We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and Unwelcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 19 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 19, 2013

After a long day of travelling we found the drive to the Inn to be a bit tedious and the road surface to be poor at the start of the drive. On arrival, externally the place looked tired and in need of some refurbishment. Shoes and cleaning products on the front porch, doors in need of some paint.
The location is very good and only let down by the early part of the drive into the mountains. Once inside the accommodation we found it again in need of some serious refurbishment and it had also been very poorly cleaned. Would also point out the the accommodation is very small by comparison to others we visited on the big island.
Breakfast did a least partially rescue the Inn as it was very good and the young lady doing the work was really lovely and made us feel welcome.
However my biggest complaint is about the owner, he is arrogant, dismissive of any complaints, pretends to be listening but not taking it in. In general will not hear a bad word about the establishment and thinks that the location makes up for its other many failings.
Overall 2 out of 5 and only gets that because of the breakfast. If I had paid half as much I would have felt I got what I paid for but this is NOT a luxury B&B

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JGJG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 856 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We wanted to stay not far from the Hilo airport, as we were arriving after dark and not familiar with the area. This place was a few minutes out but so worth it. We stayed in the King Kamehameha suite which had an amazing waterfall view and the sounds lulled us to sleep. In the morning we were treated to a scrumptious breakfast made to order (you HAVE to try the waffles!!!), sitting in an outdoor covered patio in view of the falls. The suite is actually above the owner's residence and you feel the spirit of aloha in being welcomed to their piece of heaven. We hiked the trails to the base of the falls as well as the bamboo garden...just gorgeous. We stayed 2 nights and it was a great location for access to the east and north sides of the island. We would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We loved hearing the sound of the waterfall from our balcony and the windows. Water was refreshing after hiking around the island! Beautiful view from our balcony and as you drive tthe property! Loved the macadamia nut waffles, fresh fruit and hilo grown coffee from ok farms for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The falls are beautiful. The room.. Too much like staying at a friends house. Not a luxury B and B. off the beaten path qute a ways. The linens were washed in a highly perfumed detergent not pleasant clean smell. Breakfast was good and the server was very pleasant. The entry looked a bit junky with golf cart, compressor and assorted junk around. Trash barrels are near car park so hold your breath. Not convenient to go back and forth during the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190MikeM190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennysutton, Owner at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

We feel sad that you did not enjoy your stay with us. our 600 thread count sheets are mostly washed in unscented soaps. that you found that not to be the case will be looked into and corrected. we are a B&B, but we are also a working macadamia nut farm. from time to time our tools will be out. it is the nature of agriculture and is part of our farming procedure. We do keep our garbage cans in the parking lot, but we do think that might be considered more or less normal for any household. We do hope that your visit to Hawaii was a success however

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our family of four (including our teen and nine year old sons) stayed here for two nights. The inn is absolutely gorgeous! The staff is welcoming and they made sure that we felt like home. The inn is located on a hill-top with stunning views of the waterfall from one side and a distant view of Hilo town (including the airport) from the other. The view from our balcony was the mountain covered with tall Albezia trees and numerous types of palms edging the water-fall - stunning!!!! We really enjoyed the trail hike along the river. The guava trees, banana trees, orchids, ferns, palms and cold water from the fall were truly refreshing. Kids also enjoyed collecting, crushing and eating macadamia nuts. The continental breakfast with eggs, sausage, lots of fresh fruits etc. (macadamia nut mixed waffles - yum!!!) was delicious. I simply cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Obviously ask for a room with water fall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank San F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

First we heard the waterfall, then we saw it, absolutely beautiful! We followed the trail from the waterfall, along the river, through The Bamboo Garden. It was amazing! The grounds are beautiful. A true taste of Hawaii! Breakfast the next morning was great. The Dining Room hostess was quite friendly and very hospitable. She made the very best waffles! This was truly a great experience for us!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent 5 glorious days here. It is stunning. It was late at night and very dark when we arrived, so couldn't see anything, but could hear waterfall. We were exhusted from flight etched, so fell straight to sleep. Woke up to Glorious sunshine, opened the balcony doors, to the most beautiful waterfall, it was breath taking!!! And right outside our window!!! We were in the middle if the most beautiful place I have ever seen, we stopped in stunning pagoda, hand built by owner Lenny. the landscaping of area and plantation, is indescribable........just stunning, no words can do it justice. How can you beat a fresh breakfast, next to a waterfall.? The food was plentiful , fresh, a huge choice and yummy, with eggs, fruit, cheeses, yogurts, cake, muffins, several types of bread, waffles, omelettes, porridge and more!! There was a beautifully decorated and furnished communal lounge, with drink facilities, tv and free computer and printer use.....although the internet was a little tempremental lol!

The town was easy to get to by car, Hilo, is fantastic, and everything was so beautiful, Mother Nature really did bless here, a tropical paradise.

We will never forget, this place and will recommend it , we were on a trip of a lifetime, and will treasure the memories of such a amazing place

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrenandLez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
4.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
682 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
4.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.1 mi away
The Bay House
The Bay House
#3 of 19 in Hilo
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: $200 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing