We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wish it had been one night only...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wish it had been one night only...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at the Inn for 4 nights at the end of our honeymoon and frankly we were disappointed. On a positive note, the setting is beautiful, the waterfall is stunning and Leah our breakfast hostess was friendly. However, we were surprised by the lack of welcome, you're left to find your own way via white board directions. Our room only had one bed side table and nowhere to hang our clothes or unpack some items. Very basic accommodation and the bed was small. The owners failed to email directions after we phoned them and then when we saw them during our stay they were totally disinterested and avoided eye contact. It was the only place we stayed that we wouldn't recommend to friends.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    157
    53
    34
    29
See reviews for
109
482
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our second stay in 3 years and this year we stayed in the Pagoda house....it is quite charming and has the best view of any hotel bedroom EVER!! There is a raised bed platform and you can lie in bed and watch the most amazing waterfall. It is noisy though!!
The staff are very easy going and laid back and the breakfasts are lovely.
The only downsides are that there is no lock on the door to the Pagoda (Japanese sliding doors) and that it takes a good 15 minutes to drive to hilo but it is worth the trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirribillisarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Inn is located outside of Hilo. I had a difficult time finding it at the beginning, but after looking at the website I found it easily. I wish when I called the Inn that I was treated in a more friendly way. It seemed I was bothering the person who answered. The Inn sits above Hilo so you have a nice view of the ocean and sunrise. The breakfast was good, especially looking at the waterfall and talking to other guests. The falls are amazing and the bamboo garden is special as well. The location I would say is very nice, but it wasn't a very warm environment. Again if I wouldn't have looked at the website again I wouldn't have found the kitchen to get a wine bottle openener. The young girl who served breakfast though made up for some. I just stayed one night there and for that and the price it was a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The inn is located about 30 minutes from the Hilo airport. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. There is a walking path along the river and waterfalls that has an impressive collection of bamboo. But watch your step; the trail is sometimes muddy, slippery, and littered with fallen fruit. We stayed in the King Kamehameha Room, which was nicely furnished and very comfortable. It also provided a good view of the big waterfall from both the room's windows and balcony. The morning breakfast service was quite good. A cheerful attendant cooked eggs and waffles, and kept the small buffet stocked with some fruits, breads, and other breakfast foods. I recommend the Inn at Kulaniapia Falls for couples or individuals seeking a quiet and relaxing stay in near Hilo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GamesEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Island, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Come here for the outdoor experience of the beautiful grounds. Lovely trails and several amazing waterfalls amidst established vegetation. We spent hours out there and never saw anyone else on the trails. Spectacular view of the waterfall from the upper room lanai. Definitely romantic. I loved the polished wood floors in Harmony House. The mac nut waffles were a treat!

Room Tip: If you want a waterfall view from your room, be sure to look for that on your room selection options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondOrganic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This place is for you if relaxation is your #1 goal and resort living is too structured for you.

As stated by others, it's true there is no welcoming committee. After figuring out how to get there (you need to follow the web site's directions to the T), the instructions are out front and you figure it out. You may or may not run into anyone. Check-out is similarly free of bureaucracy.

We took the "King Kamehameha" room. If I'm not mistaken, it's the largest room in the main building, but don't expect big. The pictures made it look bigger than it was, trust me. But it was quite comfortable, although my wife would have appreciated AC. It had a nice deck which made for a pleasant spot to read.

Breakfast is quite casual and the service is very friendly. Not five-star by any means, but very pleasant with waffles, eggs, breads, and fruit.

The property cannot be beat. The river with not one, but four, falls roaring past. A lovely bamboo garden. The surrounding macadamia trees. Which brings me back to this: if chilling out is your #1 goal, then this property is perfect. The bamboo garden and associated trail have many places where you can rest, read, watch the water, or generally zone out. Only the rain will move you, at which point you can go to your own deck or the breakfast area and hang out there.

Of course, you'll need to drive down to Hilo for lunch and dinner as there are no facilities for guests to eat there (at least in the main residence where we stayed). Not even a microwave. But it's a small price to pay for the ultimate casual and restful stay you can ask for.

Not recommended for those that want to be waited on hand-and-foot a la Four Seasons. Highly recommended for those that just want to be left alone for true peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Someone obviously took a lot of trouble to build this B&B overlooking the falls which were beautiful, and had a couple of nice walking trails down to the water, one of them through a number of different bamboo species. This must have taken years to build and maintain, so it was all the more surprising that the B&B itself was showing signs of neglect. The view from our room (King Kamehameha) to the falls was framed by a weathered corrugated roof over the communal lanai and wooden boards that were rotting away. Aside from a brief passing in the parking area we didn't see the owners at all and we didn't feel very welcome. Breakfast was OK but nothing special. If this place ever changes ownership it would be a top choice, but I wouldn't consider returning otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank potfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
20.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, P.O. Box 646, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Inn offering 10 rooms or a private guest house. Three waterfalls and a botanical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing