We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheese, Cheese, and more Cheese”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Magic Pan

Le Magic Pan
Ranked #23 of 239 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Holualoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheese, Cheese, and more Cheese”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My mom and I went here for the first time today. I was pretty stoked. I have been trying to go to this place for about 3 years since it opened whenever I'm in Hilo. They keep odd hours and when they are supposed to be open they aren't. Nice decor and ambiance in the restaurant a little bit pier 1 however. Everything on the menu is crepes so if you don't like crepes don't come here. They do offer a small non crepe menu but they don't have a kitchen so don't expect too much.

I ordered the crepe benedict. What I got was not. The crepe seemed fine but you couldn't tell. there was at least a LB of cheese on this thing. If your a cheese lover your probably thinking this is a good thing. However, the cheese muttled the flavors on the entire dish. Also the hollandiase sauce was seperated, this should not have even been served looked like microwaved pizza grease. Hollandaise sauce also didn't have lemon or cheyenne pepper. The eggs were poaced ok a little overdone and the ham was alright. I don't recommend this dish or if you get it ask for no cheese.

My mother got the polish sausage crepe. Her's looked like it had potential, but it too was innondated with cheese.

I've been to Paris and all over Europe and like to think of myself as a crepe connoisseur. Most guys on a street corner in Paris will put this restaurant to shame and it's not like its hard to make a good crepe i make them all the time.

Not sure if I would recommend this restaurant unless you want a dessert crepe that seemed like it was okay my mother got the nutella and banana one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Konacoffeetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    62
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buckley, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure, highly recommend trying it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were the only two people there and sure hope they stay in business. Food was amazing, never had such an artfully arranged salad. My husband was sorry that we only time for one dinner. Very reasonably priced and GREAT flavors.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buckleytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant in Downtown Hilo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We had dinner at this French crêpe restaurant and had a great time. Both entrée and dessert crêpes were delicious and really made the French way. We were lucky to have a jazz trio playing and the atmosphere that includes large paintings on the wall was really great. We highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OlivierLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We've enjoyed crêpes created by the chef/owner of this restaurant at a couple different local events. We always LOVE her crêpes as she usually offers a sweet strawberry banana and a spinach/veggie one at the event.
Tonight we thought it would be fun to visit the restaurant. The atmosphere is sweet. Super tall ceilings, modern lighting, Picasso style art, faux candles on the tables. Our server was pleasant.
We ordered the Alaska salmon with onion, capers & artichoke. It was really yummy. A bit too much cheese. Next time I would order "light on the cheese". Husband had the Greek. Said it was really good however would have requested less cheese as well. We also had the French Onion soup. Very good and the side salad was fresh and the dressing was delicious.
Dinner was VERY filling. Wish we would have had room for one of their delicious looking dessert crêpes.
Will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiSandWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food in the middle of Paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

When we walked up to look at the menu in the window, we realized it was 2:10 and the stop serving lunch at 2 pm. The waitress came out and said we were welcome to come in and order lunch. The crepes were great; and the salad and soup were superb. The waitress was delightful and very accomodating. I had wished we had found this place on the first day so we could have ate there again before we had to return to the Mainland.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyG95746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Magic Pan also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Le Magic Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing