We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Rainbow Falls
from $153.34
More Info
from $204.19
More Info
from $195.99
More Info
from $29.99
More Info
Reviews (3,871)
Filter reviews
3,871 results
Traveler rating
1,612
1,474
681
78
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,612
1,474
681
78
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking lot easy access beautiful waterfall close to town banyan tree easy stop viewing area pretty waterfall walk up few steps downtown hilo worth a stop great stop the big island pots trail trees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 3,871 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2019

Very nice view of the falls. We enjoyed this waterfall the most and the others you had to pay for parking and access and got no where near the falls. I enjoyed my time here great trail and view. Safe area. No issues at all would definitely come back.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank Fearless792008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2019

There isn't enough parking for the crowds, but we kept going around until we finally got a spot. The waterfall is in Hilo and really lovely.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Dottie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2019

The best of the falls I got to see on my trip. You can get a great picture here, it's free to visit. If you only have time to see one fall in the Hilo area, make it this one.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank jrperkins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019

worth the effort to stop to see - take the time to walk up the walkway to see the falls from a different view point as well as walk under the huge banyan tree (?) on the hill.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank AHTTIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019 via mobile

I have been to Rainbow Falls twice. In August 2019, the water was very brown. But hey- it’s a waterfall in Hawaii! There is a Lookout that is very easily accessible, right next to the parking lot. There is also a long, steep stairway to the top of the falls. Once you get to the top, you can continue a bit off trail to some magical banyan trees! It is other worldly! However, take bug spray! The mosquitoes were terrible! (And maybe travel with ponchos due to frequent rainfall.)

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank TXmommy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews