We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Hilo's Hidden Paradise"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ewa Beach, Oahu
1 review
“"Hilo's Hidden Paradise"”
Reviewed June 27, 2009

The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls is truly a hidden paradise. The serenity in this place is magical. It's a good place to relax and get away from the hussle and bussle of city life. We stayed at the Maile room in the Harmony house, which my husband and I enjoyed very much. It was clean and the view of the falls was amazing. We enjoyed sleeping to the sound of the water fall. Also, the annoying sounds of the Coqui frogs is not as bad in this area as it is in Hilo town. Breakfast was delicious and the homemade coffee was spectacular. The house keepers are very friendly and hospitable. We would definitely recommend getting a massage from Heidi, it was probably the best massage my husband and I ever had.

A couple things that one should know before vacationing to the Inn is that it is very dark and very hard to find, so if you are new to the area you should make it to the property during daylight. Another thing that concerned us was that there was no locks on the front door, but according to the house keepers, the area is pretty safe. Be aware that you may or may not be able to swim in the water fall depending on the water conditions. The water fall was 50 to 100 + feet when we went and the falls was blasting, which prevented us from swimming, but we still had a great time hiking the water fall & garden trails.

Overall, the experience was amazing. I would definitely come back to the Inn at Kulaniapia Falls. If you are going for relaxation make it a point to spend one day enjoying the property and the amenities.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zachdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    178
    58
    37
    29
See reviews for
123
545
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2009

I was born and raised on the Big Island and have been to a few b and b inns. Then Inn at Kulaniapia by far the best that I have visited. The rooms are comfortable, the staff are freindly and the falls and view of Hilo (on a clear day) are spectacular. It was very easy to book a room and Len was very helpful and cooperative with our reservations. Also, it is not a very difficult drive to get to the inn and it only takes about 15 minutes to get there (please drive safely).

I currently live in Texas and my wife and I got married in Hilo. We were both pleased with the Inn at Kulainiapia Falls and we are planning to go back on our 1 year anniversery.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shayezdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We read every review on Trip Advisor before we chose to stay here, so it's only fair that we add our own now. As the title states, we do not like staying in B&Bs. (We had bad experiences with forced togetherness many years ago.) Our original choice of accomodations had fallen through and we needed a substitute on short notice. We ended up feeling like it was a "gift from the Universe" and maybe the highlight of our entire seven weeks in Hawaii. The setting is idyllic, the rooms are comfortable, the food is excellent, and the owners and staff are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. If you are looking for a peaceful getaway - if you're not going to complain about a slow four mile drive to and from town - and if you can enjoy a wonderful, cooked to order breakfast that isn't served until 8, don't miss this opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tampaG&J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2009

The Inn at Kulaniapia is the perfect place to unwind, relax, and enjoy the beauty and simple pleasures of the Big Island. Driving up to the Inn is a pleasant experience passing through the macadamia nut farm and entering a very serene, well-groomed, and naturally beautiful environment. The waterfall/pool is the major highlight, as well as the Bamboo Garden, cleanliness of the rooms, and delicious breakfast of fruits, Belgian waffles, omelettes, and locally grown coffee. We will return again, and have recommended the Inn to our family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kulamaui2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2009

Beautiful setting. There is a beautiful tall waterfall (in a rainforest) on the property and from our particular room we could see and hear the waterfall from our balcony. You can take a trail down to the waterfall. The room was extremely clean. There are several small buildings in each of which there are several guest rooms. We stayed at a building called Harmony, and someone cooked breakfast for us- delicious fresh locally grown food. I think at some of the other buildings you may have to serve yourself breakfast. The Harmony building is almost new. It has hardwood floors and the climate is so ideal a heating and air conditioning system is not needed. There is a ceiling fan. This Inn is not on the coast. It is inland, and so expect to drive a few miles at low speed on a single lane (paved) road just outside Hilo to get there. It's a pleasant drive through, for example, a large macadamia nut orchard. Our room was small but beautifully and tastefully furnished. Our room did not have a microwave oven or refrigerator. There was only 1 little shelf in the bathroom to store your toothpaste, toothbrush, shaver, etc. We chose this B&B because it was highly rated in Frommer's Hawaii 2009 in the inexpensive (for Hawaii) category.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Harmony house for only a couple nights and were mystified by the experience. The grounds are stunning, the rooms clean and comfortable, and (innkeeper) Lea was warm and welcoming. The drive to the inn sets the stage for an unforgettable experience which really delivers on the "getting away" aspect. We are considering having our vow renewal ceremony there in a couple years. I can think of nowhere and in no better hands to put our friends and family. Is there a stronger recommendation than that?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy_Jody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldport, OR
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2009

This relaxing hide-a-way is so near to Hilo yet so far from the rush of a city that it becomes an ideal home base for exploring the Big Island. The property is beautifully maintained with views that are rarely found. The breakfast and the service of the cook/waitpersons makes you want to linger for more coffee and conversation. This is without a doubt one of the nicest places I have ever found.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwberan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
6.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
20.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing