We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arnott's Lodge”
Review of Arnott's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arnott's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Arnott's Lodge”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Arnott's is a great place to stay if you enjoy a good nights sleep and are keen to get up early and see all The Big Island has to offer. A mixture of clients (Campers, singles in dorms and families) so there is always someone interesting to chat to. Staff are very helpful. Clean, good value accommodation.

Room Tip: The deluxe units are fabulous. Room 4 and 2 are a little bigger than 5 & 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Aloha Linda!! Mahalo for your awesome review!!

We offer different types of accommodation to our travelers from $11 per night tenting, to dorms from $28-$55, semi-privates at $65, deluxe units at $75 a night and suites from $99-$180 a night. Our deluxe units that you stayed at are our most popular rooms that guests request.

That's so nice to hear that you were able to meet other travelers and share your adventures. Arnott's Lodge is a place to meet others from all over the world. We look forward to seeing you soon. Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    188
    45
    15
    34
See reviews for
92
193
126
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BWI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Decades ago I traveled throughout Africa, staying at places other travelers recommended. These places were usually great, but would never have been popular with tourists expecting a 5-star Ritzy hotel experience. When we arrived at Arnott's Lodge, I was transported back in time and around the world. "This is a place that travelers stay." If you need the amenities of a fancy hotel, find a fancy hotel. If you want a clean and secure place to hang your hat as you travel about, friendly staff, the chance to cross paths with other travelers in the communal areas, all for a more-than-reasonable price, Arnott's Lodge is your place. And if you're a little adventurous, explore some of the coast nearby, accessible down public access paths. Gorgeous and empty. We will certainly be sending friends and family -- those who are travelers, not tourists -- to Arnott's Lodge, especially the younger folks who don't have money to burn and need an affordable option near Hilo. And if you like good photography, check out the pictures by Glory on many of the walls. Bravo!

Room Tip: Look at the room options and choose the option best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catsongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Aloha to our travelers!! Mahalo for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear that you appreciate Arnott's Lodge. It's guests like you that get what we have to offer to travelers all over the world. We are a unique place where you're able to meet others and share travel stories. We've also had travelers that met at the lodge and ended up getting married!! Seriously. Of course, we can't guarantee love at the lodge but we can hope that you will grow to love the east side of the Big Island.

And yes, there are other resorts here on the island that can offer you the 5 star facilities but we try to offer our guests the 5 star Aloha service. Arnott's Lodge is within walking distance to couple beach accesses. There's an awesome place that I swim that is 5 minutes away by bike and if you're lucky you'll spot turtles!!

I'm glad you enjoyed my photography. I'm slowly adding more photos in all the units. The Big Island has a lot of beautiful places to photograph!!

Thanks for referring us to your friends and family. Our best referrals are "word of mouth". We hope to see you again soon. Aloha and Mahalo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I enjoyed the quiet and laidback environment.Friendly helpful staff and clean facilities.
The tours were excellent particularly the Mauna Kea and starshow tour.Knowledgeable tour guides made the tours really enjoyable on all levels.
The only thing I found a bit uncomfortable was the musty carpets.Maybe they could be replaced with tiles or something less smelly.
Other than that everything else was great and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are all excellent except for room 3 which is the twin bed room which faces the road.The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarasurfnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Brisbane, we appreciate your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Arnott's Lodge. We do our best in trying to make everyone's stay memorable and unforgettable. Customer service and cleanliness is high on our priority list for our lodge so I'm glad we met your standards.

We also pride ourselves with our experienced tour guides that are passionate about showing you the main features of the Big Island. We are glad you enjoyed our tours.

We just renovated majority of our kitchenettes and bathroom in our semi privates and suites. One of our suites has tile floors in them so slowly we are making changes bit by bit. We've also just updated the furniture in our deluxe living room.

We are glad to hear that you would stay with us again and we hope to see you in the near future. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice place to stay for a clean, comfortable room. Staying in Kona and making a couple trips to the Hilo side and decided to stay overnight rather than drive over twice. Saved us 4-5 hours of driving and was about the same price as the gas would have been. I'd be happy to stay here again, even for multiple nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Aloha to our guest from Alberta! Mahalo for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We take pride in being able to provide comfortable accommodations for budget and international travelers that are kept clean and well-maintained. We also provide many amenities to make your stay more comfortable: free parking, free wifi, cable tv in a comfortable lounge area, coin-operated laundry, access to well-appointed kitchens, beautiful grounds, and easy access to beaches nearby.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we would love to have you stay again with us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I enjoy my stay in Arnott`s Lounge mainly because the volcano and Mauna Kea tours they provide. You would get tour discounts if you stay there for at least two nights. The prices would be relatively cheap. Most importantly, the tour guides who are local students, are very friendly, experienced, and knowledgeable. I especially recommend their Mauna Kea tour, which is one of the few tours that start from Hilo in May, to my knowledge. In addition, the staff is friendly and helpful, too. Overall, I am glad that I chose Arnott`s Lounge and its tours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Missouri! Mahalo for your review! We were glad you chose to stay with us here at Arnott’s Lodge, and take our tours. Our Volcanoes National Park tour is an excellent way to view one of nature’s most fascinating sights: an active volcano! Our Mauna Kea tour is second to none, and very well-regarded by our guests. We also provide a great Valleys & Waterfalls tour that takes in the beautiful scenery in the region, as well as several awesome custom tour options. We are very proud of all of our great guides!

We would love to have you come back and stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancater U.K
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed at this place for 1 night and also did Mauna Kea and waterfalls tour. Tours are very good but a bit on the pricey side, our guide David was good at his job and had great knowledge of Hilo. Arnott's lodge is a very nice place, situated in a quite part of town, the only downside is you can only get to it by taxi and it's $18 each way.

The room was very clean and nice, even better than some top hotels I've stayed in. It cost me $65 for a single and I felt it was good value. Although when I wanted some sleep, the gardener was very loud and had a hoover type piece of equipment to blow away leaves. I did not really see the point of what he was doing. They hire out bikes here if you want to have a ride into Hilo which is a few miles away. Hilo is a quiet place away from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu.

Arnott's lodge have good facilities to, there is a lounge area which is nice with a big screen and cable t.v. Also they have good facilities for cooking and storing your own food. They do a variety of tour including Mauna Kea which is amazing and volcanoes. The big island is for me the best place to visit if you want to see Hawaii and Arnott's lodge is in a great location. If you are a backpacker on a budget, maybe the tours will be to much. Overall I would come back here if I were visiting again.

Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeeLancaterU_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Aloha to our guests from the U.K.! Mahalo for taking the time to give us a review! We were very happy to have you stay with us and take our well-known Mauna Kea Sunset and Stargazing tour. Our Mauna Kea tour is one of the best deals on the island: our guides are always friendly and very knowledgeable, and the vast majority of people who take the tour love it! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it as well. If you stay in our lodge for two nights or more, you get a great discount on our tours as well. Thank you as well for pointing out the cleanliness of our rooms, and our great facilities! We enjoy being able to provide excellent, clean accommodations for our guests.

Our Lodge is situated in the Keaukaha area of Hilo, which can definitely be a bit of a hike to get to by foot from downtown, although it is walkable! A taxi ride to and from downtown is certainly one option, but you can also rent a car, take the public bus (only $1.00!) or rent one of our low-cost bicycles while you enjoy Hilo town. We believe it’s a worthwhile tradeoff to be able to be situated in such a peaceful part of Hilo!

We are glad we were able to host you for the night, and hope we get a chance to do so again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I must say, after reading all of the responses to customer reviews by the management (and Arnott's responds to EVERY review here), I am even more disappointed by this establishment. We stayed here twice in May 2013. The staff were a bit arrogant (just like the review responses are) and one of them actually told me we would get air conditioning on our second night and we did not get a room with it.

The rooms are expensive for the Big Island. You are paying 75 dollars for two people to share an apartment-type room without air conditioning. Very noisy overall as well. The bed was a board with the thinnest mattress you can imagine. I had to put the duvet under the mattress to make sure my hips weren't hitting wood underneath. We found better accommodations for less in Waikiki actually and I should have shopped around in Hilo. And I know that the management are going to write a response to this and say that they're cheap and great and blah, blah, blah. But if they only have a 3.5 out of 5 rating with over 150 people rating them, then they're not as great as they think they are.

Furthermore, the special rooms with air conditioning (that cost almost 90 dollars) are cheap window air conditioners that are very loud and difficult to sleep with. The kitchens in the center of these places reek.

10 a.m. is definitely too early for check out, like others have said, and overall this place is not that great. Again, for a hostel, it should be half the cost. My god, I've stayed in hostels in Australia, mainland Europe, and the UK, and this is by far the most expensive place.

Room Tip: Dogs barking on all sides...guess you can get an airconditioner room and crank it because you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank evanbonobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
"Aloha from Arnott’s Lodge! We are certainly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel, and we wish that you had taken the time to make your complaints known to someone here so that we could have had the opportunity to fix any problems you may have encountered. We value our staff greatly and they are trained to be friendly and well-equipped to deal with most issues that could potentially arise amongst our guests.

We appreciate the fact that you took the time to read all of our responses on our guests reviews, that shows you did your homework and valued the comments, compliments and criticism of our guests. Therefore you made a choice to lodge with us, not once but twice! There were other accommodations that you could've chosen in Hilo but you chose Arnott's Lodge. Arnott's Lodge may not meet the needs of every guest but it caters to those who are looking for a reasonable place to stay without putting a hole in your pocket.

In addition, you've chosen one of our more higher end rooms instead of our $28-$45 a night dorm rooms or our $65 semi-private rooms. The $75 and $99 a night are our higher priced rooms.

We are also glad to hear that our guests are utilizing the kitchens that we offer in the units. Our guests appreciate that they are able to cook food from the Hilo's Famer's Market and have a cooked meal without having to go and eat out all the time.

Again, our friends from Minnesota you had a choice and for some reason you came back to stay with us the second time at Arnott's Lodge. We wish you could have enjoyed your stay at Arnott’s Lodge. Mahalo for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
404 reviews
62.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
62.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnott's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Property: Arnott's Lodge
Address: 98 Apapane Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arnott's Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for campers. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea, Volcanoes National Park and Valleys and Waterfalls Tours. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing