We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Rainbow Falls
from $182.30
More Info
from $238.54
More Info
from $120.00
More Info
from $105.00
More Info
Reviews (3,315)
Filter reviews
2,971 results
Traveler rating
1,265
1,124
501
59
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,265
1,124
501
59
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking lot easy access close to town beautiful waterfall banyan trees easy stop viewing area walk up pretty waterfall sunny day tour buses few steps nice stop downtown hilo on the rocks short drive worth a stop
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,971 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Rainbow Falls is a good stop for a quick look but wouldn’t plan a long stay. We were pleasantly surprised to find a mama pig and her five piglets in the grass nearby.

Thank Lollie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

This is one of those must see places in Hilo, but make sure that you walk to the top of the falls. Not just to see the falls from that angle, but also because of the large Banyan Tree there as well. It is one of the best examples that we say during our time in Hawaii.

Thank KeithJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Outside the town of Papaikou, a great diversion right there in town. Drive up, walk over - that simple.

Thank RonCentralCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

This was a very welcome stop on our tour after stopping at the Orchid "store" a few miles before. It is a great spot for family photos with the falls in the background. And the short hike up the uneven steps made mostly of stone was worth the effort.

Thank CaptivaHabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We stooped here first when arriving in Hilo. Easy to park, beautiful viewpoint. We saw the rainbow too! Wild pigs roaming around with piglets were an extra treat. The cave below the fall was huge.

Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Just outside of Hilo is a really beautiful falls not to be missed. It is really easy to find. Such a pretty falls.

Thank TomD372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our guide book said to go in the morning to see the rainbow. We left early and got there around 10. It was perfect. Everyone else was there too. We parked down the road and walked up the back way past a beautiful Banyan tree. We loved the tree as much as the falls.

Thank Susan Mann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you're anywhere near Hilo, take a few minutes and stop by Rainbow Falls. It is easy to find and easy to access. You can view it at ground level. You can go up a few steps for another view. And you can go up a more challenging set of steps for a view from the top that allows you see where the falls are being fed from. It's one of those quintessential vacation photo opportunities that doesn't take a bad picture and doesn't take a lot of time.

Thank gtrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was perfect for my family because my mom wanted to see waterfalls but is unsteady hiking. Very easy to get to and all paved! Beautiful falls and we were able to see a rainbow!

Thank carrieg1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Rainbow falls twice on our trip. It is super easy to drive to and you are not too far away from your car. Lots of photo opportunities available here and a full waterfall. My husband even liked it better than Akaka falls.

Thank horseloverManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews