by someone in Pahoa when we were talking about the God Awful Pizza here. So we decided to try it one day while up in Hilo. We were very surprised. The food was excellent! We upgraded our burgers to the BEST cut of beef they offerred. I got a salad with mine instead of fries and it was a HOME MADE salad with REAL home made blue cheese crumbled dressing! I was impressesd and BOTH the salad and my hamburger were delicious. I came away feeling FULL and satisfied. It cost us both about $35 including tip and you can't go to a Burger King or McDonalds and get a big enough hamburger, fries and a salad for less than $15. So to have what I consider gourmet food - it's just great! I hope this place stays around for a long time. And an additional surprise was the bathrooms were NICE and even CLEAN!!! To me that IS IMPORTANT! They also serve liquor but we were driving to Waimea so could not order drinks that day so I can't comment on their drinks. The service was great and staff very friendly and genuine! We first went a couple of months ago.
Hope more people try this place out! We are planning to go back on the 19th of Oct and meeting a friend there.
Antoinette Jackson

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank islandantoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Burger Joint also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing