We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great atmosphere, wonderful friendly people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Hilo
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, wonderful friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Checked into a hotel room for 3 people after a not so pleasant experience at the Hilo Bay Hostel (all night traffic noise, grumpy staff and noisy/random guests). Wild Ginger Inn is a total gem! The owners are lovely genuine people and the place has so much character (especially the outdoor kitchen!). Fresh fruit and homemade banana bread for breakfast makes the stay feel like you've just spent the night at your nanna's house. You're walking distance to downtown Hilo, yet you look out towards the ocean and are surrounded by jungle. Among the best in Hilo!

Room Tip: Room 21 has the most space and the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jools505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Mahalo Nui for the wonder and helpful feed back. We remember your visit and liked the wonderful conversation. We will definitely take your words to heart and keep up the good work and work on our improvements. Aloha from The Wild Ginger Inn Hotel and Hostel in Hilo, Hawaii (The Big Island)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    42
    29
    14
    19
See reviews for
15
59
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Waking up to the ocean view, hearing the birds and coqui frogs, and having the "continental breakfast" that included fresh bananas, fresh papaya, and special recipes that tasted wonderful, in an open air dining area that was surrounded by the lush vegetation, I knew I wasn't in Minnesota anymore.
I took this special birthday trip alone, and gifted myself with the right place to stay. The location provided me with downtown Hilo on foot, friendly innkeepers to share stories with, and an affordable room with a kingsize bed to relax into at the end of the day. I took a picture of the way the towels were folded, and the flowers arranged, because I appreciate beauty.
Guests can rent a room for the night, the month, can choose the hostel, and can camp outside. The owners of Wild Ginger Inn are a treasure.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Mahalo Nui for kind word and for staying at the Wild Ginger Inn. We know the Wild Ginger Inn is not for everyone, but we are very happy you liked it. We offer that Old Hawaiian Style Feel close to downtown. Customers looking for a modern resort usually do not appreciate the place, but we do have a big follow of people looking for good hospitality, nature, convenience and the Hawaii of the old days. Aloha from the Wild Ginger Inn Hotel and Hostel in Hilo, Hawaii. Affordable lodging in Hilo, Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I entered this hostel with a little bit of hesitation because of the rough looks. This place breathes history! It was a busy weekend in Hilo and they didn t have any hotel rooms left so they put me into their brand new hostel called the lava pit downstairs by the little river and I loved it. It looks like you re in the middle of the jungle but still you re right in the middle of the biggest city on the hawaiian island and at night this magic comes alive !
The coqui frog start singing his song. it get s pretty loud but I love it and it hides the noise of the cars in the streets in the neighbourhoud. After a while the frog s chanting gets into a pleasant rhythm and the you dream away. these where my last days in Hawaii, in the best hostel I could imagine !!
thanks Alex (and your mom)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
The Lava Pit is our New Outdoor Hostel and it is still under construction. He hit in right on the spot. A piece of the Jungle in the middle of the city. Thank for the great review and staying at the Wild Ginger Inn Hotel and Hostel in Hilo, Hawaii. Your word will help us go in the right directions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is hard for me to review. The inn is located in an old plantation building that was once used to house workers. They bill themselves as a "travelers inn", which is a pretty good description.

The inn is located a short (walking) distance from downtown Hilo. They offer several different accomodations; hotel room, hostel room and tenting. We stayed in the hotel room.

The rooms are small, but brightly decorated (loved the red sheet and towels) The bathroom, however was very very outdated - it appeared sort of dirty, but was just old and rusty - the hot water is turned on 4-9 am and 4-9 pm. The shower head was newer and worked well. We enjoyed the cable TV , refrigerator and microwave.
(there is a ''Sack and Save" market within walking distance with decent take out)
The rooms are next to a rainforest area with lots of coqui frogs -I loved them and slept well. I'm not sure the frog can be avoided on that side of the island.

The real draw of the place is is the garden and nice tropical type eating area. The deck has a nice ocean view. In the morning you can have all the papaya you want (a huge draw for me!), fresh coffee, warm banana bread and usually one other homemade bread.

The other guests were friendly and varied ( a guy who had never been off his 42 sq, mile island in Micronesia, a rasta family, biker dude etc)

This place is not for everyone (I was first a little put off - especially by the bathroom), but if you want an inexpensive, well located place with a true island feel, this is a good choice. When owners Ben and Lee gave me a farewell hug, I was reluctant to leave.

We stayed 4 nights - it took me about 24 hrs to get the feel of the place.

They also have a communal kitchen which wa clean and well used.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 981VGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Mahalo Nui for the review and for spending the time to really get to know the feel of the place. Your feedback was important and helpful. We will continue to offer improvements, but still keep that "Old Hawaiian Style" feel. Hope to see you again in the future.

Wild Ginger inn offering affordable lodging for many different levels of comfort.
Wild Ginger Inn Hotel
Wild Ginger Inn Hostel
Wild Ginger Inn Camping
Wild Ginger Inn Lodging
Wild Ginger Inn Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a wonderful homey hotet located 5 minutes from downtown Hilo. It's a perfect retreat for folks on a budget looking for an authentic Hawaiian experience. The rooms are no frills but clean and perfect for a bit of privacy and has many places to sit and watch the water throughout the Inn. I loved falling asleep every nite to the very active kokie frogs. A traditional hawaiian breakfast is served every morning with fresh coffee. Stop by and visit Ben, Al, Uncle et al.... at the Wild Ginger Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilligoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Mahalo Nui for the review. We enjoyed having you here. Hope to see you again. Please tell friend. You really got the feel of The Big Island. Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel in Hilo, Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Seriously the name of the owner of this place is Al Love. How can you not like that. I really like this place. If you are more of a resort type of traveler this is not the place for you but if you are an off-the-beaten path type of person or "hostler" than this is a great place and a great value. Al the owner is adding a lot of cool new amenities as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Mahalo Nui for all the great words and enjoying what we have to offer. Hopefully on your next visit we will have something new to show you. :) Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel in Hilo, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Located within a five minute walk from down town Hilo. The Wild Ginger Inn is ideal for backpackers and for people on a budget. From hotel rooms to tenting The Wild Ginger Inn provides many different levels of comfort. I am a local and have worked at numerous hotels and condos along the Kohala Coast. The Wild Ginger Inn screams "old-Hawaiian style". If you are looking to relax and get away from the "hustle and bustle" and "all things modern", this is the place to be. The Wild Ginger Inn isn't for just for anybody. It's simple yet unique in it's own special way. It's quiet, private and serene. I'm a simple person and I often enjoy my stay in the tenting area with a near by BBQ lounge and picnic table. An open air kitchen provided with cookware just near by. The Wild Ginger in is Family owned and operated. Mountain bikes are available to rent and there is even a outdoor workout area. Internet stations are available but if traveling with a laptop it's never a problem to get online here. There are a few long term residents that live here. They are very friendly and accommodating. What I look forward to is the coffee and freshly baked banana bread. Come and visit The Wild Ginger Inn and don't forget to say who sent ya... Bry

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Mahalo Nui to this customer how likes what we have to offer. "That Old Hawaiian Style Feel". The Wild Ginger Inn Hotel in Hilo, Hawaii and Hostel in Hilo, Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
1.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
22.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilo Bay Hostel
Hilo Bay Hostel
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel

Property: Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel
Address: 100 Puueo St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2428
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Ginger Inn is centrally located in Hilo, which is on the east side of the Big Island. One of the most affordable accommodations in town with free Wi-Fi and Hawaiian Style Continental Breakfast. We offer many different levels of comfort including regular hotel rooms, indoor and outdoor hostels (private and dorm), and tenting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Ginger Hotel Hilo
Wild Ginger Inn b&b
Wild Ginger Inn Hilo
Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing