We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arnott's Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Arnott's Lodge to your Saves list
Arnott's Lodge
98 Apapane Rd., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DISCOUNTED MAUNA KEA TOUR
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Arnotts lodge from the 1-7 February 2013,a family of 7aged from 18 to 73. We had a 3 bedroom suite, rooms were clean, beds comfortable, kitchen well stocked. The staff were friendly and helpful. Mahalo. The location is great, close to the airport, Hilo centre and of course for the ladies the shops.This is also a great location to explore the big island. We highly recommend Pineapple restaurant in Hilo, Kens house of pancakes was a favourite and the seaside restaurant
Things to do:The money we saved on accommodation we spent on a Arnotts tour to Mauna Kea summit,and starlight show ( the high light of the tour, seeing the space station pass over head.A tour of the the volcano Kilauea was excellent.For the more adventurous a trip down to South point
for cliff jumping that got the young ones pumping. Then theres zip lining at AKaka falls to get the adrenaline flowing. However there is one activity highly recommended that is swimming with the manta rays at Kona. Unbelievable.(We recommend Coral Sea Adventures).If you still have time and money left try a helicopter tour of the volcanoes.We had the best time on the big island and would stay at Arnotts lodge again. One proviso this is a budget establishment ,there is no bells and whistles

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Australia! Thank you for the great review! We strive to always produce the best in customer service and facilities for our guests. Arnott’s Lodge is in a wonderful location and is convenient for many things: we are close to the ocean and several great beach parks, the airport is a short 10-minute drive away, and downtown Hilo with its many great offerings is within easy driving distance as well. While it’s true that we are a great budget choice, we always run a clean, friendly establishment that is ideal for the fun, adventurous traveler and we have been fortunate to host guests from all over the world!

Our tours are always amazing and run by knowledgeable, friendly tour guides. Our Mauna Kea tour is second to none! We are glad you had such a great trip and that we could be a part of it, and we hope you get a chance to visit Arnott’s Lodge again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    150
    41
    14
    34
See reviews for
70
150
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This place rocks! During our camping trip in Hawaii this place was a god send! Warm showers, laundry, and clean facilities. We did not rent a room, only a camping spot. We stopped here twice in 7 days. Walk down to the end of the road and you will find a hidden little gym of a beach. Hospitality is great here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for the awesome review!! We are glad to hear that you camp at Arnott's twice. We have an array of accommodations from tenting, dormitories, semi-private, suites, deluxe and deluxe suites. And we continue to upgrade our units constantly. Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures have been in business fro 22 years and we strive to always upgrade and improve our facilities. We've just added a new Ipad kiosk for quick email and web searches for our guests.

We are glad that you were able to relax and enjoy the beauty of our location. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights in March, and while the season may have been responsible for the slight lack of atmosphere, our stay was perfectly nice.

We got a good deal in the end because no other guests stayed in our apartment, which had two double rooms, so we had the kitchen and living area to ourselves. The living space was clean and had everything we needed to cater for ourselves.

The lodge is quiet and peaceful, near the beach, with bicycle hire if you fancy a day of exploring the local area. We had rented a car and there was a space for us every time.

The staff were polite and able to answer every enquiry, and well-informed about tours and the area.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Aloha Charsley!! Thanks for taking the time to write a review for Arnott's Lodge.

You were fortunate to have the unit to yourself as when it's busy you would have met other travelers. We are glad that you had a restful time and that you got to experience the pace of Hilo. Our location is prime with walking distance and bike rides to whales, turtles and monk seals (if you're lucky).

Thanks for recommending Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures to others. We hope to see you again your next trip to the Big Island of Hawaii. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just as warm and friendly as the first time I visited, 17 years ago! Staff are great, the kitchen was clean and stocked as expected for hostel-type accommodations. I'm glad that Doug's operations have expanded to include more tours with more vans, which remain great value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevintripadvisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Oakland!! Thanks for the wonderful review!! We were privileged to have you come back after 17 years!!!! Doug and his team continues to expand and see how we can better serve our guests and those that are wanting to have an adventure. Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures also does custom tours in addition to our regular tours that we provide. We understand that travelers are here for a short amount of time therefore we will do our best to accommodate their travel needs.

Hopefully we'll see you sooner than 17 years!! Aloha and Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

after spending 3 days in hectic Honolulu, this was such an amazing break, relax, beach 1 block away, a few beers in a nice place. Very nice. The bathroom was far better than usual hostels. And the reception girls were really kind and most helpful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha Oliver!! Thanks for an awesome review. I'm glad you were able to relax and chill at Arnott's Lodge. Big Island pace is a lot slower then Oahu and that's why we love it!! We can't complain with our location and the numerous outlets to different beaches. You can't find a place like Hilo elsewhere nor can you find a place like Arnott's Lodge. We've made some upgrades in our dormitories and continue to make some changes. Thanks for the compliments on our front desk staff. They're doing a great job and they're a great team that I'm so proud of.

We hope to see you again soon Oliver. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a nice stay here. We needed a room on hilo side for one night to see volcano at night. Staff was very friendly and room was economical and clean. This is a "no frills" establishment, but was comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Delaware!! Thanks for taking the time in reviewing Arnott's Lodge.

Yes, we are a "no frills" establishment but conscientious of the needs of our guests. We are aware that connecting with friends and family and organizing travel plans are important therefore we provide FREE WIFI, fresh bananas when available and air condition and kitchenettes in our units. In addition, we provide tours for our guests at guests rate!!! What other hotel offers that??

We look forward to seeing you again soon. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I spent 9 nights in the Deluxe suite ($75 plus tax). I don't understand the negative comments re. staff as we found everyone to be meticulous and helpful. Our room was clean and the grounds adequately kept ... as a home base it suited our needs beautifully. All the sites of interest to us - Mauna Kea (discounted tour if you spend a couple of days here), lava flowing into the ocean (amazing sight), lovely coastal driving on a full moon night, were close at hand. Multiple thanks to staff - I spoke to Lena and a big thanks to the cleaners - for finding my apartment keys!

Although Hilo is apparently the rainiest city in the US at 132 inches we saw very little in Feb/March. The town is old style (slower) Hawaii as opposed to Kona on the drier (30 inches or so) western side (an approx. 2 hour drive over Saddle Road). The farmers market was great on Wed and Sat with the occasional vendor during other days. Moonstruck Patisseries (open Sun - Wed) was brilliant for a European breakfast - croissants, cakes (no bread) bar none! I lived 10 years in Europe and my wife is Hungarian - this place is the real deal!

The really astonishing impression I got of the big island of Hawaii was the dearth of overt policing unlike in so much of the mainland US where the heavy hand of "security" can be uncomfortable. Oh and now I know where all the aging hippies went ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Vancouver!! Thanks for your positive review and choosing us during your stay in Hilo. Our staff strive to make your stay special and assist in sharing with our guests sights to see on the island.

Thanks for sharing your experience with the Moonstruck Patisseries. I've heard good things about them but haven't tried it. I'll check it out this weekend.

We hope to see you soon at Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures!! Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
62.6 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
62.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnott's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Property: Arnott's Lodge
Address: 98 Apapane Rd., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for campers. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea, Volcanoes National Park and Valleys and Waterfalls Tours. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing