We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely Window Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponds

Ponds
Ranked #11 of 229 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely Window Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A local restaurant with lovely views over the pond. Very pleasant atmosphere. I had fish and it was very nice. Service good. So, not your top gourmet experience, but if you want something that is not too expensive, in a pleasant atmosphere, with good food, off the 'Hilo strip' and not in the 'Hilo mall' this might be your place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank e5000e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    193
    64
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, but can't cook a steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Seriously, if you can't cook a sirloin steak medium rare after three attempts, take it off the menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank potfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good service, lousy food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Had leg of lamb. It was like shoe leather and tasteless. I couldn't eat it. Luckily my wife had a chicken dish that I could share. I wasn't impressed with the dinner salad, raw veggies or the garlic mashed potatoes, either. After the meal the chef made his rounds. When he asked about my meal I told him the lamb was tough and tasteless. He said sorry we couldn't get the right cut of lamb. This was shoulder. I said maybe he shouldn't have served it. He said people liked it like that. Bad answer...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The Ponds Hilo - Romantic with a scenic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I first ate here a few years back after finishing an assignment in Kwajalein, after months of institutional food this place was heaven... This time my better half and I were finishing a 'round the Big Island drive around and was staying at a nearby Hotel. I had to try this place again! Chef Agustin Rios creates wonderful food... both my Wife and I were impressed with the portions, the very friendly staff, atmosphere and lovely views... The place was full so we ate in the bar next to the window overlooking the pond... After dinner... Met locals & other vacationers and imbibed on tropical libations (very good here), a wonder end to a "Big Island" stay!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rickra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ponds has it all !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

First time here for our family. We were all so pleased from beginning to end. The atmosphere is charming , the service was wonderful from everyone on staff. Our daughter is Vegan and usually hard to order for. Our beautiful server graciously recommended the Chef make her eggplant parmesan . It was fabulous as was everything we ordered . The Chef even came out and greeted tables ! I was impressed. My only regret is we didn't save room for dessert ! I took a photo of the dessert tray to remind me to save room next time ! : D

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OTravelFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponds also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ponds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing