We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swim in a Waterfall, Sleep with the sounds of a Waterfall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Squaw Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Swim in a Waterfall, Sleep with the sounds of a Waterfall”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The road you drive in to the resort is country- for sure. It is actually OK Farms so you drive past beautiful macadamia orchards and huge Hawaiian cow. But there are signs for the hotel at the major junctions which are very helpful. If you have GPS it is not a problem and at the end of the beautiful road (takes about 10 min) is your own PRIVATE WATERFALL. We stayed in the Pagoda building which offers a even more privacy as it is it's own 3 story structure. With views of the waterfall at each level.
How many people in Hawaii do you see pulling over to take photos next to waterfalls? Well hear you get to sleep, swim and live next to one...it is the real deal experience.
The real bonus of this room is the full kitchen and the breakfast that it comes with. This was all included; a papaya, pineapple, guava, misc other fruit, pancake mix, syrup, 2 kinds of bread, jelly, butter, eggs, guava juice, tea, coffee...I might be forgetting something but you get the idea~ it was amazing. If you stay in the other rooms breakfast is served at the main house and is also very nice. They offer evening cocktails at sunset and weekly yoga and massage on request.
The interaction with the Inn Keepers is up to you- we found them very helpful but also very aware to give everyone their space. You can always find them and they were always helpful and accommodating. But you could also feel like you were the only people on the property.

Room Tip: Want to be served- choose a room in one of the houses. Want privacy choose the Pagoda- but plan to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahoepov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    179
    59
    38
    30
See reviews for
127
549
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had good directions from the hotel, but it's located down bumpy country roads, and might be tricky to find at night unless you were sure of where you were going. The setting of the Inn is beautiful, with views of a lovely waterfall from our room's small balcony. We took a stroll through their interesting and attractive bamboo garden down to the falls.

Our room (Pikake) was attractive with stylish Asian/Modern furnishings, but with no luggage racks on which to open our suitcases. There was a ceiling fan, but no air conditioning.

The bathroom was very, very tiny, and the pedestal sink didn't have much space to put things.
Our internet access was sporadic and very slow, despite the hotel's insistence that their internet service is very dependable.

The public spaces are nicely decorated and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

...or if you just need to getaway. This if not your typically get pampered B&B, but the scenery is just beautiful. The rooms are very small, but tastefully decorated. There is not a lot of interacting with the innkeepers which sometimes can be a good thing. The road getting to the Inn is marked, but could be difficult to navigate at night. There is no air conditioning which can be a problem for some. We slept with the windows open, the breezes blowing and the sound of the waterfall in the background. If the owners took a couple of extra steps this Inn would appeal to more, one suggestion is to offer wine and cheese in the evening even at a charge, they would make people more content. There is nothing to eat in the evening and you have to bring a picnic dinner when you check in or return down the long winding road to get dinner and return after dark. They do offer a nice breakfast for one hour in the morning.

Room Tip: Removal of shoes is required. Although rooms have a corner view, the panoramic view is from the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My rating is based on several things. Firstly you cannot beat having a beautiful waterfall right outside your doorstop! The actual walk down to it can be quite slippery though, plus you need to sign a liability form for swimming there as actually getting into the water is quite tough too. There is a beautiful Bamboo Garden also to explore. Although the inn is indeed set in the middle of nowhere, this you will find is a welcome isolation from the town of Hilo which has absolutely nothing going for it. The drive (once you find the main road leading to it) is beautifully winding through private lands, and there are enough Inn sign posts along the way to confirm you are on the right track. The rooms seemed a bit outdated although the small bathrooms looked recently renovated (shower head not so great though!). There is no AC but the ceiling fan was more than sufficient to keep us cool. No TV if you care about that. A welcome pack of macadamia nuts, apples and flowers are a nice touch. Breakfast included fresh fruits and great coffee! as well as made to order delicious waffles and eggs. Another bonus is that the property makes its own electricity using hydro power. The owners are a bit hands off though so if you expect a gushing welcome, you may be in for a shock. Check in consisted of the owner showing us a board with our room name on it and we made our way to the room and found the key at the door. Check out was just as uneventful - we just left the key in the door! All in all, this is quite a gem if you know what to expect, and is ideal if you just want to get away from it all. It is also ideal for accessing Hilo airport (15 mins drive), the Volcanoes south of the town (30 mins), and one of the zip line companies (30 mins north).

Room Tip: If you want a view of the waterfall from your room, make sure to ask for the King and not Princess r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 75aloha75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Situated in the middle of nowhere which is nice for quietness and nature.Good luck to find where you stay as there is nobody around to help.The room is half the size that it looks on the photos.It is an house transform as a supposely hotel.The shower and room weren't the cleanest.We had to ask for some clean towels who weren't smelly.If it wasn't for the young ladies making breakfast in the morning it would have been a total dive for a very pricey room.I have no idea how they can justify their pricing.And by the way make sure you have a GPS or good luck at night.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I picked this location in Hilo for the scenery. It is a pleasant place to hang out once in awhile if, for instance, the government shuts down your national park. I personally prefer an ocean-front condo with everything, but I did not find as nice of choices in Hilo as Kona. There are some tedious aspects such as the room being small and taking your shoes off at the front door. Breakfast is great, and the girls that work there are friendly. The onsite massage wasn't that great due to current remodeling of the spa. Despite these things, you have to admire what the owner has done with property. The bamboo garden is really impressive because it includes rare strains from places such as south India that actually thrive at this location. I think it would be the American dream for most of us to own and develop a property like this, and the owner is certainly passionate about how he has landscaped the garden and designed the customer experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in the King Kamehameha Suite for two nights during our honeymoon. The room had a great view of the waterfall and we really enjoyed sitting out on the balcony. If you choose a room without as good a view, though, you can always go sit on the common patio and look directly at the waterfall.

It was nice to not have a lot of contact with other people during the stay. It added to our relaxation. The breakfast was really good and the people working there were nice, too. We enjoyed walking down to the waterfall and looking around the property while we were there, as well.

It is definitely worth staying here. It is nice, but not pristine. I agree that it could be a bit cleaner. I have to be honest that after staying two different bed and breakfasts I was a bit relieved to get to a major hotel for a few nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
669 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
56.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing