We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place...few touches needed though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
NJ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice place...few touches needed though”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Unfortunatley I did not arrive until 5pm. I never saw the inn keepers as there is no place to check in. I stayed in the Japanese still room and while it was nice the room (size wise)the room needed some cleaning. The fan had an inch of dust layered on it. The walls, ceilings also had several holes and a smoke detector was missing. The view though was incredible. I unfortunatley left the property early morning and did not have breakfast but did find little information in regards to time of breakfast etc. Would I recommmend the propery. Sure, the setting is worth it alone. Would I stay again? Maybe?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    178
    58
    37
    29
See reviews for
123
545
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Beautiful location and exceptional gardens, beautifully maintained.
Breakfast was good with a reasonable of choice of local fruits, breads, eggs etc. Staff were helpful in giving tips on where to go and how to visit the island. Slightly out of Hilo town, but certainly worth it for the quality and peacefulness of the accomodation

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We were only here one night but the accommodations were first rate. Rooms are beautifully decorated, breakfast is made to order and the grounds are a delight. We walked through the bamboo gardens and hiked down to the falls. Next time we plan to make time to swim in it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltogether2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here twice -- for two nights at the start of our Big Island vacation and for two nights at the end of our trip. Excellent all around. Our first stay was in the Jasmine Room - on the first floor and a somewhat larger room than some of the others. Our second stay was in the Maile Room - wonderful view of the Falls, smaller in size but with a lanai. Breakfast was also excellent with a choice of breads, fruit, eggs and waffles. Our hosts were Leah and Jasmine, both wonderful, friendly young women who were happy to share their favorite island spots. Grounds are very well kept and the drive up the hill is not a problem (but try to get there before dark the first time you do it).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanwinkle7562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I was travelling on business and needed a hotel at short notice. I choose the Inn because of the consistently good reviews. A lot of the other hotels in Hilo have very mixed reviews. It's a nice place, close to town (though it's about a fifteen minute drive due to fifteen mph speed limit and numerous speed bumps), great breakfast, friendly/helpful staff. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela, Hi
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed here for my boyfriends birthday for a little weekend getaway surprise and were totally impressed by this wonderful place. We live on the Big Island and have had a chance to stay in many hotels and B&Bs, and this one is our new favorite. We stayed in the Queen Lilio'ukalani room and loved it. The room was clean and the decor appealing. Don't even get me started on the sheets....they are soft as can be. You could see the top of the falls from the balcony, and had a view of the grounds and Hilo in the distance. We got adventurous and hiked to the falls at midnight under a full moon; very exhilarating! Too bad it was raining in the morning, otherwise we would have gone back in to swim. Breakfast was great, with eggs done to order (cooked perfectly, I might add), a bread assortment for toast, fresh made waffles and fruit. You also get to eat it on the lanai with the best view of the falls. We loved the time we spent here and are eager to come back for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Very comfortable and elegant place, very worth the extra 10 minutes to drive from Hilo. Breakfast was outstanding - fresh fruits, Hawaiian bread, free-range eggs from up the road, perfect coffee. Room was nothing special except being able to fall asleep to the white noise of the waterfall was wonderfall.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
6.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
20.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing