We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect”
Review of Rainbow Falls

Rainbow Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Hilo Volcano Special Tour
Ranked #4 of 81 things to do in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waterfalls located on the big island of Hawaii.
Norwich, Vermont
1 review
“Picture perfect”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Rainbow falls are so easy to get to that if you are in Hilo, make sure to include them in your day. We saw the volcanos, a black sand beach and rainbow falls on our tour and by seeing all 3, I think we got to really experience Hilo. From volcanos damage to beautiful waterfalls, Hilo is awesome!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FionaBegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    942
    493
    65
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“no rainbow”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a cool waterfall right near Hilo. However, as Hilo is often under cloud cover, we were unable to see the falls with a rainbow. I hope you have better timing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank janeandphilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful falls right in Hilo”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Best seen after heavy rains, the falls cast frequent rainbows. Beautiful setting for photos and view of Hilo's rainforest landscape. Easily accessible. Ample parking and wheelchair access.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank honulady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“magnificent view”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A magnificent view of Rainbow Falls awaits all who need only take the effort to arrive. No need for hiking to see the beauty. BUt, if you want a short hike, there is one that goes above the falls and boasts amazing mango and banyan tree forest. Be prepared for a bit of mud, but well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HalandBelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great bang for zero bucks”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a well kept site with good parking and huge water. During a storm you can be in awe of the power of Mother Nature.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kahupoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Falls also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Rainbow Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing