We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Majestic WATERFALLS
5

Book in advance
from
$149.03
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Akaka Falls State Park
from $149.03
More Info
from $220.32
More Info
from $29.99
More Info
from $19.99
More Info
Reviews (6,297)
Filter reviews
6,297 results
Traveler rating
3,700
1,981
534
64
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,700
1,981
534
64
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews per person the loop paved path short walk easy walk nice walk beautiful waterfall entrance fee lush vegetation take your time worth the trip plant life the big island quick stop hilo area stairs hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
644 - 649 of 6,297 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Look from the parking lot or venture down steep steps to get closer to the fall. Just out of Hilo, Hawaii and free.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Cruiser527039
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

My wife and I recently took the cruise of a "lifetime" with friends to numerous islands in the Pacific. During the cruise, we visited Hilo in the Hawaiian Islands. While on Hilo, we visited Akaka Falls. This was an excellent sightseeing stop. The views of the falls were outstanding and the sight was breath taking. We would recommend seeing this beautiful place.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank jmacch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

This is a beautiful park. The path is paved and pretty easy. Jungle-like setting with lots of beautiful flowers. $5 per vehicle or $1 per person to walk in. If you’re cheap and by yourself (like me), you can park outside of the parking lot and walk in. Honestly, the parking lot was just full the first time I drove through so i parked along the road. If you’re lucky (also like me) the money collector may take pity on you for charging $1 on your credit card, and just let you go by.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Amybthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

Akaka Falls were gorgeous. It was an easy walk to see them and jt was truly gorgeous. I highly suggest it to anyone who wants to see amazing waterfalls.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank stacey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

The main Akaka falls is stunning but the other set of falls not so much. You sort of get a peek-a-boo view that is disappointing. Only reason for 4 stars is that the park is overwhelmed with cruise passengers that are elderly and block the stairs. The paths are very narrow and feels like it takes forever to get by.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank djsdad327
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews