We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nostagic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nostagic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed at Seaside hotel during trip to Hawaii and needed just one nights accommodation in Hilo. Hotels in the area were generally quite pricey so decided to give it a go!
Staff exceedingly friendly and although the hotel looks dated it was impeccably clean and served great breakfast.
Location was perfect with an excellent restaurant "Ponds" just 50 yards away for evening meal.

Although located right next to the airport there was no aircraft noise and we had a good nights sleep.
I would have no reservations in recommending it especially for those wanting local great local service

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baz1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    405
    282
    76
    48
See reviews for
212
431
91
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Good quality for the price. Very friendly staff, hawaiien owned. Everything is very clean and the garden is beautifull. Parking place! Great choice of breakfast and huge amount! One is enough for two.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA & HI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

From the moment we walked in we were impressed. Lobby area was clean & inviting, The staff was very friendly and informative. Our room was near the pool with tables and chairs to sit in out of the sun. Ample chairs in the sun also. Our room was comfortable and near us was a guest laundry room which was very clean. The surroundings and flowers were very well maintained. I saw an employee walk by and stopped to shine up the wood near the common area by the pool. We ate at the Coconut Grill for breakfast and enjoyed. While staying here we saw a cruise ship depart. So close we got incredible pictures. We had good parking and you could walk to local parks etc. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunandpalmtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We booked as walk ins and were quickly accommodated by the very lovely Judy.
Room was a garden room with two beds, flat screen tv with cable, air con plus a ceiling fan, fridge, hair dryer, coffee maker, bathroom.
All was clean and well stocked.
There is free wifi which did not drop out at all.
Hotel has it's own restaurant , we did not eat there but it was very well attended by customers whenever we walked past, prices were a little too high for us.
Hotel has a nice pool and sunbathing area plus plenty of free parking.
Kens pancake house is just across the junction, about a five min walk,
Well worth eating there.
Ocean can be seen from front of hotel so just steps away for a nice walk.
We had a very good stay and would def stay again if in the area

PLEASE HIT THE LIKE BUTTON IF THIS WAS OF USE TO YOU, THANKS

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank rosielamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

o.k. hotel if you are on a budget in nice, scenic area of Hilo on a lagoon. You could tell this hotel was a beauty when it was first built though it is a little worn looking now. Very nicely laid out with a beautiful pool area. Our room was very basic but o.k. for 1 night. Nice restaurant at hotel and another on the water across the street. Friendly staff and only 2 minute drive to old town Hilo.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Witch666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Outdated Hotel in great location if getting in late from airport- excellent breakfast at restaurant. The rooms were very clean , a little up and down so getting bags to room a little difficult. People were very friendly. Grounds a very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cedterps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noosa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at the Hilo Seaside and found it to be very clean, the room was spacious and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. I can recommend the hotel, it is older but very well cared for. Also it is near the airport, but it isn't a busy airport and we were not disturbed by an planes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachjnoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
61.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
61.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Property: Hilo Seaside Hotel
Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing