We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient and Comfortable in Downtown Hilo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pakalana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pakalana Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Kula, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient and Comfortable in Downtown Hilo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

A perfect home base to explore downtown Hilo. Comfortable accommodation, great price, great location. Close to farmers market, beach walking, restaurants and shopping. Easy to park, easy to get around on foot. Stayed in room 3. A gentle murmur of street sounds at night, but quiet enough to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dylan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    45
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
35
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pahoa, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent New Year's Eve at the Inn so we could walk to the Elks Lodge for dancing after having dinner. The reasonably priced Inn is close to everything and the room was nice and very clean. I would recommend the Inn to anyone who wanted a downtown experience without having to drive. We will probably book a room there for next New Year's Eve.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri12312012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was very happy with my stay at Pakalana Inn. Room 1 was very clean and comfortable. The weather was very nice during my trip and the ceiling fan was enough to get the air circulation. But if you are a light sleeper and get hot easily, you may want to choose other rooms with ac. The cokui frogs outside can be loud.

My first impression of the location is that it can be scary at first. But it turned out to be quite convenient and desirable. The inn is centrally located near downtown, restaurants, highways, and the bay. I also enjoyed the fact that the farmer's market is only a few steps away. I usually pack lunch for daily trip and activities. You'll be able to find inexpensive tropical fruits and snacks there.

The staff is friendly and very helpful. At the same time, you will not feel like anyone is getting into your business. This place offered what I have imagined and much more.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, get a room with AC. Room 1 doesn't have an ac and the cokui frogs an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

周边很多吃饭的地方丰俭随意。空调其实就是冷气机,但晚上很凉快,基本不需要。停车就在入口对面的一个空地上,反正就是随便停咯。离农夫市场很近,周三似乎有集市,很热闹。附近kta超市,买水果,日用,吃的很方便。反正性价比还是很高的。老板人不错,给我送来了手电筒The room is clean and considerable. The location is good and many attractions and food around.Being a Chinese, I recommend you to eat breakfast at Farmers kitchen which is at the back of the inn. The air condition is a little bit noisy but the night is cool. We just use it before take shower.房间干净,有许多生活设施。周边很多吃饭的地方丰俭随意。空调其实就是冷气机,但晚上很凉快,基本不需要。停车就在入口对面的一个空地上,反正就是随便停咯。离农夫市场很近,周三似乎有集市,很热闹。附近kta超市,买水果,日用,吃的很方便。反正性价比还是很高的。老板人不错,给我送来了手电筒

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperRockBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Googled and found this place on our way into town, figured we'd give it a look. I have to admit that upon pulling in I was doubtful. Remembering the old adage about judging books by their covers, I hung in there. Oh my gosh, what a treat this place is. Beautiful, clean, inviting rooms with the usual amenities and very friendly service. Add in the cafe downstairs, the ukulele store across the street, the proximity to the water and the farmers market - you've got everything you need here. 100% recommendation, the wife and kids agree.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craigtats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Although we live near Hilo, we had never stayed at the Pakalana Inn before this week. Our 1-night stay at this charming inn was wonderful. We stayed in Room 2 which was nicely furnished and had a claw-foot tub in the bathroom. Within walking distance you'll find Dragon Mama's, Palace Theater, Kress Theater, the Farmer's Market, a scrapbooking store, a scuba equipment store, and many other restaurants, galleries, and stores. We ate dinner at Cafe Pesto, then picked up some snacks for later at the KTA grocery store a few blocks away. (There was a small refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave in the room - very handy!) We were there on election day so some attractions were closed but next time we'll walk over to the Wailoa art and cultural center across the park from the inn and drop in on a yoga class a few blocks away.

We chose the inn because it was pet-friendly but ended up not taking our two Maltese on this mini-trip. Next time, they will stay with us - I'm sure they will be very comfortable and will enjoy walking around the area as well.

We did not get to try Paul's restaurant downstairs for breakfast because of time constraints, but it looked like a wonderful place to eat. The owners are very friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which had excellent cross-ventilation. (A/C is rare on this island - all you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brinklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great 6 room inn, Surprisingly nice looking on the inside. Don't let the outside of the building fool you. Downstairs is an excellent small restaurant so you don't have to go far. I'd recommend this to any of my visiting friends.

Room Tip: Only stayed in room #2, but it was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalebJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
1.3 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakalana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakalana Inn

Property: Pakalana Inn
Address: 132 Punahoa St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-6308
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Hilo adjacent to the Farmer's Market and Wailoa State Park. Vintage building with upgraded interior, spacious rooms. Air conditioning, kitchenette available. Flat screen TV, internet, coffee maker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pakalana Inn Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing