We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading website. not recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
SAN DIEGO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Misleading website. not recommended.”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I stayed in this Inn with my wife in September 2009. The property is beautiful and so is the room. The problem is that we were greeted in the most unwelcome way. After a long drive up narrow, barely paved , roads we were met by the wife as we drove up. She offerred us a rushed "orientation" that seemed to suit her needs to get it over with more than our needs to actually get oriented. She was rude and condescending, referring to the woman who makes breakfast in the morning as "the girl." She was so interested in getting the orientation over with that she actually pushed me, albeit gently, and didn't even give me a chance to close my car door. We were tired from the drive up and it was nearing dinner time: the drive back to town seemed daunting. She offered a quick "dominoes delivers." I asked for the number and she replied "there's books you can look through downstairs." She was hardly accommodating. The place is not well lit at night and getting upstairs to the Prince kalakaua room in the dark and rain was a dangerous task. Low flow shower, sink that didn't drain, bathroom too small to turn around in, dead mosquitos on the sheets (under the bedspread...how did that happen??) and mosquito bites during breakfast. Breakfast was good. I could have put up with all the little things that weren't right about this place if we didn't have such a rude greeting. But she was reallly rude and made us feel like trespassers, and thats the last thing you need when you are a guest, paying for the privilege, on a romantic vacation, and her attitude stuck with me for the entire stay. I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    179
    59
    38
    30
See reviews for
127
549
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

If you look at their website the B&B looks like it is set on the most beautiful location and the rooms are quite decent as well. However in reality the room we stayed at was moldy, there were countless dead mosquitos stuck on the walls & ceiling and the bed was just awful. The drive down the dirt down from Hilo town took way more than 10 minutes and is covered with potholes and has no lighting. Beautiful by day but rather dangerous by night! The host was not friendly although we found the breakfast to be very good. The waterfall is amazing but quite difficult to get to as the path is basically slippery mud. Forget swimming - totally false advertising.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBearReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for 2 nights. This place is absolutely unique -- the waterfall is magical, with its sound and sight continuously enchanting the air. The inn is isolated and provides very peaceful atmosphere to relax and unwind. The drive up to the inn, through macadamia nut plantations, is just as beautiful.
The rooms are really nice (I was glad for the lack of TV, my husband less so...).
Breakfast was really good, with eggs and waffles and fruits and cheeses.
Owner (Lenny) is very nice, and so was the girl who made the breakfast and cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoobikPoopik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alta loma, ca.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Was tremendously impressed with location. We were definitely out of the norm...removed from hustle of the city...only regret is we were only able to explore the property on the first day....the rest of time we were definitely exploring the big islands treasures and always got back really late.

Day started with breakfast. Lea our hostess wound up planning our trips without even knowing it. Her advise always paid off and was exactly as she described it.

On our last day as we returned to our room (late as usual) we found the feral pigs eating mac nuts just like she said. We saw all the wild-life we hoped to see on land and sea.

We were here for three days before leaving for Oahu and business end of trip

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboyrenn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2009

First of all, drive to the Inn was an unexpected treat. The 15 min drive from downtown Hilo to the Inn goes through farms and orchards, a beautiful sight. We stayed at one of the rooms in the Residence. The room matched up to the description in the Inn website. It had a nice small balcony that looked out to the city and also windows through which we could see the ocean and Hilo. The room and the bathroom were clean equipped with all the necessities. We could see the waterfall from the lanai, it was relaxing to see it while having breakfast in the morning.
The staff were very receptive and helpful. We forgot our laptop at the Inn but the manager was extremely accommodating and actually took the laptop to the FedEx office in the city. All in all, a relaxing hassle free stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hills_port
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missoula, mt
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls was a place that I'd definitely seek out again if in Hilo, Hawaii. Our family stayed in the Pagoda, which had views of the waterfall from both the living area and the bedroom. The sound of water rushing over the falls reminded me of camping next to a rushing creek. The grounds are lush, and it is a wonderful area for walking or running. Breakfast items were provided and replenished for both mornings in the Pagoda, so we were well prepared to start the day. Wish we had spent a little more time in Hilo. Maybe we'll get back!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

This is a really beautiful Inn - run peacefully and happily by Lenny and his wife. We had been travelling round the island and Kulaniapia gave us a wonderful experience of the lush forests and raging waterfalls of Hilo. The view from our room of the waterfall was amazing and the sound of it at night lulled us throughout our three night stay. Breakfast was freshly prepared each morning by Leah and Heidi - two lovely girls who were more than happy to share their experiences of the island. The Inn is a fair drive out of Hilo through fields of macadamia nuts and affords the most beautiful view of stars and the Milky Way outside of those we saw at the top of Mauna Kea.
Our room was in Harmony House on the second floor. It was clean, modern and nicely furnished with Japanese art. It was a little smaller than we'd expected based on the photo on the website but that is not to say that it was a small room. It was extremely comfortable and cool in the evenings. This resort is definitely a great choice on this side of the island.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidaze25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
669 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
56.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing