We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely (somewhat out of the way) location, right...”
other travelers have booked this property
Maunaloa Shores 508
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maunaloa Shores 508
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
Maunaloa Shores 508
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
tom c
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely (somewhat out of the way) location, right next to best Hilo swimming/snorkeling beach”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well furnished 2 bedroom condo right next to Carlsmith beach park. Handy, as parking at that beach gets really full almost every day. On fifth floor, so good views into the rainforest area of the park. Condo is fully screened to keep out the bugs--geckos can get in however...

Set up well for a family with 2 children, twin beds in one bedroom. No AC, but the fans were totally adequate for mid-August. Swimming pool on site, good for rinsing off after coming out of the ocean. We had to pool to ourselves almost every time we used it. Building is a mix of long term residents, monthly and vacation rentals.

Only negative is distance to central Hilo. It's a couple mile drive to anything other than the expensive seafood restaurant across the street, with some traffic since you're driving through the port area of Hilo to get anywhere

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melindalo...
West Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“So much room for improvement”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The description for this condo says it's one of the nicest condos at Mauna Loa Shores: it's not. Do some Googling and you'll see several others that actually have been tastefully decorated and remodeled-I wish I had. Granted, Hilo is not the tourist hotspot that Kona is and Mauna Loa Shores, though large, is generally run down in appearance, but there are better options out there at this price point.

The first thing that hit us when we opened the door was the smell. A very thick, strong musty odor, as if the unit hadn't been opened and aired out in the past 7 years. We knew that wasn't the case as the previous renters left less than a week before us, but the musty smell was strong and never really left during our 5 night stay, not even when we opened all the windows and the lanai door. Thankfully, a prior renter left behind a scented candle and we found a store in town that sold cheap incense so we had that burning whenever we were there. I still can't explain that smell-we didn't encounter it in any of the 3 other condos we stayed at during our time in Hawaii.

As you can see from my pictures, the walls are painted cement block and most of the furniture has changed since this condo was posted on Trip Advisor. Everything was generally clean (they request you leave a tip for the housekeeper-perhaps that's an incentive?) and appeared to be taken care of, though the master bed was uncomfortable and the shades blocked out no light whatsoever. As with most places in Hawaii, there was no AC so it was fairly hot in the condo, though the second bedroom caught a good breeze and there was a small counter fan and stand fan in the master bedroom as well as the ceiling fan in the living area. The lanai overlooks a bit of the nearby lagoon in the distance, but mostly a large jungle type area and the pool (noticeably absent from the picture property management took), so you'll hear people at the pool if you're at the condo during the day. Mauna Loa Shores looks as if it's seen better days and has a generally run down appearance, with security gates at the entrance that are never closed or locked and an elevator that can only be accessed with your condo key. For the most part our neighbors were quiet and kept to themselves, though all the front of the condos open to a shared walkway and residents like to hang out on that walkway from time to time. We did use the community washers/dryers and they worked fine-cost is $1.50 for one wash cycle and $1.25 for the dryer.

We encountered a problem with the Wifi that was not resolved by Hawaii Holidays but by a former renter who was smart enough to put the correct username and password info in the guestbook. There are 2 places with that info in the condo, one is a sheet on the fridge and the other is in a book on the coffee table and both were completely incorrect. When we called Hawaii Holidays we were told that we should reset the router, though they weren't sure where in the condo the router was located and neither were we. We told them what we were using for a password and username and they didn't tell us anything different. While my husband was on the phone, I was reading through the guestbook and found the correct info in another guest's entry. Eventually we did locate the router and the correct username/password info is taped to it but would've been a lot more helpful if it had been on the 2 obviously placed info sheets.

There was some good. The location is good, very close to downtown Hilo, restaurants and the highway leading to Volcano National Park. Also directly beside several beach lagoons for swimming and sea turtle spotting. The condo is well stocked and we never saw a bug inside. Assigned parking was great and getting the key to the condo was easy.

Overall, it didn't meet my expectations and had the pictures more accurately reflected the interior, I don't think we would've opted to rent it. Though no pictures can convey the smell, which was hopefully just a fluke for the sake of future renters.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The actual condo
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2015
We're so sorry you encountered these problems. Obviously we will get to work on these issues right away.

The smell is a mystery that we have to try to examine. Our cleaners are normally excellent about letting us know of anything like that and they haven't mentioned it so we also hope its a fluke but we will check it out.

One of the problems we run into is having tech-savvy guests that feel a need to change the router configuration because they feel that their security will be better (I guess they are concerned that a prior guest having the codes could 'spy' on them). Since we get a lot of visitors that are working at the observatories and are knowledgable that way, we have an ongoing problem with that. But we will definitely get in, reset it to something we know and can document for future guests. Thanks for alerting us to the problem.

The owner is very good about updating the unit and wants to keep it looking current and fresh. We will pass along your experience and advice and will work with them to refresh the condo's appearance and feel. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBDoll619
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I was on the Big Island with 14 other family members for my son's graduation from UHH. We had about 5 condos total in this complex. I must say mine was the very best! It had everything you would need for an extremely comfortable stay from beach/pool toys, coolers, a portable BBQ to a fully stocked kitchen. The view on the lanai was great and the fact that they screened it means I can stay out there without getting eating alive by the mosquitoes! Carlsmith Beach is next door which is awesome for swimming, snorkeling and turtle watching. Renting this condo was a breeze! I would definitely recommend this condo to family and friends and would not hesitate to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving:o(
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2015
Thank you so much! We're very glad that you enjoyed it. Please come see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyVi26
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great stay in Paradise”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We loved Mauna Loa Shores 508, location is the best, close to airport, downtown Hilo and shopping center. Of course you're just steps away from one of the best snorkeling spots in the island Carlsmith Beach and Richardson Black Sand Beach which is a mile away. The unit was very clean, well stocked with everything from the pantry spice to the snorkel gear and fins. Enjoyed breakfast and dinner in the screened-in lanai with beautiful views of the mountain and ocean. If we come back to Hilo, we will definitely stay here again. Mahalo nui!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, safe and quiet.
Liked least: Bathroom needs updating, esp toilet and sink, drains slow. Needs new tv, maybe a DVD player and DVDs.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2015
We're so glad you enjoyed it! Come back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark j
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location--nice condo!”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The location was amazing! The view of the lagoons and ocean was spectacular. We weren't in the water 5 minutes and saw our first sea turtle. They were everywhere!! Also, close to waterfalls and Volcanoes. The condo was really nice. Very clean. It was great to have swim towels, boogie boards etc available for the water and having a well stocked kitchen meant we could cook and not have to eat out every night. Laundry facility a plus as well. If I had to say anything negative it would be to perhaps update the tv to a flat screen (remote did not work btw) and maybe an update to the bathroom. Otherwise perfect and would rent again in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was perfect and the view was amazing!
Liked least: If I had to say anything negative it would be to perhaps update the tv to a flat screen (remote did not work btw) and maybe an update to the bathroom.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2015
We are so happy you had a great time and enjoyed the condo. Come back again, the area is always pretty amazing.

Your ideas about updating the TV and a little "refreshing' of the bathroom are good ones. We'll talk to the owner about those.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolmcap
Concord, California
1 review
“Great setting, spacious and secure condo”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Surrounded by nature, including 3 beautiful turtles in the lagoon.....they ate grass right out of our hands! The condo was spacious and clean and included beach towels, masks, snorkels and fins and floatation noodles and boards. It was great to sit on the lanai in the early morning and watch the sunrise over the ocean. While each room had a fan, I would have appreciated air conditioning.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2014
Wow, that turtle experience sounds amazing. Everyone knows that, like any wild creature, you are supposed to leave them alone, but that's hard to do when they seem as interested in you as you are in them.

Unfortunately, in part because the condo fees pay the electricity, Maunaloa Shores won't allow anyone to install air conditioning. We agree, it would be nice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smacthaye...
Montrose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Good Value”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My son was graduating from Hawaii University at Hilo and we picked this place for a week's stay. The condo is not far from town, within a 10 minute drive from the airport and is close to shops and restaurants. If you've visited this side of the Big Island you know that it can be humid and so be prepared to use all the fans in the condo. It's a very well equipped unit, everything you could or would need. Plenty of towels, things for the beach (which we did not use but were happy to see), fully stocked kitchen, large fridge, microwave. It's very quiet except for the evening chorus of frogs and the morning chorus of birds! Would have been nice to have black outs in the bedrooms but really, aside from that, no complaints at all. I would recommend this place.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing