We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location with beautiful view”
other travelers have booked this property
Maunaloa Shores 508
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maunaloa Shores 508
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
49 reviews
Maunaloa Shores 508
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gilligodd...
El Cerrito, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location with beautiful view”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is a wonderful condo centrally located about 5 miles from downtown hilo. It's right next to a wonderful public beach/park with beautiful views of the ocean. The condo was very well stocked with swimming toys, towels and full kitchen supplies. It also had a large t.v. which we primarily used to watch movies. The pool was clean and warm but the ocean was so close that it really wasn't necessary for our needs. The coqui frogs sang us to sleep every night but may be an issue for those who require total quiet to sleep. For me it was wonderful. We will definitely stay there again on our next Hawaiian adventure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely screened in lanai
Liked least: The lock box was difficult to open
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitwise1
Tucker, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Condo on the Beautiful Big Island”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This great condo in Hilo was a great base camp for us to go explore the Big Island everyday. It had everything we needed to be comfortable and it was in a beautiful setting. The view from the lanai was spectacular. Looking out over the ocean, with black rocks, white sand, and a great lagoon. Right next to it was this rainforest/jungle, with birds singing during the day and frogs croaking at night. The suggestions and guide books in the condo were a great resource. There was also plenty of gear to go swim with the amazing sea turtles that are in the lagoon! It rains a lot in Hilo so be prepared for that, but there's so much to see and do on the Big Island that the rain doesn't matter much. Make sure to visit the Hawaii Botanical Gardens, see the waterfalls, swim with the turtles, visit the volcano, drive to the west coast, and visit the little store/ice cream parlor/hostel just down the road for a small botanical garden you can walk through while enjoying some delicious ice cream. Great condo, very convenient, great price, well decorated and well equipped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the lanai and the lagoon itself.
Liked least: The cable channels were horrible, and there was a dvd player but no dvds.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa S
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location great, view good. Generaly ok, needs some work on cleaning”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Generally fair, the floors in the bedroom dirty with someone else's deodorant under the side table and container under the tv cabinet we did not use. the worst was the slimy, black moldy bath mat tub mat.(which we folded up and placed in the garbage can) in the bathroom we had to disinfect the tub before using and then shower making sure we didn't touch the shower curtain which was also black mold the lower third.
When we pay a good cleaning fee I would expect more.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2014
I just checked out records and you did not contact us to let us correct this. Please, when you visit again, if you notice a problem -- call us! We want to fix issues like this. We expect better from out housekeepers and most of the time, they meet our requirements. We're so sorry that didn't happen this time. Please - call us so we can fix things!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Djoym1
Silverdale, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place , But the RAIN WAS AWFULL!!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This was a nice Condo, Definately FULLY Equipped. But it RAINS WAY TOO MUCH. I was told by the company that rented it that it was one of the best places on the island. Well I live in Washington State where it rains alot and when I go on vacation it's to get away from the rain. We had flood warnings and had to leave early in the morning on our last day because of the flooding. Its a nice place but if you want sun...Stay in Kona. We spent every day driving over to Kona. I felt like I ruined our vacation by choosing such a rainy place.

But the area is beautiful and definately worth visiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Turtles
Liked least: The rain
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2014
The Hilo area does get a lot of rain and its incredibly variable. There will be times of tremendous downpour (like you experienced) and times of no rain for weeks or even months. We never know and can never predict. And last week, the Hilo side was bright and sunny and the rain was pouring down on Kona - really confusing everyone. As you said, it is beautiful so we hope you give it another chance. Its not always that rainy, unless it is. ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmonie0...
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful place and very close to Volcano Park and Akaka falls”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I really appreciated this wonderful condo. Clean and full equipped.
The beautiful decoration. And Hilo it's a great place to stay to be close to the Volcano park and other activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and vey equipped of the condo
Liked least: the beach park near the condo was too cold but nothing bad to say about the condo
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Reviewed October 24, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cary, NC
Reviewed August 30, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$99
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing