We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hawaiian experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Hawaiian experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this super clean and friendly hotel. The place has an authentic feel of old Hawaii in every way. Setting is beautiful and convenience to town is great. The staff took the time to help with driving directions. I look forward to a future stay at this "one of a kind" establishment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernLights60826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    404
    278
    76
    48
See reviews for
210
427
90
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We really enjoyed the zany 50s quality of the hotel, with koi splashing in the pond outside our patio doors. Coupled with a superb location and the lovely banyan tree drive right outside for a walk, this hotel is well worth the stay. The staff are very nice and the café attached made breakfast very convenient.

Room Tip: we enjoyed being on the koi pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hilo Seaside Hotel is close to the airport for early morning or late arrival flights. Our room on the second floor was clean, comfortable, two double beds, free wifi. The hotel is 'old-Hawaiian' style - open air walk-ways to the rooms, pond with fish outside front of hotel, outside patio seatings with lots of plants, pool, friendly staff. Two chairs outside our room on the walkway provided great views of the mountains, and a very wild and wet thunderstorm. Staff was helpful and friendly. The cost of the room was very reasonable for Hawaii. The hotel restuarant served a great breakfast. Hotel is near another restuarant also.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor of the building at the very back of the property have nice views over the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celticmorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel before we caught a plane to the mainland. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The lobby, the pond outside the entrance, and the interior garden are very pleasant. Our room was adequate in all respects, but small. There was a rainstorm that night, which made an incredible amount of noise on the roof and outside walkway. The price was high for this size/type of room, but probably typical for this area. All-in-all, we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked a last minute (booking Friday for a Saturday stay) and I believe it's Judy (I wasn't able to write her name down) was SOOOOO sweet and helpful when she made our reservations. I had a great feeling from that point on! We checked in on Saturday afternoon after my son's baseball game and had such a nice check in. As we walked through the grounds to our room, I was struck on how pretty things were. Yes, it is DEFINITELY not a brand new modern hotel, but it was very homey feeling and the staff from maids to front office were friendly and helpful. We got to our room and was THRILLED to see that they had provided us a room with two double beds and an additional twin. The kids were amazed that they didn't have to sleep in the same bed... My son wanted to swim so I started a load of laundry in the laundry room while he played in the pool. It's a small pool, but very very nice and the pool deck area (including the lounge chairs) were immaculate. I think the ONLY struggle we had during our stay was parking, but that's nothing that ANYONE could've helped with. I was very happy with our stay and will hopefully be able to stay once again for the next trip to Hilo.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have outdoor space or views, be aware what category you're booking if that is impo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank konagirl96740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you are looking for that 4 or 5 star hotel, you can stop reading now. This is a very good hotel that average people stay in. The rooms are clean, the staff friendly and the rooms cover your basic needs.

We stayed in a Superior Room. That means it had a garden view and was closer to the front desk than the Standard Rooms. The garden is small and you only see it upon entering or leaving your room, but there indeed is a garden.

The hotel is about 40 minutes drive to the Kilauea Volcano (Hawaii Volcano National Park) and seems centrally located to just about everything on the east coast of the Island of Hawaii.

If you stay here, consider purchasing the package that includes breakfast (available online). I think it's worth it.

Next time we stay here we will book into the Deluxe Room which overlooks the Coy Pond and part of Hilo Bay. It also has a balcony where you can sit and enjoy the view. I think it is worth the extra $20 per night that they charge for it.

Room Tip: Buy the breakfast package if you do not have special dietary needs. You are limited to 3 choices of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adongeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We are repeat customers -- our 4th stay in the hotel in 8 years. This has become our home base on the Big Island.

Lots of improvements in the last couple years -- Everything is freshly painted inside and out, new flooring and fixtures in the bathroom, the grounds are kept meticulously (always have been). They've made a great place better.

We stay here because of the great friendly and helpful staff, a great price, a great location and it has everything we need at one place -- on site restaurant (plus at least 10 others within walking distance), onsite laundry (with new machines!), a sparkling pool (I watched 2 employees scrub the entire deck while waiting for my laundry to finish), and a mini fridge in the room.

This is not a high end property. If you're looking for an all inclusive resort where you never have to leave the premises, this is probably not your place. However for folks who are looking for a clean and convenient place to sleep while spending days exploring the island, then we highly recommend.

The only item that could make this place better to me is the beds -- currently most rooms have two double beds, and standard hotel quality mattresses....To have a queen bed and upgraded mattress would make the hotel perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pond and Bay have lanais - our preference - but you get more road noise from charte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Practicaltraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
61.2 mi away
No photo provided
61.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Property: Hilo Seaside Hotel
Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing