We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM YUM!”
Review of Ponds

Ponds
Ranked #11 of 244 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“YUM YUM!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was a suggestion made to us by out hotel...Did not have high expectations walking into the place, but was completely overwhelmed by the food! Best lobster I've EVER had and my husbands teriyaki steak was incredible! Nice touch...the chef came out and greeted and visited with guests ensuring their satisfaction.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JesnMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    236
    80
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great ambience and freshest fish you'll find”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had lunch there recently and also went for the fish and chips. My way of testing the kitchen. If they do a good job with the simplest fare, they'll do a great job with the top of the menu. I can only concur with another reviewer . . . best fish and chips I ever had!
Watched the kids swimming in the "ice pond" while their parents picnicked in the park across the pond. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laohuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Ponds is a great place to dine when your in HIlo. Weather it's lunch or dinner, they won't disappoint. The location is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and attentive. They will go out of their way to make sure you are well taken care of. The menu has enough choices that everyone on you group should be able to find something great to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As upscale as you can get in Hilo”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is not really a place for families. Prices are higher, but so is the quality of the food. Service was very friendly and attentive. It is busy, so you may have to wait. Very nice location on the lagoon with open window seating.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JanP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food, Awesome service!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Was the last meal of our trip in Hilo, and I am so happy that it was at Ponds! All of the staff was friendly and accommodating, our waiter was absolutely perfect.

The food was astounding! My husband had the "Catch of the Day" fish and chips... Ahi Tuna battered and fried. Best fish and chips ever! I had a Caesar salad topped with Ahi Tuna, also to perfection. The drinks were on point and on time, and I have nothing but rave reviews for every aspect of our visit here.

The restaurant itself has open windows all around overlooking the water, including their own Koi Pond which was fun to look out to while enjoying the fresh Hawaiian air while still being inside.

A must go to if you are in Hilo!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ndub84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponds also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ponds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing