We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Window Views”
Review of Ponds

Ponds
Ranked #11 of 239 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely Window Views”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

A local restaurant with lovely views over the pond. Very pleasant atmosphere. I had fish and it was very nice. Service good. So, not your top gourmet experience, but if you want something that is not too expensive, in a pleasant atmosphere, with good food, off the 'Hilo strip' and not in the 'Hilo mall' this might be your place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    234
    79
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, but can't cook a steak”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Seriously, if you can't cook a sirloin steak medium rare after three attempts, take it off the menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank potfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good service, lousy food”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Had leg of lamb. It was like shoe leather and tasteless. I couldn't eat it. Luckily my wife had a chicken dish that I could share. I wasn't impressed with the dinner salad, raw veggies or the garlic mashed potatoes, either. After the meal the chef made his rounds. When he asked about my meal I told him the lamb was tough and tasteless. He said sorry we couldn't get the right cut of lamb. This was shoulder. I said maybe he shouldn't have served it. He said people liked it like that. Bad answer...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ponds has it all !”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

First time here for our family. We were all so pleased from beginning to end. The atmosphere is charming , the service was wonderful from everyone on staff. Our daughter is Vegan and usually hard to order for. Our beautiful server graciously recommended the Chef make her eggplant parmesan . It was fabulous as was everything we ordered . The Chef even came out and greeted tables ! I was impressed. My only regret is we didn't save room for dessert ! I took a photo of the dessert tray to remind me to save room next time ! : D

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OTravelFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Outstanding service! Spectacular view! They gave my kids fish food to feed the koi fish while we sat at our table. The koi fish were right out our window. We all ordered fish & chips & had beef nachos as an app. We will go again!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalieandkhloesmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponds also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ponds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing