We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Hilo
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic journey

What an amazing experience. Absolutely loved it. My 5 year old was pretty anxious about heading up... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Shona M
via mobile
Great helicopter tour!

First, this company has a great safety track record. Our pilot, Alex, was very good and... read more

Reviewed October 13, 2019
599deannal
,
Madison, AL
via mobile
Read all 714 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Island of Hawaii
from $269.00
More Info
from $274.00
More Info
from $599.00
More Info
from $559.00
More Info
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
535
103
36
15
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
535
103
36
15
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lava flow deluxe tour the big island safety briefing both sides great flight waterfall tour active volcano smooth flight lava activity excellent pilot helicopter flight once in a lifetime ground staff great tour other companies great company
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 714 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing experience. Absolutely loved it. My 5 year old was pretty anxious about heading up but the staff were really friendly and encouraging and even offered to stop the rotors before we headed out but in the end we didn't need to and were all had a blast. Samantha our pilot gave a great tour with many tips on places to visit after we landed which was fantastic. Seeing the eruption cones and devastation from the lava was breathtaking. Bucket list items for me. Super professional team, would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest02771067190, Manager at Safari Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Shona! Thank you so much for your review, recommendation, and for choosing Safari to provide your family with this once in a lifetime experience. We agree that the views are truly breathtaking, and most of them can only be seen by air! It was a pleasure to meet you all and help you check this item off your bucket list. Until me meet again, mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) from all of us here at Safari!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019 via mobile

First, this company has a great safety track record. Our pilot, Alex, was very good and knowledgeable, explaining so much about the volcanoes we flew over, the lava fields, etc. He also flew us along the coast pointing out waterfalls. He told us so much about Hilo. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip! It was my first time in a helicopter, and I was completely comfortable. This is a closed door helicopter with air conditioning and heat. Everyone had headsets and relaxing Hawaiian music played throughout the tour when the pilot wasn't speaking. I could've stayed on that chopper all day!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank 599deannal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest02771067190, Manager at Safari Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha! Thank you for your kind words--I will pass them along to Alex. It was a pleasure meeting you and we are so happy you trusted us to show you this beautiful island and all it has to offer! We hope these memories will last you a lifetime. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2019 via mobile

Could not recommend safari Helicopters enough. Very profession operation from the minute we were picked up from the cruise ship until we were returned all the staff were fantastic. Flight was fantastic truly worth the money we paid. It might seem expensive but money can’t be the experience.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank bing1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest02771067190, Manager at Safari Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha! Wow, thank you for your awesome review, recommendation, and photos! It looks like you all had a great time. We are proud of the service our staff provides, so it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with them from start to finish. I hope the memories you made on this trip will last a lifetime. Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) from all of us here at Safari!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2019 via mobile

Yesterday we took volcano tour with pilot Sam.
Wonderful experience. Sam was a great pilot and tour guide.
We have also taken Safari tours on Kauai. Safari staff are friendly and professional. Highly recommended as a must do activity!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank scottwC1548CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest02771067190, Manager at Safari Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Scott! Thank you for trusting us to be your tour provider on multiple islands. We sincerely appreciate that. Sam is wonderful and will be so happy to hear she helped make your trip so memorable. Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for your recommendation as well. We are still a small family-operated business so your recommendation means a lot to us. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019 via mobile

Prior to flying with Safari, I had ever been in a helicopter and was quite nervous to say the least. We’d booked this tour for my partners 30th and were looking forward to seeing Hilo from above! All my nerves went out the window from the moment we checked in!

The lovely ladies were so welcoming, professional and reassuring. Our pilot Alex was fantastic, telling us all about the history of Hilo whilst explaining the beautiful sights we were flying over. The relaxing music throughout the flight and the friendly staff made this experience perfect. If you’re tossing up whether to do a tour with Safari, the answer should definitely be yes!! There’s a reason they have such amazing reviews. We’ll be doing another tour with them next time we’re in Hawaii!!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank EllaS817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest02771067190, Manager at Safari Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Ella! Thank you for such a great review and for your recommendation! It was a pleasure meeting you both. We are thrilled to have been a part of your celebration and are honored that you trusted us as your first tour provider. I know first times on a helicopter can be quite nerve wracking, and I'm so glad that we were able to ease your nerves and that it turned out to be such a memorable experience for you both. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time on the Big Island, and we look forward to having you fly with us again on your next visit to Hawai'i!

Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) from all of us here at Safari.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews