We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quaint, good location, great owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint, good location, great owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in the lava room-huge room down stairs wth awesome shower and your own sliding glass door to a little area outside to sit. Beautiful back yard. Frogs are loud-but we loved it-made us sleep awesome w/ them and the rain! In old town, close to resturants. Owners super nice. We had to leave early next day-so we didn't get a chance to eat the delish breakfast:( But he did give us some fruit and a muffin to go. Would stay here again-for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    20
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
98
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hilo Bay B&B during our honeymoon. This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and were coming from the Kona side of Big Island where we had spent 2 nights at a 4-star resort.

We chose the Hilo Bay B&B because of the glowing reviews, and after having stayed there, the other reviews are pretty spot on with their assessment. My wife and I stayed in the Lava Room, which is on the lower level. It was very spacious and clean. The bed was very soft and the chirping of frogs outside at night made for a very restless sleep. The shower in the bathroom was fantastic as I thoroughly enjoyed the large rain shower-head. However, the counter space in the bathroom is pretty non-existent and the sliding door leaves you very little privacy.

Also to note, as others have mentioned, the driveway can only fit 2 cars so we had to park our car along the street, which was a bit inconvenient but fairly safe.

The best part of our stay at the B&B were the breakfasts and conversing with Joe (inn keeper) and Matthew (owner) who are very knowledgeable about the area. The eggs and bacon, fresh fruit, coffee and juice were all delicious and a great way to start each day. One morning, Joe was nice enough to accomodate our early day (as we planned on heading the road to sight see) by starting breakfast earlier. He even let us borrow one of the Lonely Planet travel books to help guide us for the day.

Although the Hilo Bay B&B does not have the amenities a 4-star resort would have, overall, our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sum_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

On our honeymoon, this was the best B&B experience: lovely decorated, super-clean room (James Michener), delicious breakfast and especially helpful hosts.

We felt like home away from home and really enjoyed soaking up advice from Matthew who knows the island so well. After a few days stay on Kauai in a resort, we decided to make a road trip on the Big Island and this was our first stay. Hilo Bay Hale has a very good location in Hilo (walkable distance to historic "downtown" and the farmer´s market). We really appreciated the breakfast with Matthews stunning papaya-fruit salad (home-grown!). "Freshly-prepared" breakfast in the 5*-resort on Kauai wasn´t as fresh as at the Hilo Bay B&B.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nehema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just completed our second stay, and it was again a highlight. Hilo Bay Hale just has a great vibe---so welcoming and comfortable. We love everything here: super clean room, warm hardwoods, eating our lunch on the comfy lanai while tossing food to the koi, the kitschy Hawaiiana touches in the decor, artful attention to detail in things like the painted sink bowl and free-standing tub, the rainfall shower head, listening to the soft rain while falling asleep--it's all good. We've been coming to the Big Island for almost 15 years, and spend the balance of our time at the Four Seasons on the Kona side, and as nuts as this sounds, I really believe Hilo Bay Hale achieves a comparable level of warmth and comfort. I'm not talking about king beds and huge suites or trying to compare a B&B to a resort--I mean that at some level the finest properties in the world are eventually trying to create a feeling that this place captures perfectly.

I added a few pics--most of what I have is well-represented by other reviewers. A few other details worth mentioning: tasty serve-youself breakfast buffet with fresh papaya from Matt and Danny's farm! A quick walk down the hill to downtown Hilo. Helpful pre-visit info. A very reasonable price. And finally, it doesn't hurt that Matt is a fellow Kansas Jayhawk--Rock Chalk Aloha!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
401 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed a few nights in the Lava Room. It is a very nice private room on the bottom floor with the washer/dryer and hosts quarters. Upstairs there were two other rooms and the kitchen. We always get up early so though the kitchen is above this room, the activity didn't start until around 7 am which wasn't an issue for us. The Lava Room has an outdoor private patio that is a great place to unwind at the end of the day. At one point a large party of adults and children checked in and though there were almost a dozen guests in the house we still felt we had our privacy. The breakfasts are good and the hosts are very gracious, helpful and accomodating. They literally let you use anything you need and they are really laid back so you don't feel like an interloper. My only nitpick with the room would be the bathroom. It has a great shower but the cabinet space is really lacking rendering the room difficult to use for two. Also the way the shower is set-up requires a gap in the door at the bottom of about one foot so you essentially have a public bathroom experience. I wouldn't want to share this with anyone but my husband and even we would have prefered a real full door. Some areas of life should still remain private. But we definitely would stay again. Great place, really beautifully restored.

Room Tip: Lava room fans drown out frogs outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gustav2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent only one night at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast, but it was a great choice in terms of value for your money. The place is nice, clean, welcoming, next to the Downtown Hilo, and it has everything for a comfortable stay. We got pretty dirty and dusty after the hike to Green Sand Beach, and it was very nice that they had a washer, a dryer, and some detergent that we could use. Matthew was such a wonderful host. It was very easy to communicate with him. He always replied to our e-mails and returned our calls. He fixed us a delicious breakfast, and his breakfast was one of highlights of our trip. It was a perfectly balanced and nicely served. What could be better than to start your day with fresh tropical fruits and yogurt , tasty omelet, yummy bread and good Kona coffee?! If we go back to Big Island again, we would not hesitate to stay at Hilo Bay Hale many a time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAV311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Thanks Matthew and co for making my stay in Hilo so pleasant. The Hilo Bay B&B really felt like a home away from home. Better really as nobody cooks my breakfast at home. Matthew turns on the best breakfasts I had while visiting the States. Along with the usual fare there is an abundance of fresh fruit, freshly baked breads and cooked offerings. Delicious! I stayed in the James Michener room and loved having my own lanai overlooking the gardens and koi pond.
Feeding the fish was an extra joy. The retro decor was a delight and the bathroom was airy and spacious. The B&B is withing walking distance of Hilo's main centre, but you will need a car to explore further afield.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
21.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
Address: 301 Ponahawai St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hilo Bay views from this beautifully restored 1912 historic home in the heart of Hilo, close to all the wonderful markets, cafes and galleries that make Hilo so famous. Each room has a private lanai with views of magical koi ponds and/or Hilo Bay and are furnished with period antiques and unique island art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Bay Bed And Breakfast
Hilo Bay Hotel Hilo
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing