We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montpelier, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“What a find.....”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This was an awesome place. It is hidden up the road of a macadamia nut orchard. The scenery is absolutely beautiful. Our room was quaint and clean. We had a private balcony. It did have kind of an old smell to it, but not offensive. If you are looking for a new, over the top, fancy place, this is not it. However, if you are looking for a romantic get a way with beautiful scenery.....check this out. Also affordable. Very Romantic place ( helps to have a wonderful husband too) Their breakfast started with varieity of fruit and sweet breads. Then they served belgium waffles and cheese omlets. They served fruit juice, coffee and teas to drink also. The breakfast was very good. They had the tables decorated outside on their deck where you got a great view of the waterfall. The owners were friendly, as well as the staff. It was truly a beautiful Hawaiian experience..They had a trail that led to a bamboo forest. And the water in the pool below the falls was warm enough to swim in.......We loved it here....It was a great hidden, off the beaten path find. We will come again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gottatravel2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    179
    59
    38
    30
See reviews for
127
549
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Definitely a place you'll want to return to again and again! The King Kamehameha room is perfect for the soothing sounds of the waterfall and to catch the cool mountain breeze. Access to the falls is easy. Just be aware that all this tropical greenery means it's CLOUDY and wet as opposed to the drier Kona side of the island.

Check-in is effortless (on the honor system) and the breakfast made-to-order by personable family members. Check in before sunset, if possible; it can be a bit intimidating to find after dark, as the single-lane access private road leads you through macademia orchards populated by noisy tree frogs. It takes 15-20 minutes to find the Inn. (Thankfully the route is well-marked.) The solitude is fantastic and the reward of having your own waterfall is worth the effort getting here. It is a destination in and of itself.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadlesstrvled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed two nights while enjoying Hilo. We had the Maile room in the Harmony House, overlooking the beautiful falls. We had a wonderful stay, with the only exception being the bed (far too firm mattress, and pillows encased in crunchy, clammy plastic). We loved the location several miles from town, enjoying the ride through agricultural lands every time. Breakfast was tasty, and our cook each day was exceptionally friendly and helpful in planning our days. The room was smaller than I had perceived from the website, but was very well appointed. We enjoyed walking down the trail to the beautiful waterfall and bamboo garden, and had the place to ourselves. Except for the bed thing, we had a great time here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelVet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The lodging is as beautiful as the pictures on the website. There is some difficulty locating the site, as the Inn is tucked away in a rural ranching and farming area. Be sure to be very clear with Innkeepers about the dates of stay and lodging, as I found it difficult to connect with them after reservation had been made. Service was kind and location very clean and comfortable. Heidi was a wonderful resource.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed here during our weekend trip to Hilo from Kona. It looked beautiful on their website but it wasn't the same cleanliness in person. Let me start off with the pros...

PROS: The pagoda house was great because we didn't want to share a kitchen or family room area with other guest. We wanted to be alone.

-The beautiful waterfall behind the property was stunning and we loved listening to it night and day. Sometimes we just sat and stared at it while cracking and eating hand picked macadamia nuts.

- The macadamia nut trees all around. The scenery around the property was beautiful and we LOVED picking and eating macadamia nuts on our down time.

-The location was great because we wanted to get out of the downtown area of Hilo at the end of the day and the drive wasn't long at all.

CONS:
The doors do not close, leaving gaps for bugs to come in at night. You rely on the air at night and it's uncomfortable worrying about bugs and dealing with them because the lights are on.

The place just wasn't clean. There were areas that looked old and worn out throughout the house that needed serious renovation. I believe it they spent the money are renovated this place could be in the world's most leading hotels book.

The breakfast wasn't appetizing at all. We stayed in a single home so our breakfast was inside of the kitchen. There was a plate with 4 loose eggs on it (2 white, 2 brown) a half eaten loaf of expired wheat bread and a half eaten bag of English muffins. Once we took a look at the cleanliness of the kitchen we decided we were not eating in there anyway. The table had a whole pineapple, papayas and another fruit. We took the expired bread and fed the birds on the beach with it.

The owners didn't leave us a bill or acknowledge our arrival or departure. We rang their bell to see if we needed to sign anything when we got there and she told us no.

The coffee supplied is the cheapest coffee in the gift shops (bad sign). It's only 10% Kona on top of that. If anything a bed and breakfast should have a great coffee served, especially in coffee country.

There was no safe way to enter the waterfall and the trail wasn't kept up to well. Also the lighting is terrible if you are driving in at night. The owners should invest a little money and light up the drive way for those arriving at night.

On the bright side we slept great because of the cleanest, freshest air on the planet. I would recommend this place if your stopping by for a night but not for a week long stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I'm not even sure where to begin. There were so many things wrong with this place. I'll start with location. The B&B is a few miles from Hilo, which sounds like it might be okay. However, when you see the one lane curvy, bumpy roads, you will realize that 1) it's a dangerous drive to make, especially at night, and 2) it is not an enjoyable drive at all. The B&B is in a very isolated location, which may be what you're looking for. When we arrived, we realized there was no way we wanted to drive all the way back through the windy, bumpy roads in the dark. So we were stuck. We didn't know how or what we were going to eat for dinner. It took us awhile to even figure out where the room was! Then, we were sorry we found it. It was absolutely tiny and dirty. The bathroom fan hasn't been cleaned since I don't know when, which made the mirror constantly fog up for hours if you dare take a shower there. There were leftover hairs from the last guests in the shower. Yuck! We got out of there first thing in the morning, around 6:30AM, and there was still nobody around in the main house. No lights, no activity, no nothing. So we didn't stick around to find out if there was going to be a breakfast served or not. It wasn't worth it to us.
I've never written a negative review before, but I feel this is important. I wish someone had warned us ahead of time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank slimcoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

This was a very good Inn experience. The grounds for the Inn are stunning, and swimming in the pond with the waterfall should not be missed! The room was gorgeous, but the mattress was hard as a rock. I was fine the first night, but by the third night I was very stiff! The food was good and fresh. Do try to time your first arrival for daytime hours, as its a bit of a haul through the macadamia orchard. It's not that far -- it just feels far when you're uncertain about it the first time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
669 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
56.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing