We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel”
Review of Pakalana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pakalana Inn
Ranked #12 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Pakalana Inn for one night. We were surprised by the exterior that this was a inn (it looked run down) but when we got inside we were pleasantly surprised to find a nicely decorated updated inn. We stayed in the Ekahi room and it was cute. It has a mini fridge and a microwave which was nice. It is very convinient to walking around Hilo and is right next to the Farmers Market. It was nice being able to walk anywhere we wanted.
The only complaint I would have is that the bed frame needs to be replaced. The mattress and the sheets were wonderful but the bed frame was so squeaky! Other than that it was a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninabruja06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    46
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
36
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

good little hotel in downtown hilo. about a 2 second walk to the farmers market. we stayed in room 3. nice comfortable king size bed and a good pull out couch. neil the owner was extremely accommodating, he even put in blinds in our room so it would be dark so my baby could nap during the day. easy parking on the street or in the lot behind the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDmize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

For those interested in getting a good taste of Hilo, as well as those interested in exploring the east side of the big island, my wife and I strongly recommend the Pakalana Inn in Hilo. We wanted to do the Hilo walking tour in Lonely Planet, and it turns out that the Pakalana is located almost exactly in the middle of the ten cool sights in this tour. It seems like everything in Hilo is within a short walk from here. We especially liked having the Hilo Farmers' market on one side of us, and a series of big, beautiful parks on the other side. Our location was also very convenient for trips to the visitors' center at Mauna Kea, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, and the Hamakua Coast.. The rooms at the Pakalana are very clean, spacious, and well-furnished. There is free parking in back.. We especially liked getting a four-digit code to get into the building and room (no need to worry about keeping track of a key or card). The rates here are very reasonable considering what you get. If in Hilo, be sure to check out the Pakalana!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtimothyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I'm glad we decided to go with Pakalana Inn. It was quite hard picking a place to stay at in Hilo because many of the hotels look old and dirty and there were a hand full of B&Bs but were kind of pricey. I found Pakalana Inn through tripadvisor with not many reviews, but all of the reviews were positive, so I thought we'd give it a try. The location was extremely convenient and street parking was easy. We stayed in room 5 and it was quite big. The room had a small flat screen tv with MANY channels, coffee maker, and refrigerator. The only thing that I wish they had was a hair dryer. But I'd definitely come back to Pakalana Inn and would recommend it to anyone who is visiting Hilo.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yodavkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This hotel is right downtown, easy walking to everything, and reminded us of European hotels, where you do so much walking that you walk off the wonderful food you are eating! The noise from the street calmed down so that we slept well, and the beds were wonderful!
The owner will help you in every way he can, he is great. Altogether, we would stay here again!

Room Tip: Try the one with the kitchenette - it is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesca_maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I liked the coded access to the bldg. and my room. It's very efficient. My room - Ekahi - was quiet, and decorated with a complimentary combination of antique armoire and contemporary bed, linens, table & chairs. The 1st photo on their website shows this room. It looks exactly the same except they now have a flat screen tv on the wall and the chest the tv is on in the photo is gone and replaced with a small table and chairs. We ended up using the lounge area downstairs to eat lunch from the take out restaurant on the 1st floor. I also had a very nice dinner from a restaurant in the historic bldg. just down the street from the farmer's market. Nearby bakery was great too. It's a great location to walk around town. I didn't have time to explore the antique store that was mere steps from the front door, but the window shopping was fun. I would definitely stay at the Pakalana Inn again.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThePamster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

The Pakalana Inn was great! We stayed here for two days during the rainy season and very much enjoyed it. The room was clean and bright with gorgeous wood paneling and floors, a small but adequate microwave and fridge, and a flat-screen TV. The bathroom was spacious and the water pressure was great! Located conveniently in Hilo's downtown and literally right down the street from the farmers market. Neil was a great host and made sure we had everything we needed. A real treat and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmcomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
1.2 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
535 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakalana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakalana Inn

Property: Pakalana Inn
Address: 132 Punahoa St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-6308
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Hilo adjacent to the Farmer's Market and Wailoa State Park. Vintage building with upgraded interior, spacious rooms. Air conditioning, kitchenette available. Flat screen TV, internet, coffee maker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pakalana Inn Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing