We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal caring in Paradise”
Review of Hilltop Legacy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilltop Legacy
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hilo
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Firstly, this is not a hotel, if you are searching an experience with no personal contacts this is not your place. But if you want to make the most out of your Hawaiian vacations, choose Hilltop Legacy Vacation Rental. This fantastic place has lots of memories with history that worth discovering. And yes, the breakfast is simple but always coming with fresh fruits.
1. It offers a personal caring thanks to Jade who is always ready to help from breakfast time till you go sleep. Helpful tips what and when to visit.
2. Top view with an excellent location - close to downtown but in a peaceful area with incredible flora and fauna.
3. Great entertainment extra services like pool table, free snorkel equipments, personal Japanese garden and outside breakfast and coffee area.
Things to do in Hilo concerning this is not Kona a shopping and vacation city, you may have less tourist offerings but a much nicer atmosphere with lots of rain overnights. If you rent a car you have no limitations to visit:
1. Rainbow Falls
2. Tropical Botanical Garden
3. Volcano National Park of Hawaii
4. Richardons Beach Park
5. Farmers and Art Market (Wednesdays and Saturdays)
6. Prince Kuhio Shopping Center
7. Queen Liliuokalani Garden - ideal for morning walks or running
8. Green Sand Beach is also accessible - worth a visit but be prepared for a one-hour hiking.

Room Tip: Legacy Suite has a great balcony overseeing the Japanese garden and Hilo Bay. Legacy Suite's fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 69 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

It was my second visit to Hilo. My husband and I stayed at the Hilltop Legacy for 2 nights and it was excellent. Jade (staff) was very nice and helpful, made his best to meet my needs. I loved cozy room, clean livingroom and garden and backyard. Free wifi everywhere was really wonderful service. If they had air conditioning, it would be better.
I would recommend this place to anyone who is planning a vacation to Hilo.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed in the Volcano room which has the designated bathroom just outside of the bedroom. For a single guy this was easy to get used to. If you are healthy, there are plenty of place in Hilo within walking distance. I walked into town and picked up supplies and food at the local market and stored items in the room refrigerator for convenience. Rainbow Falls is up the hill about a 15 minute walk away. I was informed that a hospital and a Kaiser are close by as well. Breakfast included fresh fruit daily during my stay and since I eat light in the morning, it was perfect. It is also close to Saddle Road for those venturing to the other side of the Island or you can stay on the grounds and enjoy a quiet day. If you are arriving at night, be sure to call ahead and let Jade know. He readily accommodates request if he is able, makes the stay much easier and provides great service as the manager of the place.

Room Tip: Volcano Room has the separate bathroom and faces the back forest area looking up the hill. I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We took a trip to the Big Island during spring break. We planned to land in Hilo, visit friends and spend the night in Hilo. After reading the reviews of the hotels in Hilo which seemed to be really sketchy, I contemplated driving to Kona. I took a chance and did a search of B & B's in the Hilo area and found Hilltop Legacy. I'd like to add that when I later talked to my friend who lives in Hilo about the hotels he told me he wouldn't recommend staying at any of them.

We stayed in the Volcano room for 79.00 a night plus tax which was lower than the rooms at the Hotels. I was a little hesitant that the bathroom was located outside the room but it turned out to be no big deal, it was reserved only for our use and it was just a couple steps away from the room. The room was comfortable. The home was one of those older style but it was nice, well kept and I could tell the owners really loved the place. Our host Jade was really sweet and friendly and made us feel really comfortable there. Even the cats outside were friendly. Breakfast was simple but satisfying.

I would highly recommend this place and would stay there again the next time I visit Hilo.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sayuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We arrived after the normal check- in time and were greeted by Jade. He was very helpful and courteous.

The property is a little difficult to find at night, so get directions before hand. We only stayed one night but wish we had stayed longer.

The breakfast was simple but delicious.

If you will be arriving after 6 pm be sure to phone ahead.

Room Tip: Hilo Bay Room is cozy and has views of downtown Hilo Bay. Nice breezes come in from the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bvbdortmund09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Jade was gracious and helpful. The house was clean with large bedrooms. Breakfast was non descript but ample.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbss_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is a great hotel. The owners were incredibly helpful and kind. The location is perfect, with a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstagge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.1 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.8 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
558 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
21.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Legacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Legacy

Address: 57 Hina St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hilo
Price Range: $85 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Legacy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop Legacy is a beautiful Hilo vacation rental conveniently located in downtown Hilo Bay. The Hilltop Legacy Vacation Rental could not be in a better location for your exciting Hilo Vacation. The Hilltop Legacy is located in Hilo is just a short 5 minute walk to the many shops, restaurants and museums that downtown Hilo has to offer. Although the Hilltop Legacy is so close to downtown Hilo Bay, You still have the amazing privacy and views that you can't find at any of the hotels in Hilo. Unlike many of the Hilo hotels, this vacation rental truly offers all the conveniences of being in town while at the same time having the relaxing and peaceful country atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hilltop Legacy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Legacy Vacation Rental Hotel Hilo
Hilltop Legacy Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing