We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast!”
Review of Aaron's Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aaron's Cottage
Ranked #11 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The place was clean and better than expected as I have never stayed in a b &b. The owners were very accomodating and made a special breakfast from the normal as per our request.
The husbands wanting something more heartier and indeed it was. Great value. Thanks again !

Room Tip: No difference-all rooms are exactly the same.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0veT0Travel168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Aaron's Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 126 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

Very friendly and helpful owners who at the same time are unobtrusive. Delicious breakfast left in the kitchen to help yourself too. Room was very comfortable and clean, great for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LFCROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

A family run B&B with large well appointed rooms. Each room has a large private bathroom, Microwave, Fridge and cable TV. A large community kitchen well stocked for guests. Our host laid out a banquet for breakfast home made breads, a huge fruitbowl, eggs, yogurt, you name it. A quiet neighborhood near the water. Lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

If you want a cheap place, which is a bit tired in its upkeep, with an ok breakfast, and are traveling with a dog (they allow them) it will work for you. Just don't expect a resort or a high quality B&B (have friends who run one on Maui).

It is an interesting trio of rooms. Easily found in a very quiet neighborhood past the harbor. Dog issue noted in the other posting was resolved when I was there. Very hospitable owners but definitely too lazy to care for the property in a deep cleaning manner. Perhaps it has such a busy and consistent turnover to not allow cleaning more than surface issues.

Before I turned out the lights, I noticed all the tops of the drapes were cobwebby and full of dust. Outside, under the lights, the walls were full of cobwebs which had been in place for months. The gecko guano hadn't been brushed off for a while either.

The bathroom had small black splotches on the ceiling (moldy shampoo?) and the back of the door had not been dusted/wiped down in months. The toilet paper holder had been yanked out of the wall in two places and the plaster had not been repaired. TP was now on a free standing rack.

TV stations lacked greatly in selection. Wifi was secure.

Don't reserve #9 as it is directly across from the shared kitchen if you like privacy. Also, if you need to sleep in, and the other guests are clueless that you're in there, you'll be up with their noise. The other end of the three rentals - #7 - is near the shared driveway, which has exactly one "first come first served" slot. Other renters have to park on the grass in front of the units. The middle unit - no clue if there's enough breezes to keep it cool.

Breakfast offering was different each day. Does not offer much in the way of protein, unless you cook your own eggs. Which is certainly easy enough to do. One caveat, rinse off the plates before you use them, as I witnessed a visitor from out of the country wash the dish but didn't rinse off the soap. She put it in the drain rack. I rinsed it off after she left.

Even with the price being so inexpensive, I don't think I'll come back when I island-hop. Didn't take any photos because I didn't want to remember what it looked like.

Only recommending as a 'last resort option' to a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Makalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we felt like we were being well taken care of. Alan and Penne provided us with some nice extras that we were not expecting. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The common areas were not as clean, but it wasn't disgusting. There was free internet and cable TV, although some of the TV channels did not come in clearly. The location is good. There is a secret beach within walking distance, although you cannot walk to downtown Hilo. The best part is the incredible value. When we booked it, I was nervous b/c it was so cheap. It's hard to believe getting accomodations this nice for such a low price, but it exceeded expectations. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but we went in with low expectations based on fellow TripAdvisor Reviews, so we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 08Bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night before our flight out of Hawaii. The room is nothing super special, but it works... clean, good value, all the stuff you need like shampoo, hair dryer, TV, A/C, etc. Plus it's $70/night in Hawaii so that's a steal! They provided a kitchen and continental style breakfast. The highlights were the owner, Alan, and the nearby beach. Alan is just the absolute nicest guy and obviously loves getting to know the travelers. We never met his wife I guess because we were only there one night. The morning we were leaving we walked down to the beach and maybe because for once it was sunny in Hilo, but it was just the most beautiful hidden location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txchick83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

This bed and breakfast was near the ocean, beach just a few houses away and less than a mile off the main road. The room was clean, large comfy queen size bed, table and chairs, coffee maker, frig, big bathroom with soft towels. The owners welcomed us as we arrived and explained how breakfast was served and gave us a tour of the property - all the fruit trees , picnic area, waterfall and covered pavilion. There was a kitchen for the guest to use at any time, equipped with pots, pans, dishes, stove, frig, sink, the only thing asked was that you clean up behind yourself. Breakfast was homemade corn muffins, boxes of cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit and eggs in the frig if you wanted to make them. extra coffee and teas also available.
Very comfortable room and the location worked well to get around to any of the sites in Hilo.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fivefergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
0.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
555 reviews
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.5 mi away
Hilo Reeds Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron's Cottage

Address: 54 Keokea Loop, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4927
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: $89 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aaron's Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aaron's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron`s Cottage Hotel Hilo
Aaron's Cottage Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing