We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Rainbow Falls

Rainbow Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Hilo Volcano Special Tour
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Volcanoes National Park Adventure Tour from Hilo
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Hawaii Grand Circle Island Tour
Ranked #4 of 81 things to do in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waterfalls located on the big island of Hawaii.
Plainfield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Beautiful Waterfall with walking areas not a great hiking distance to get to.Easy access for handicap.Beautiful trails.Easy to find right off Main Roads.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank debideb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    992
    994
    513
    66
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fun Stop on the Way to Saddle Road”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were on our way back to Kona after a long day exploring the southeast side of the island. After dinner in Hilo, we took a few minutes to check out Rainbow Falls before hitting Saddle Road. The park was easy to find and easy to get to. The falls were just a short walk from the parking lot. We missed the rainbows, since we visited in the evening, but it was still worth a look.
We ended up exploring the trails up and around the falls and eventually to the Wailuku River feeding the falls. The hike up to the river takes you through a beautiful rainforest with tropical flowers, vines hanging down all over the place, and some really spectacular trees.
Once at the river, it's possible to hop from rock to rock to the very top of the waterfall, although we weren't crazy enough to do that. I certainly wouldn't recommend it if the river was raging.
We ended up staying longer than we'd meant to, but it was a refreshing break before heading back to Kona.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Loopylews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrard, IL
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Waterfall in Town”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This waterfall is actually located in a residential area of Hilo. It's a pretty falls, and makes a great background for my picture, and you take a very short hike through very tall trees to get there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not sure we saw it at its best”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

It was a good stopping point driving between Kona and the volcano, but there were several tourist buses there and limited parking. The water looked brown and there was no rainbow. Disappointing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, WA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Waterfall in the city of Hilo.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Short walk out to the overlook to Rainbow falls. Feral chickens cats hanging out together. The falls were ripping after a hard rain the night before.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Falls also viewed

 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Rainbow Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing