We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Friendly Staff, Build over a Pond”
Review of Ponds

Ponds
Ranked #10 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Staff, Build over a Pond”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stopped here for a late night meal after flying into Hilo. The food was super tasty, in ample portions, and the staff very friendly. Had a guy singing and playing music in the corner at just the right volume Enough to add ambiance, but not too loud to interfere with conversation. Was little on the pricey side.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lars_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    241
    82
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food & lovely view”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Best food I've had in Hilo! We had prime rib and top sirloin and they were flavorful, tender, and juicy. Garlic smashed potatoes are garlicky which was great. Drinks and service excellent. Servers very attentive, good pace for food (rest of Hilo so slow!), and even greeted by chef. Nice light jazz instrumental live.
Koi pond and ducks and lagoon were lovely backdrop to restaurant.

I travel a lot for work and this is also a nice place if you are here alone or with colleagues for a meal. Casual dress, television in bar to watch games, good drinks & food, great service, and prices decent for area. Steaks around $24 but they have a good range of prices for other meals including fish, pasta, appetizers, and lighter items. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for a really great meal”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are in Hilo, this is your place to eat. We searched around town for a while just trying to locate a good seafood restaurant. This was a chance happening as we made a wrong turn that led us into the parking lot of this fantastic place. We decided to go ahead and try it out and we are thankful we did. The lobster is fantastic as well as the mussels and the pumpkin soup I ordered was hijacked by my 8 year old step daughter that cleaned the bowl of the tasty treat. And of course save room for their desserts, they are the best. The outdoorsy feeling with the musician playing in the corner is really enticing. And the atmosphere overall is outstanding even with all the rain in Hilo.This is a must do stop for anyone wanting good food and a few nice drinks out on the town on any night they are open. Oh yes, and ask to meet the chef, he came to our table three times. He is a very nice gentleman and really knows how to care for his patrons.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pneu65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Most amazing place in Hilo”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We came upon this Restaraunt by accident. It was absolutely fabulous food and service. The chef came out to meet us and answer questions about the menu. My daughter wants to be a culinary chef and he took the time to give her some great pointers. Service like this is very hard to find. Very impressed!!! Highly recommened !!!!!! We will be going back if ever able!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparky3865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wis
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun location, good food”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stopped here after snorkeling on Richardson Beach for lunch. The view was great, keeping out son entertained with both their private koi pond and the open river view. Our server really knew the menu and offered good service. The food wasn't cheap but not bad for the location. We paid between $9 and $13 for our lunch entrees. The fish and chips and the Kahula pork in Taro buns were excellent. We also had some excellent tropical drinks, that were half the price that Pesto in downtown Hilo charged. Would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ResourceRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponds also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ponds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing