We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Big Island, Hawaii
1 review
“Amazing grounds”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Come here for the outdoor experience of the beautiful grounds. Lovely trails and several amazing waterfalls amidst established vegetation. We spent hours out there and never saw anyone else on the trails. Spectacular view of the waterfall from the upper room lanai. Definitely romantic. I loved the polished wood floors in Harmony House. The mac nut waffles were a treat!

Room Tip: If you want a waterfall view from your room, be sure to look for that on your room selection options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondOrganic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    179
    59
    38
    30
See reviews for
127
549
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This place is for you if relaxation is your #1 goal and resort living is too structured for you.

As stated by others, it's true there is no welcoming committee. After figuring out how to get there (you need to follow the web site's directions to the T), the instructions are out front and you figure it out. You may or may not run into anyone. Check-out is similarly free of bureaucracy.

We took the "King Kamehameha" room. If I'm not mistaken, it's the largest room in the main building, but don't expect big. The pictures made it look bigger than it was, trust me. But it was quite comfortable, although my wife would have appreciated AC. It had a nice deck which made for a pleasant spot to read.

Breakfast is quite casual and the service is very friendly. Not five-star by any means, but very pleasant with waffles, eggs, breads, and fruit.

The property cannot be beat. The river with not one, but four, falls roaring past. A lovely bamboo garden. The surrounding macadamia trees. Which brings me back to this: if chilling out is your #1 goal, then this property is perfect. The bamboo garden and associated trail have many places where you can rest, read, watch the water, or generally zone out. Only the rain will move you, at which point you can go to your own deck or the breakfast area and hang out there.

Of course, you'll need to drive down to Hilo for lunch and dinner as there are no facilities for guests to eat there (at least in the main residence where we stayed). Not even a microwave. But it's a small price to pay for the ultimate casual and restful stay you can ask for.

Not recommended for those that want to be waited on hand-and-foot a la Four Seasons. Highly recommended for those that just want to be left alone for true peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Someone obviously took a lot of trouble to build this B&B overlooking the falls which were beautiful, and had a couple of nice walking trails down to the water, one of them through a number of different bamboo species. This must have taken years to build and maintain, so it was all the more surprising that the B&B itself was showing signs of neglect. The view from our room (King Kamehameha) to the falls was framed by a weathered corrugated roof over the communal lanai and wooden boards that were rotting away. Aside from a brief passing in the parking area we didn't see the owners at all and we didn't feel very welcome. Breakfast was OK but nothing special. If this place ever changes ownership it would be a top choice, but I wouldn't consider returning otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Best part of this place, you have your own falls to yourself! You don't have to worry about a lot of people in your way! Breakfast was awesome! Rooms are comfortable and the balconies are a plus. Great atmosphere! Would go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Queen Liluokalani room. Very nice. The balcony was pretty and relaxing. Did not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

What a disappointment! The service was poor - there was no welcome or orientation to the property, and no information in our room. Staff were unfriendly and the owners were almost 'invisible'. There was a dirty towel in the bathroom. The breakfast was poor (including waffles prepared from a packet mix; bottled, rather than fresh, juice; and a limited offer of fruit). Flies walked over the food left on the 'buffet' for guests. The key to our room did not work properly. The hot tub is not working. Although the waterfall is beautiful, this alone is not sufficient reason to stay at this property given the overall lack of welcome and service.

Room Tip: There are better places to stay in the Hilo area and many other, even more beautiful, waterfalls to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarltonClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I did a road trip around the Big Island starting in Kona and wanted to stay on the north end for a night. While researching for a b&b, I stumbled upon the Inn at Kulaniapia Falls and booked it for one night. I must say that the area is breaktakingly beautiful. I took time on the property to enjoy the bamboo collection in the gardens and ate breakfast on the veranda (or lanai as they call it in Hawaii) overlooking the big waterfall.I guess this review is more for FYI and pointers so that you have all the info to decide whether it is right for you. What this place offers is plenty of nature in peaceful solitude.

1) For me, a GPS system was essential to get there and I typed in "Kulaniapia" and was lead the way by my Garmin. This place is nestled in a very secluded place If you are driving here later in the afternoon/evening, I recommend picking up dinner/snacks/water as it will be a long ways to get back out to a store. From the highway, we exited out to smaller roads and then passed by farmland to even smaller roads but soon we had a "Inn at Kulanipia" road sign that directed me where to go and I followed those signs for the rest of the way. When I arrived, I was greeted by a red Chinese style house, a Japanese pagoda and the main residence of the innkeepers. My room was on the second floor of the main residence.

2)Be advised that there is no air conditioning. This is an eco friendly property with all the electricity being generated by the scenic waterfall. We just used the ceiling fan and it worked fine for me. Those who are not heat tolerant might find it a bit uncomfortable.

3) Room and bathroom was cozy and comfortable for a bed and breakfast. Overall, I quite liked the property and would highly recommend it most for a couples retreat or any party of two travelling as the rooms are not equipped to house more than two people.

4) No televisions in the room. But yes, there is wifi on the property that you can access with your phone/ereader/tablet.

I met the inn keepers in the morning and was treated to a breakfast of Kona coffee, eggs, macadamian nut waffles, and fresh fruit. Splendid way to start my morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JY_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. One in a standard room and one in the pagoda. You can hear the falls all night from your room. In the main part you get your breakfast cooked for you and you can also have waffles. The room was clean with a small bathroom. The pagoda is much bigger with a living space. You have to cook your own breakfast and there are NO waffle supplies. The pagoda has one bed and you can see the falls when you are lying down. Other then the view the pagoda is not worth it. The only reason to book the pagoda would be if you intended to spend time during the day there and needed the space. Both beds had the worst pillows I have ever had the misfortune to try and sleep on. Wedges of foam like bricks with no give to them at all!!!

Room Tip: In the pagoda you have to cook your own breakfast, all other rooms it is cooked for you. Take your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firefly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
669 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
56.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing