We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Refund for Tour”
Review of Arnott's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arnott's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“No Refund for Tour”
Reviewed October 25, 2005

We paid for a tour to the top of Mauna Kea. The van broke down 1/2 way there (serious transmission fluid leak). The next day we spoke to the owner, Doug Arnott. He was extremely rude, said it was not his fault that the van wasn't properly maintained (GM's fault), but that he would give us a 50% refund. This has never been granted. Obviously we should've driven back to get a physical credit slip but he had assured us that since he had our credit card # it would be taken care of immediately. It was not.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    182
    45
    15
    34
See reviews for
90
188
121
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2005

I'm rarely compelled to write any reviews, but I feel obligated to warn potential visitors to avoid Arnott's Lodge in Hilo, Hawaii. Management was rude and even threatening when approached with some concerns, even though my bill was paid upon check-in and I left my room in good order. Hostel rooms feel like cell blocks with insufficient bathroom facilities. Deluxe rooms are hardly that. I did not get A/C in my room although I was told I would have it when I made my reservation. There are lengthy signs posted around the property describing Arnott's bad experiences with some guests. It has the feel of a compound and abundant megalomania. Every other destination on my trip around Hawaii was filled with lovely people. Avoid this place. I would suggest paying the extra $20-$30 to stay elsewhere in Hilo, which would likely also get you closer to the city center.

Helpful?
17 Thank nodeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2005

We stayed for 3 nights at the Arnott's lodge a deluxe room. The room was very clean and the kitchen was well maintained. For the cost, this is an excellent option of a low budget clean place to stay. The facility is basically set up for back-packers but you are separated from the main dormatory. Their is access to a general area and TV room but this is typically dominated by back-packers. What really makes this place shine is the great tours that they run for very low cost. We definately would recommend taking the Mau Kea summit tour.

Helpful?
2 Thank DMcDonell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2005

We enjoyed our stay at Arnott's in Hilo. We stayed for several nights in one of the "deluxe" private rooms with private bath (ours was room 1). The private room was pretty quiet and very clean. Finding decent places to stay in Hawaii for this kind of price is not easy and I would definitely stay here again. In fact, our room here was much nicer than most of the other places we stayed which cost a lot more. The hostel area seemed pretty good as well. Compared to hostels we have used in Europe I'd say it is above average.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank splicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 6, 2005

Arnott's Lodge near Richardson's Beach in Hilo is less than two miles from the airport in a residential area. This is not a full-service hotel but rather a small motel with dormitory rooms segregated for males and females, two room suites with shared bathroom and kitchen and so-called deluxe rooms with private bathrooms. Also, there is a small area for tents with shared outhouses and showers and an outdoor communal dining area, plus a communal lounge with a large-screen television. The room rates are excellent with dorm bunks just $12/night and shared bathroom rooms just $39/night including taxes. Moreover, lodgers receive significant savings on Arnott's guided tours to island sights including the telescopes at the summit of Mauna Kea (13,700 feet). Arnott is one of the major tour operators on the island. If you can live without room service, daily maid service and a restaurant then this is a great place especially considering the rates and the discounts for tours. Lodging is restricted to seven nights to prevent people taking advantage of the bargain rates and residing. Nearby Richardson Beach is a real treasure if you want to snorkel with sea turtles.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2005

It was pure luck that I found a very low airfare to the Big Island and then stumbled upon Arnott's Lodge. They have a web site to make reservations if you think you would like a true adventure that is very educational as well. Dormitory and private rooms were very reasonably priced between $19.00 and $65.00. I had no need for a rental car as the lodge provided free transportation to and from the airport. A free taxi service to and from Hilo town made scheduled trips in the a.m. and p.m. hours for grocery and other shopping, dining, as well as events and movies. It was only a short (estimated two city blocks) walk to the beach through a "jungle" path (fun not scary). A well-equiped and clean community kitchen and laundry facility were available to all guests. Doug Arnott has created a marvelous site for travelers and adventurers from all over the world. He offers multiple other in-depth adventures beside trips to the lava flow from Kilauea volcano. These include a 12-passenger van tour up to Mauna Kea (extinct volcano at 14,000 ft), site of the Keck Observatory. He offers access to a variety of activities on the Big Island, e.g., hiking, biking down Mauna Loa, helicopter and plane rides and water adventures. I loved the volcano and lava flow adventure, especially the night-time tour to see the red hot lava streaming from the vent down into the ocean. This was one of my best adventures and it was really affordable for me. Almost forgot, you can rent a bike there for $2. all day and there is a tent area for you hardy young campers. I urge anyone to take a trip to the web site, an adventure in itself.

Helpful?
8 Thank bjbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2005

My wife had booked a trip with Arnott's Lodge in July to go see the Lava on the Big Island. We cancelled three days before the trip, which was well before their 48 Hour notice. Low and behold we were charged for the trip and to this day, after four attempts to make contact with the owners they still refuse to answer our telephone calls to rectify the problem and we are out our money. I will never recommend this organization to anyone at all. Check your billing if you book a trip and then cancel well within the time frame.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank MikePortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
62.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
62.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnott's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Property: Arnott's Lodge
Address: 98 Apapane Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for campers. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea, Volcanoes National Park and Valleys and Waterfalls Tours. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing