We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful falls -highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akaka Falls State Park

Akaka Falls State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$176.99*
and up
Hilo Zipline over KoleKole Falls
Ranked #1 of 79 things to do in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful falls -highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

A very easy hike to view the falls. Great rain forest experience and totally thrilled by the greenery. Would highly recommend this place,
Also recommend the farmers market (fruit stand) on the way to Akkaka falls. It is a good place for refreshments.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LalithaKosuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,255
    1,274
    309
    30
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice trip out of Hilo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The drive here is pretty and the little tropical park with the falls is a fun trip. If you are pressed for time, I wouldn't call it a "must do", but if you have the time, it's worth the short trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rahulnanavati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

A nice scenic walk on builtup path. Should take you about 45 minutes. There is fee to enter the park as well as a fee to park although the parking lot is very small and a good number of people park on the road outsde the park. This makes for some congestion on the road as vehicles are parked on both sides as well as people walking to and from their cars.
Worth the trip as the falls and scenery are spectacular.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KenBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Easy Peasy even in the rain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

It was a gloomy & foggy drive down to Hilo. You'll drive through Honomu and it takes you back in time...like a Western Saloon (see pic). We went really early so most places weren't open (8-9am?).

The second we got out of the Jeep it started raining but it didn't stop us from seeing Akaka Falls because I had my ponchos ready. It's such an easy & short hike and in the rain it wasn't even cold at all. I also saw a family of 5 running around and having a great time taking pictures.

Make sure you pay for parking via machine ($5?), there's a young guy there chilling in a corner on his cell phone (I think he works there and enforces the citation if you didn't pay).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Momiji008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
151 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Have Patience & dress for rain in February”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The tour busses stop here, so if you need to use the bathroom-- go as a preventative measure if the line is less than 5 people long otherwise you'll be sorry when you return to find 40 women standing in line. Also check the weather -- when we went it was pouring sheets of rain and my open topped plastic beach bag began to fill with water. I suggest wearing rainboots or aqua shoes, and a long rain poncho and some kind of closed top waterproof bag. If you are there early, you can stroll along as you like, but if you come a bit later you will really be held up by all the people. So come with a good attitude. There was a man at the parking machine, so hopefully he also keeps an eye on the cars in the lot. The cost was $5 per car or $1 per person. The machine takes cards; the man takes cash.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akaka Falls State Park also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Akaka Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing