We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay at Hilo Bay B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at this place on a late decision. Visiting the volcano park and staying at the other side of the island we didn't want to drive all the way back and decided late in the evening to call the B&B if they had availability. Daniel was very accommodating and gave us good directions over the phone. We found the property easy and we we're the only ones staying that night. An old house that has been renovated. The owners did a very good job on it. Matthew prepared us a delicious breakfast that we could take on the patio. Fresh fruits, fresh baked bread, eggs…a very good coffee… a very good start of the day. We would surely stay here again on our next stay in Hilo. Notice that Hilo is the second town on the Big Island but there is no big hotel chains. We we're very lucky to find availability here, book well ahead. All rooms in this place are nice to stay in. Its an old house so yes you will hear some noise walking on the wooden floors. And yes the cu-key frogs are very noisy and we thought we wouldn't get any sleep but we had a very good sleep. The frogs are all over on this part of the island so every place will have them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 166 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Wonderful house. Rooms are charming, as are the hosts. Hospitality reigns supreme, with a lot of thought and care as to what travelers might need and want. The breakfasts were superb, home cooked, and plenty to go around. Location ideal. Hosts are very willing to meet traveler needs like early breakfast and late check-out, if possible. We could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: We loved our James Michener room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiDen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed for a week at this B&B. For the first 6 nights we stayed in the James Michener room and the last night we stayed in the Bay room (I booked it this way because based on other's reviews, we thought we should stay in the Michener room as much as we could based on availability). We had a lovely time. Breakfast was good and Danny was very nice to hang out and talk with in the mornings. The Michener room has a nice bathroom with a large soaking tub and waterfall shower head, which we took full advantage of. The Bay room is nice as well - smaller bathroom but still a good room. You are in the downtown area of Hilo, so it was easy for us to park the car at the B&B and then walk into the town for dinner, etc. Overall, we really liked it here. The only downsides are that sometimes the street / neighbors can be noisy, but that really has nothing to do with the owners, and also, for all our nights, the noise basically quieted down when we were going to sleep anyway. There's the frogs, but I kind of liked their chirpy sound, and again, you will get that anywhere in Hilo really. Lastly, in the Bay and Michener rooms, if you are a light sleeper, you may wake up when they start making breakfast as you are near the kitchen. I'm a light sleeper and it woke me a few times, but it wasn't a big deal, and we were always getting up early anyway to eat breakfast and then start our daily adventure exploring the island. I would stay here again and I would definitely recommend to my friends and family.

Room Tip: The James Michener room was awesome - large and had a great tub/shower. The Bay room was also nice...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geologygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Let me begin by saying that we arrived here after spending time at two other fabulous bed and breakfasts on the other side of the island, so we have a strong basis of comparison.
We chose this Hilo bed and breakfast based on the reviews but were very disappointed. We only saw the owners for 5 minutes when we called on the phone to say we'd arrived and were disappointed. The house is on a busy street. It does quiet down a bit at night but we could hear trucks periodically struggling up the hill on and off all night. The windows are poorly covered with paper shades that did not block the light. All night we were treated to the light show of the traffic light at the nearby intersection: red, green, red, green ... The house is in one of the noisy frog districts (not the owners' fault) but what really kept us up was a loud electric humming noise. It turns out there was a refrigerator on the small porch outside our room and it was leaning against the wall.
Adding to the noise level, all of the rooms are right off a small sitting room / hallway, so despite the polite behavior of the very lovely guests, we all did hear one another.
The noise and light of our room were somewhat mitigated the second night when the employee (not the owners) helped us jerry-rig a blanket over the window and unplug the refrigerator. We never received a visit or even a phone call from the owners.
On a more positive note: We were able to use the washer and dryer as well as the kitchen.
Breakfast was okay. Nothing fabulous.
We enjoyed meeting the other guests.
Finally, we understand that our review is heavily shaped by our poor sleep experience.

Room Tip: The front room in which we slept has street noise and light. But the rooms further down the hall are...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 74Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMillerHilo, Owner at Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

We would like to thank our guest Susan for providing us with feedback on the specific things that we can do to make our place better for all of our visiting guests.

Please know that we take all of our reviews seriously and would like to use this information in a positive way to better our place and our services. Here at the Hilo Bay Hale, we realize that the golden rule of "treat others as you wish to be treated" may not always apply as we are all different types of travelers. We like to employ the platinum rule "find out how people want to be treated and then give them that with aloha".

This is the first time that we have heard from any of our guests of your specific issue of the streetlight located half a block away from us, and the mini-fridge located on the lanai of the room. It is the first time we have heard feedback that describes the window treatments as ineffective too. We want you to know that we will be taking steps to make some changes based on your feedback. New window treatments are in the works, and we will leave the mini fridge unplugged going forward, allowing guests to use the fridge simply by plugging it in when or if they wish to use it. We also plan on providing our guests earplugs to use as a way to more effectively deal with issues like noise from the coqui frogs or traffic which occurs naturally in
a urban location, like downtown Hilo.

We do hope that Carolina our employee did a good job in providing Susan with what her needs may have been, Carolina mentioned to us that she brought Susan some Keali'i Reichel CDs when Susan expressed her fondness for the artist. And Danny, the owner of the BNB met Susan at the BNB when they arrived and provided answers to all of her questions and helped them decide on the best places to eat and visit while in Hilo.

Many thanks again Susan for the feedback, we appreciate it and will make these changes based on the feedback you have given us.

Mahalo nui loa,
Matthew and Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Sweet and beautifully renovated. Great location for walking around. Beautiful breakfasts. My favorite was our early morning chats in the kitchen while Matthew or Danny made breakfast. We split the week with a few days here and a few days at their jungle farmhouse about 20-30 minutes further south. Perfect combination for our week on this side of the island!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jennydew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time in this excellent B & B recently. The strongest features were the excellent breakfast with fresh tropical fruit and freshly prepared hot dishes served on an outdoor deck, and our warm and welcoming host who made us feel very welcome. The place has a breezy, plantation-style feel that makes you instantly relaxed. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is what a B&B should be like: cosy rooms with lots of character (nicely renovated house with many beautiful details such as paintings, textiles and decorative, cute stuff), super friendly service and a breakfast to die for. The owners also own a farm in Puna, where they get most of their fruit, vegetables and eggs served at breakfast. We were served omelette, lots of fresh fruit, bread and croissants, bread pudding, bacon...
Matthew, our host, is very friendly, let us check in early even though our room wasn't even ready from previous guests (so we could leave stuff before going out snorkling) and offered us to use the laundry room.
Loved all the interior details and could move in there any day.
The B&B is close (5 min) to Hilo downtown with nice restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bay Room, which was very nice. Some noise frogs/birds outside, but we managed to fa...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin_B_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
1.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
555 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast

Address: 301 Ponahawai St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: $151 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hilo Bay views from this beautifully restored 1912 historic home in the heart of Hilo, close to all the wonderful markets, cafes and galleries that make Hilo so famous. Each room has a private lanai with views of magical koi ponds and/or Hilo Bay and are furnished with period antiques and unique island art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Bay Bed And Breakfast
Hilo Bay Hotel Hilo
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing