We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, delivered as promised, great location!”
Review of Arnott's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arnott's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, delivered as promised, great location!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was a great, clean hotel. We had an excellent stay here. We stayed for one night during our visit to Hilo and Mauna Kea. The hotel and room were clean, very comfortable, and economical. The hotel is located near the ocean, and we walked to to a nearby beach park. It was great to walk around and see the turtles in the beach park.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

This hotel is somewhat far away from the downtown area, but it didn't bother us much. We loved the rural surroundings and the ocean beaches (though rocky, not much of sand) nearby.

Overall, it was a great hotel, great stay and very friendly staff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdhesikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Aloha to our friend from San Jose, CA!! Thank you for the positive review. We are glad that you had an excellent stay at Arnott's Lodge. One must see the turtles in Keaukaha and swim in this area. Carlsmith Beach is one that has a sandy bottom, awesome for swimming. Although the path to the swimming spot is lava. This is one of my favorite spots to have a dip on a hot sunny day.

Arnott's Lodge is about a 5-7 minute drive to downtown by car. But we also have our hourly public buses that run everyday except Sundays and holidays from 7:00 am-4:00-5:00 pm for just a $1.00!! You can also rent our bikes that range from $7-$20 a day (guest rate). Non guests bike rentals are from $14-$40 a day. Our staff strive to make your stay comfortable and pleasant.

I'm proud of the staff that we have which consists of housekeepers, front desk staff, maintenance, mechanic and tour drivers. They continue to do an awesome job!! And I'm glad that they are representing Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures. We hope to see you again soon. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    187
    45
    15
    34
See reviews for
91
191
124
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were only here one night...but would come back! Friendly folks, clean, had good kitchen facilities. It also included internet access, and laundry facilities, which came in very handy. It's a great jumping off point for lots of activities in the Hilo and Puna area. It's also close to old Hilo where there are good restaurants, shops and the farmer's market. They had a nice selection of bikes to rent for the day - very reasonable rates. I think the check-out time should be 11 a.m. rather than 10 a.m.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliesnoop2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Aloha to our friends from Bellingham, WA. Mahalo for taking the time to review Arnott's Lodge. Since we are a small hotel, we only have one housekeeper that works during the day. We do have a late check out fee of $10 for each hour after 10 am until 12:00 pm. So late check out is available with the extra charge. We've had guests who have flights in the afternoon, who would check out and make use of the guest patio, tv room, wifi, rent bikes while they kill time until their scheduled flight. We also have baggage storage to make this easy for departing guests.

We are happy to hear that you would come back!! Awesome!! We look forward to seeing you again soon!! Aloha and Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I found this place to be friendly, reasonable in cost (I tented) and great value.
I stayed for four days and relaxed every night. A TV, book for tips for others, laundry, kitchen and internet. Charge up your phone or computer and all is good.
I was most impressed by how clean it was!

Room Tip: Can't say what the sleep quality was because I tented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write a positive review for Arnott's Lodge. We are glad that you had a relaxing time at the lodge. The area and ambiance does have a relaxing vibe to it. This is a great place to start off your camping trip: recharge your electronics, surf the web, plan your route on the island with the comfort of all the amenities that we have to offer. Cleanliness is very important here at Arnott's Lodge and I'm glad you were impressed by it!! We hope to see you soon. Aloha and Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at Arnott's for 4 nights and it was just what we were looking for. The entire place was clean - i didn't get a homesick feeling (the true litmus test!) We had a 2-bedroom apartment, but since we only needed 1 bedroom, and since the other bedroom was not rented, we had the entire place to ourselves. The kitchen was suitably equipped with the basics, complete with quality dishes, etc. and large enough to hold a table & chairs. The bathroom was a good size. There was a nice seating area. And there was a balcony, with table & chairs. We felt at home and relaxed here. There was laundry we could use, and could help ourselves to the bananas growing on the premises. The service was very friendly, and the place is fairly centrally located. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hilvanwalraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review Arnott's Lodge. We are glad you didn't feel homesick and that our accommodation made you feel at home especially all the way from Canada!! Guests are sometimes fortunate enough to have a suite to themselves but can also make sure that no one is booked in the other room for $99 a night (1BR Suite category). Suites 6, 7 and 8 balconies has a beautiful view of a pond along with tropical fauna. We hope to see you again soon in the future!! Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlock, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is excellent value for the money spent. At first we stayed 2 nights in a "deluxe room", and than we booked another 2 nights in a "semi private room" (shared bath) at the end of our stay on the big island. This was private too since there was nobody else booked to share with. The rooms were clean. We also took a Mauna Kea and a Volcano tour with Arnotts guides, at a discounted rate since we stayed in the Lodge. Those tours were definite highlights of our stay on the Big Island. The guides were very knowledgeable about the tours and the islands and the people in general, couldn't be better! Very friendly people and guides!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Aloha Erich!! Mahalo for taking the time to review our tours and our lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our adventures. You can't leave the Big Island without seeing Mauna Kea and Volcano National Park!! You also had a good comparison of our deluxe units and our semi private units which you can tell others about. We hope to see you again soon and mahalo for choosing Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and used it as a base to sleep in whilst exploring Hilo. We booked a deluxe room and had to share a queen bed as the futon didn't look comfortable but bed was comfy and had a good nights sleep. Although there were other cars parked outside we didn't hear any other guests.

The in room wifi signal was sting and a descent speed, the kitchen has a good range of crockery, a hob, microwave, kettle, toaster etc, the room had lots of plug sockets (24) and a fridge. The shower was hot.

We took a tour of Mauna kea with these guys and the guide was super friendly and knowledgeable and seemed genuinely sorry for us when it was too cloudy for us to see the stars.

It's a bit hard to find as its not well sign posted from the main road but we stopped in at the ice ream place along the the way who gave us directions and we got ice-cream - bonus!!

Room Tip: Deluxe room has air on and strong wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Korinamcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Aloha to our friends from the UK!! Thanks for your positive review of our deluxe units. As you may have noticed we are extensively refurbishing all the units starting with a major effort on deluxe 1. We are sorry you did not convey your need for a second bed to our staff as we have recently inaugurated a new deluxe category by way of giving an entire 1 BR suite which has the option of 1 double bed or 2 single beds. You also get the kitchen, bathroom and living room for exclusive use. However, we are pleased that you enjoyed our lodge and our excellent Mauna Kea adventure. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the future. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in one of Arnott's "deluxe" rooms for 2 nights and certainly felt that we got our money's worth. At first we were disappointed but, as time passed, we came to feel much better about our accommodations. We especially enjoyed the little table and chairs situated in a lovely lawn area. Also, we put the fridge to good use for leftovers, milk and drinks and found plates, bowls, etc in the communal kitchen. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review our lodge. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the beginning as my staff and I would've liked to hear you express your needs so that we could help fulfill them. As you may have noticed Deluxe 1 is undergoing a major renovation and we are gradually moving through all of these highly demanded rooms upgrading everything. The lawn outside of the deluxe units has a tropical feel surrounded by coconut trees and Hibiscus hedges.

However as the saying goes "All is well that ends well". So we are very pleased that you would choose Arnott's Lodge again in the future. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
399 reviews
62.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
62.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnott's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Property: Arnott's Lodge
Address: 98 Apapane Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arnott's Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for campers. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea, Volcanoes National Park and Valleys and Waterfalls Tours. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing