We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A beautiful hideaway”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and i were meeting my older son and his girlfriend in Hilo. It was their first trip to the Big Island. What a great to start the vacation! The road is a bit lonely, but trust the signs and you will get there. The setting is beautiful, and they have paths down toward the waterfall and a bamboo garden. In the morning your breakfast is cooked for you by the nicest person. It took us a minute to find the sign that shows who is registered for the night, but if you remember which building you have a room in, your name is on the door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Melanie709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    178
    57
    37
    29
See reviews for
122
543
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had booked only one night here, but when we saw the beauty of the property, we booked one more. Wish we could have stayed longer. The waterfall is truly exceptional, and we had an excellent view from the Maile room at Harmony House. A continental breakfast is cheerfully served, including tree-ripe local fruits, waffles, and omlets.

We could have easily spent out entire vacation here.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropea, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is an experience that may not be for everyone. If you are excited by the beauty of a waterfall, are thrilled by rainforest and enjoy a walk along a path planted with majestic bamboo, you will not want to miss this inn. If you are mostly looking for deluxe accommodations, convenience and great service, you may want to pass.

Everything about the inn is tastefully done, colorful and a treat for the eyes. Combine that with a few birds, sound of a waterfall, the sway of palm trees and it makes for a luscious setting. The grounds and the setting are nothing short of spectacular. If you are not interested in a walk to the bottom of the falls and do not see the magnificent bamboo, you will miss the main attraction.

The inn is located way off the beaten path and it takes some doing to find it. Breakfast is included with your room, but you are on your own for all other meals. It is a good 15 minutes to town over some narrow winding roads. You won't want to drink with dinner if you plan to navigate back to the inn after dark. The rooms are pretty to look at but are small and don't have enough space for unpacking. There is a single glass shelf in the bathroom that allows for a toothbrush, deodorant and a few other items but no place for your sunscreen. You do not have a safe, refrigerator, or coffee maker in the room. You can leave things in the refrigerator in the kitchen and there is coffee with breakfast but your room is mostly just for sleeping. If I were doing over, I would pack on overnight bag for the inn and leave everything else in the car.

Breakfast is a wonderful assortment of fruit, eggs, toast and macadamia nut waffles. It was served by a number of capable, friendly and knowledgeable young women. The living and dining area is tastefully decorated and the staff took pride in the fact that the coffee was Hilo coffee and the eggs were locally produced. Although the food was wonderful and served with a smile, you should not expect that coffee will be ready at 7:00. It is usually not good to go until some time between 7:15 and 7:20. One day our bed was made up when we got back in the evening and another day it was not. There is nobody to greet you when you arrive. You will find your name on a board instructing you on the name of your room and where to find the key. Service is not their long suit.

We had mixed feelings about our experience. It was a memorable stay and head and shoulders above the humdrum hotels in Hilo. On the other hand, it is a drag driving back and forth for dinner and the accommodations leave a bit to be desired. It would be nice if there was an option for an evening meal. Given the rooms and the driving, I would not plan on a long stay. On the other hand, if you are looking for adventure and love nature, a day or two at this inn could add a lovely chapter to your Hawaiian vacation.

Room Tip: Maile is the best for a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keefe506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The drive in is an adventure and you would only want to accomplish it once a day. Upon arrival, you are on your own with the key in the door for you. Rather strange not to be greeted and given some basic info on the property. The room was nice enough and the breakfast was at least hot. They ask that you remove your shoes inside the property which I know is a Hawaiian custom but feels a bit odd around strangers. The waterfall is amazing though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie110505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a great place. A little adventerous to find and get to, but well worth the effort. Don't recommend the initial trip in after dark, make sure it's still daylight. Very simple once you know the route, but can be intimidating the first time in if you happen to notice the private property signs. Once you're there, what a gem. The room was great, the view of the falls was awesome (we booked the King Kamehameha room) and the breakfast was simply outstanding. There's a path to the falls on the property that's an easy 5 minute walk that I highly recommend, the falls are incredible. Only had 1 night as we were circling the island in 3 days before we headed to Maui, but wished we had longer. Would definitely go back back if the opportunity ever presented itself.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The Inn is located just 10min outside of Hilo in a remote rain forest garden right next to the Kulaniapia Falls which are spectacular. If the water level is low you can swim in the natural pool. Beautiful asian style rooms, good breakfast, easy check in and out. Amazing two night stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

It's a good drive into the hills behind Hilo. Narrow, windy road thru macadamia nut farms until you hear the roar of the falls. Very peaceful and tranquil stay. We are from Oahu and the get away was nice. Only the sound of the coqui frogs was a little annoying. But it was tolerable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
6.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
20.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
56.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing