We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ponds

Ponds
Ranked #11 of 239 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Potsdam, Germany
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

This fancy restaurant is a must. Extremely friendly staff, great location and outstanding food. We ordered fresh salmon as well as a tasteful steak. There wad nothing to complain about. Finally the cocktails are more than special. Whenever you are visiting Hilo: please go there!!

Helpful?
Thank gspla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    230
    79
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
191 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Dinner with a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My mother-in-law came from Fontana, so we were looking for something special. We had driven by many times, but never had got around to stopping in.
It was worth the wait. Service was quick, food was great, the view was awesome. It was a great experience. I look forward to returning soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capncusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Splendid food; generous portions; attentive service; quaint locale (next to a pond); close to Hilo Airport. As others mentioned, if you sit near the windows you can throw food to the ducks and the fish, although wildlife managers would probably cringe at the thought.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Communer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best way to start (and end) your stay in Hilo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Ponds was our first stop in Hilo after an arduous flight from the mainland. We ended up there on the recommendation of the fellow at the car rental counter for a place to just unwind, have a drink, and look at the water.....and everything soon became right with the world.

We arrived in time for Happy Hour and ordered the Furikake Seared Ahi, which was delicious...(so delicious I ordered it for dinner the next time we ate at Pond's, which was on our way to the airport on our way back home.) We got a table by the window overlooking the "pond" which was water-enough for me. Drinks were great, too. I had a Mai-Tai and my hubby ordered a draft beer.

We saw another fellow there from our flight and found out he was having a drink while waiting for his friends to arrive on a different flight from the mainland: GREAT IDEA! It really is just a short hop from the airport and right on your way in to town.

As I mentioned, we went back about a week later as we were leaving Hilo, and had another fabulous evening, great food and drinks, with live music.

Can't wait to go back........

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ukulelelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dinner with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The menu is a little confusing with specials posted at the front door and the service is poor however the food was really good. Try to get a table near the window or the pond and you can feed the fish. The seared ahi appetizer was amazing, I could have had several servings for a meal. While it seems to be hard to find fish and chips on the island, they plate is good and good sized.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponds also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ponds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing