We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the most beautiful 20 acres on the islands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Waikoloa, Hawaii
1 review
“By far the most beautiful 20 acres on the islands”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was our third stay at the inn, our first on Christmas Eve & Christmas Day. What a special time with my 94 year old mom and my brother from the Bay Area. A wonderful breakfast and Christmas gifts from the Innkeeper ... Life doesn't get much better. We will be back to enjoy paradise on the Big Island,

Room Tip: The Pagota house is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    179
    58
    38
    30
See reviews for
127
547
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beulah, CO
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This was a really nice place to stay, and I would stay there again. While you feel as if you are at the end of the world, you are really just a short trip from Hilo.

Our bedroom was small, but quite pleasant, and our porch looked onto the falls after which the property is named. Going to sleep to the sound of the falls is really pleasant.

The property has a nice walk to the falls, along which Len, the owner, has planted and labeled some stands of different varieties of bamboo.

Breakfast was a high point. Leah, the young lady who prepared it, did a great job. The fruit was fresh, she made macadamia nut waffles using nuts grown on the inn's trees, and omelets to order. She was also extremely knowledgeable on things to do, places to see, and where to eat around Hilo.

There is internet access and phone service. There are good restaurants in Hilo, no more than 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barring C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is a really special place. We were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waterfall and the frogs.

The room (Pikake Room) was very tasteful and clean, but not huge. Good wifi. Great breakfast with waffles, eggs, and lots of local fruit.

the grounds are wonderful. Nice bamboo garden and guava trees on the way to the waterfall.
Overall much nicer than any generic hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calpoly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Arrived somewhat late, about 7:30pm so it is pretty dark. The drive into the facility is almost treacherous at night. Instructions for "checking in" are just OK and imply you don't need to bother the inn keeper. Fortunately he came out to help us. There were only two guests registered and one of them was already there leaving us as the remaining guest. I told him the room we had reserved but he insisted we look at the check-in board which seemed unnecessary and somewhat insulting. He showed us around a bit. The rooms at the Residence are upstairs and he did carry our suitcase up for us making a wiseguy comment about how heavy it was. Room is ok, we leave the balcony door open, we can her the falls and the frogs. Frogs are loud but not unpleasant, you can hear them all nite. The b&b is "only" 4 miles from Hilo but the posted speed limit is 15mph, road is mostly one lane, paved, several speed bumps and somewhat curvy. Directions provided are just average and posted signs to the bb&b difficult to see at nite. It can easily take 15 minutes to get to Hilo. We were tired from the trip so ordered pizza and Coke from Dominoes, thank goodness they deliver. The next morning the view of the falls and surrounding area from the "Queen" room is quite impressive. Breakfast is good the first morning, eggs, waffle, juice, coffee (watch out for the bees in the sugar), fruit. We are reserved fro 4 nites and the breakfast is exactly the same every morning (they don't even offer cold cereal), we skip the last morning due to boredom. The grounds are attractive but not well maintained. Same with the room. We seldom see the inn keeper, he is aloof at best. It is my opinion he should not be in the hospitality business. I do give him high marks for audacity. He literally built this place. They are completely self sufficient as to power, water and waste. No phones, but they do have a decent Wi-Fi. There is a TV in the hospitality (Ohana) room which seems to be open at all times. Bottom line: it isn't worth the cost to me. I did swim in the pond at the base of the falls which I thoroughly enjoyed. Multiple bug bites on my ankles though. If you need to stay here I recommend two nites max. I would give it a 2.5 if I could but a 2 isn't quite fair. Keep a flashlight with you.

Room Tip: I can only speak to the Residence building as to selecting a room. I doubt if there is a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElectricalEngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennysutton, Owner at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
This guest is a perfect example of how difficult it can be sometimes to be an Innkeeper. Even when your guest shows up in the middle of the night with a plethora of bags and you take mercy and volunteer to help him with his heavy bags, he finds will find a reason to fault you for the effort. Sometimes you just can't win..!! We are glad you enjoyed swimming in the pond, and all of us at Kulaniapia hope that your adventure in Hawaii was a success. submitted With Aloha....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

The view can't be beat! And that's what you're paying for... The rooms are average, a bit small, no tv or mini fridge and since the inn is a good drive from town, you might want some non perishable snacks. Overall, our stay was great! The breakfast was very tasty and filling. The hike along the falls and through the inn's bamboo garden was very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Medea6300
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

After being in the concrete jungle of Waikiki, I chose this place because it was secluded. We arrived in the dark after spending the day at the volcano and the drive was a bit spooky due to the fog. Lighting was very subtle so we couldnt see the waterfall but man could we hear it. We settled into bed ( King Kamehameha room) with the windows and patio door open and had the best rest of the entire trip. I couldnt wait to see the falls so I woke up at sunrise and went out to the porch. I was disappointed that the view from the porch was partially blocked by the roof of the dining area but on my way back to bed I caight a glimpse through the widow that was free of any interference. I woke my girlfriend and we sat there staring through the windows like puppies.
Breakfast was great, the hosts/innkeepers make you feel like friends rather than paying guests. We spent the rest of our time touring the bamboo gardens and finally made it down to the pool at the falls. It's a bit tricky to climb down, especially when wet but well worth it. The water is "refreshingly" cold. It's always a good thing when you feel like you leave somewhere too early and thats the case here, i'll def be back

Room Tip: The sound of the falls and the frogs are a melody that will rock you to sleep. Get a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmarajh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosque, NM
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We chose this bed and breakfast to start our honeymoon trip to the big Island of Hawaii. We did this solely online. The facility is everything the website attests to and more, if possible! Sleeping with the sound of the waterfall and the coqui frogs (we know, they aren't native, but we enjoyed their songs) was so relaxing we slept like babies and woke up refreshed to delicious coffee and breakfast. Lea, our hostess at the Harmony House, where we stayed, was a delight! We were treated like expected friends of friends in such a luxurious setting. The bamboo gardens are amazing. Breakfast was a delicious fare of just about anything you could imagine but cooked to order eggs, punalu'u breads, macademia nut waffles. and fresh fruit won out!!
We would recommend this to anyone who enjoys friendly hospitality, delicious food and a relaxing cocoon to call home for a few days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
665 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
56.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing