We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely falls, easy walk”

Akaka Falls State Park
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$187.45*
and up
Hilo Zipline over KoleKole Falls
Ranked #1 of 82 things to do in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely falls, easy walk”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Falls are beautiful and within an easy walk (I don't consider this a hike for anyone who is fit). Absolutely worth seeing!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank voyageouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,353
    1,383
    349
    36
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
388 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Roadside detour worth making”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We took the detour to the falls traveling on route 19 on the way to volcano. It is about 5 miles out of the way and requires a 5.00 parking fee to go down to see the falls closer. (You can still see the falls from afar without paying the fee). We spent about 30 minutes walking around and viewing the falls.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PTycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
906 reviews
410 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 917 helpful votes
“Most Picturesque Sight on the Island-Don't Miss It!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

One of the best waterfalls I've seen in a tropical rainforest setting. We drove from Kona and it was definitely worth the trip. Since the rest of the island looks like the moon, this is probably the most picturesque sight on the Big Island. Take rain gear, though, because it rains alot on this side of the island. The day that we went it poured much of the day and we had to sit in the car for awhile and wait until it letup and then make a mad dash to get a view and take some photos. But, highly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WOW, beautiful”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Akaka Falls and secondary ones are beautiful. Running very hard with recent rain, Excellent trail system and information. Beautiful vegitation. Good access roads although paved trails are not wheelchair friendly with a lot of steps. Well worth the visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Must Stop.”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We sure are glad we stopped here. We got an early start and enjoyed our visit to the falls. We spent a good 30 minutes there without any crowds. A Must See....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akaka Falls State Park also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Akaka Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing