We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Comfortable”
Review of Pakalana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pakalana Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I'm glad we decided to go with Pakalana Inn. It was quite hard picking a place to stay at in Hilo because many of the hotels look old and dirty and there were a hand full of B&Bs but were kind of pricey. I found Pakalana Inn through tripadvisor with not many reviews, but all of the reviews were positive, so I thought we'd give it a try. The location was extremely convenient and street parking was easy. We stayed in room 5 and it was quite big. The room had a small flat screen tv with MANY channels, coffee maker, and refrigerator. The only thing that I wish they had was a hair dryer. But I'd definitely come back to Pakalana Inn and would recommend it to anyone who is visiting Hilo.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yodavkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 106 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2011

This hotel is right downtown, easy walking to everything, and reminded us of European hotels, where you do so much walking that you walk off the wonderful food you are eating! The noise from the street calmed down so that we slept well, and the beds were wonderful!
The owner will help you in every way he can, he is great. Altogether, we would stay here again!

Room Tip: Try the one with the kitchenette - it is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francesca_maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I liked the coded access to the bldg. and my room. It's very efficient. My room - Ekahi - was quiet, and decorated with a complimentary combination of antique armoire and contemporary bed, linens, table & chairs. The 1st photo on their website shows this room. It looks exactly the same except they now have a flat screen tv on the wall and the chest the tv is on in the photo is gone and replaced with a small table and chairs. We ended up using the lounge area downstairs to eat lunch from the take out restaurant on the 1st floor. I also had a very nice dinner from a restaurant in the historic bldg. just down the street from the farmer's market. Nearby bakery was great too. It's a great location to walk around town. I didn't have time to explore the antique store that was mere steps from the front door, but the window shopping was fun. I would definitely stay at the Pakalana Inn again.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThePamster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

The Pakalana Inn was great! We stayed here for two days during the rainy season and very much enjoyed it. The room was clean and bright with gorgeous wood paneling and floors, a small but adequate microwave and fridge, and a flat-screen TV. The bathroom was spacious and the water pressure was great! Located conveniently in Hilo's downtown and literally right down the street from the farmers market. Neil was a great host and made sure we had everything we needed. A real treat and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmcomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I was with my husband,my teen-age son and my mother. We had rooms 3 and 5. The rooms were large and pleasantly uncluttered, without the usual Hawaiian kitsch. Room 3 had a kitchenette and large bed; Room 5 had two double beds. The beds were really comfortable. I was concerned about street noise, but Hilo shuts down at night and I slept really well. Traffic noise does start again at about 6:30 am, though. The location was ideally located for exploring downtown Hilo. There is no daily maid service, and more towels would have been nice.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Pakalana Inn in Hilo during my last trip to Big Island. The room was clean and cozy. Two minutes walking distance from all the shops and best restaurants. The owner was very helpfull, easy going and friendly. I would definetely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This is a great value! We stayed in Room 6 which has a small kitchen and an ocean view. The kitchen was not initially well-stocked but Neil was helpful in getting us what we needed. The room is lovely and very clean, and the bed is super-comfortable! We loved being next door to the Hilo farmer's market. There are a few people selling gorgeous produce every day and the main market is on Wed and Sat. There are lots of restaurants and a natural grocery within walking distance. The only drawback was the street noise but it was not prohibitive. We will definitely return to the Pakalana Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laharrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
1.2 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
558 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakalana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakalana Inn

Address: 132 Punahoa St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-6308
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: $79 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Hilo adjacent to the Farmer's Market and Wailoa State Park. Vintage building with upgraded interior, spacious rooms. Air conditioning, kitchenette available. Flat screen TV, internet, coffee maker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pakalana Inn Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing