We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Feels like home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron's Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aaron's Cottage
Ranked #13 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Feels like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

For us, there is no place like home, and when we find a place where we can feel it, it is definitely 5 stars. Aaron’s Cottage is really simple, but we could get the “Aloha spirit” in our enjoyable stay!
Staff: Alan was so friendly in everything we needed. Presented us the place like a person that open the own door’s house. He gave us a lot of tips about Hilo, the beaches, the roads... Helped me with the washing machine and helped my husband even to find the hand brake of the old car we rented! Ah, and his dogs are so sweet! I wish this blessed couple can make this place exactly like this forever, thanks for everything!
Breakfast: We stayed 5 nights, and then we decided to return for one more night after we arrived from Kona. The B&B has a shared kitchen, and Alan serves breakfast there in a “buffet style”. Each morning they prepared something different and let in the kitchen for the guests! Pancakes, cupcakes, muffins, croissants, everything homemade! And they always serve fresh fruits, yogurt, milk, and eggs from the chickens they have. Everything that is in the kitchen is for common use, so we could cook every day during our stay (there were bread, rice, oil, salt, pepper that were left from other guests). The kitchen is really complete.
Location: At the end of the street there is a beach, but it is rocky. We had a rented car, so everything was near for us. 5 min drive to Richardson Beach Park, and a little bit more than 5 min to arrive downtown Hilo. It is really close to the airport, but we didn’t have problems with noise (maybe because we can hear just the sea and the rain at night).
Room: it is not big, old-fashioned, but really clean. Comfortable bed, TV, coffee maker, refrigerator, table… Shampoo, conditioner, and extra towels in the bathroom. Wi-fi speed is really great, we could call home (Brazil) using internet. I just missed drawers to put my clothes, there is just a small closet with hangers.
Definitely would stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 8 and 9. Unit 9 is a bit bigger, but it is in front of the kitchen's window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poly_Rafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    28
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
72
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

When I book a room the most important thing I look for is the bed - this bed looked very old. My husband slept in it and said it slept fine. I did not. The photo (could only find one) was misleading - yes I can see "some" of our room in it, but it must have been taken some time back when everything was new. We did not get the meet the owners as we stayed one day and left early. There was little privacy as the blinds did not shut completely. You can see where attempts are made to have a nice place and with a little more concentration on bathroom floors and bedding might be a good place to stay. I think it just depends on what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Definitely a budgetted type motel.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SassC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

what a wonderful place to stay! pretty much right around the corner from the airport, clean room with comfy bed and crisp linens, and you get fresh island eggs for breakfast? sold! there's also a little convenience store not far that sells home made icecream, just ask Alan! Penne got in touch with me prior to our arrival asking of any dietary requests, i wanted bacon with my eggs, and guess what, i got bacon! my only regret is that we didn't stay longer, which will be fixed next time we're on the Big Island. could not have thought of a better "welcome to Hawaii!" than we got at Aaron's Cottage!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiska13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here with our two kids. There are three private living areas that open up to the backyard. Room was clean. Not plush, but nice.

There were several beach/swim areas within a ten minute walk. Two were great for taking our two year old.

There is a shared kitchen with a come and go breakfast cooked fresh every morning. If you want breakfast in bed, this is probably not the place. We cooked one meal one evening and really enjoyed it.

Alan and Penne were very friendly and helpful. Nice backyard and free parking!

Will stay again if we make it back.

Room Tip: Book early and stay a few nights. Book direct through their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlen100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I needed a budget place to stay for one night that wasn't too far from the airport and Aaron's Cottage was just the place! For the price (in Hawaii) it was a good value. For $70 I had a private room, comfy bed, refrig, micro, internet, my own bathroom, free parking, and breakfast!

It's not fancy; but then again, you get what you pay for and thankfully they keep it affordable. It was about a $20 cab ride from the airport, the cab driver couldn't find it, and it's not close to much (except apparently a fantastic beach that I didn't make it to.) If you are a light sleeper, you may want to bring ear plugs as my room was right on the corner, so I heard anyone pull up and walking to their room, however, overall it was thankfully very quiet. Breakfast was plentiful.

I would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this great B&B the owners Alan and Penne are a great hosts. We arrived before check in time after very long flight from Australia and Alan and Penne were very kind to let us check in early. The rooms were very clean and comfortable the breakfast wraps were delicious. Alan and Penne were so helpful with information on what to do on the island they are very knowledgeable and will go out of there way to help with anything you may want or need to know. We would recommend this B&B if you are looking for a great budget place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great place to stay. Love the home-made coconut muffins and fruit grown on the property in the morning. Tiki Lamps were a nice addition. Owners were very nice. I'm a diabetic and they brought in sugar free syrup for the pancakes they made. Nice local beach. We are going back in 2 years and staying longer! :-)

Room Tip: There all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolCa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maureen's Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron's Cottage

Property: Aaron's Cottage
Address: 54 Keokea Loop, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4927
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aaron's Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Aaron's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron`s Cottage Hotel Hilo
Aaron's Cottage Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing