We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great free/donation spot”

Panaewa Rainforest Zoo and Gardens
Ranked #23 of 80 things to do in Hilo
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great free/donation spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Have a few hours to blow before your flight out of Hilo? The zoo fill the bill. The variety of displays is very good. The landscape is delightful.
The rodeo in the spring is a hoot. The zoo shares ground with the equestrian park.

Helpful?
2 Thank sjwhatisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    140
    58
    22
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mad River, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow! And Wow again...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This zoo is donation funded and is amazing! The animals are in beautiful enclosures and well taken care of. The volunteer staff are happy, knowledgable and very friendly. Great place to see with the kids, but even just me and my husband enjoyed it immensely!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KLK7331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Where Else Can You Find a Rainforest Zoo!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We got here late, so we didn't get to see all of it, but we were impressed with how well maintained the gardens and grounds were. It was fun to see the peacocks roaming free and looking gorgeous and we were able to make it to the tiger feeding. Where else can you see a tiger being fed (a whole raw chicken no less), Lots of animals and birds/ducks to see and several we had never seen or heard of. I would go again and I recommend it to everyone -- we were just two adults without kids and enjoyed it. Its is not a huge place, but interesting. It is free, but I would suggest leaving at least a small donation to help their cause. Very close to downtown Hilo with good parking.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CJA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Free but small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Obviously you don't expect a free zoo to look like the San Diego Zoo, but I as hoping for a little more. The tiger was older and in rough shape because on an injury.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mango1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, CT, USA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Must do with kids on the Hilo side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

It is a free zoo! If you are already in the Hilo area, have 2 hours to kill, have a kid or two, and hopefully some snacks packed, stop in. Did I mention it is free?

There is a fun assortment of bird and monkeys to be seen, the walk is very easy. Parents may enjoy the labeled flowers and tropical plants as well. There is a really good playscape at the end of the loop, plus tables for a picnic. Worst part is your kids might not want to leave! We visited on a weekend, so there were 3 birthday parties happening here, lots of other kids to interact with.

Stop at the gift shop for a trinket, or leave a donation at the gate, it was a stress-free few hours for you and a great memory for your kids.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank karen1monger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panaewa Rainforest Zoo and Gardens also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Panaewa Rainforest Zoo and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing