We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALOHA is alive!”
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Santa Clara, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ALOHA is alive!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Everytime I come to the Big Island, I stay at this hotel. It has the most wonderful Hawaiian feel! Cozy, comfortable, clean and courteous! The staff is always so kind and helpful. I love the way the rooms are situated that there is no one above you banging around. There are windows in each room which allow you to hear the cokie frogs at night (I LOVE that sound!). The Coconut Grill is a great restaurant option and located next to the hotel. It is also within walking distance to Ken's House of Pancakes, an AWESOME place to eat breakfast. The pool area is so inviting and lovely. Nothing pretentious about this hotel. Feel the ALOHA at Hilo Seasdie Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roxanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    418
    287
    76
    49
See reviews for
224
442
96
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is extremely old and layout has a lot to be desired! Garbage cans don't even have plastic bags lined! No parkings! Ponds are not taken care of, and has lamps need to be taken care of, too. Doors are old and have cracks! Can't get over hotel rooms layout!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PooKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is a great place to use as a base for visiting the Hilo area. If you plan on spending a lot of time at your hotel you might be better off looking for a resort with a beach front and ocean views, but if you just want a clean, convenient, friendly place to stay, this is a great choice. You can walk to the beach and a few restaurants, including the 24-hour Ken's House of Pancakes.

The room I stayed in had two full size beds (not queen size), but I think they may have other configurations available. AC was a little noisy on start-up, but smoothed out. The shower was good. As the other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are dated but clean.

We got a package that included breakfast with the room. You get your choice of a few pretty big combination plates and a drink. Based on the prices on the menu, I would guess that the breakfast would cost about $10 per person including tax and tip if you were ordering it, so use that as a guide for selecting between room options.

Overall a good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StudentInBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

So for the price I think this a fantastic little hotel. The rooms are dated but they are clean and comfortable. There are no bells and whistles but you don't go on holidays to spend all your time in a hotel room. The shower was powerful, the room clean and the beds were comfortable - a little soft for me but not saggy - unlike me ;) We also liked the fridge and especially the complimentary Kona coffee and coffee maker. Staff were friendly and also offered a lot of local knowledge. Was not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. I have stayed in worse for a lot more $$$

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Hilo Seaside hotel was an older no frills value hotel. We found the staff very friendly. The rooms were clean but old with some signs of wear. Very convenient location for airport and other Hilo locations.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OmniKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Dated with character, clean, safe and friendly helpful folks. Ate across the street at a good Vietnamese restaurant. Stayed here 3 nights on three separate stays. Very consistent service and quality. Check out the fantastic park nearby down Banyan street, very interesting flora and fauna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longroadtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Can't go wrong here for location and value. Rooms are dated but meticulously maintained and everything works
Its a great location near the seaside park unless you have a requirement to be right in town which is a good couple of kilometres away.
My only complaint would be the thin curtains which fail to block out the substantial street lighting if your on the pond side, it was like perpetual dawn all night.
The room rates are exceptional and the restaurant is more than adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rroger_rramjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
665 reviews
61.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
22.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Property: Hilo Seaside Hotel
Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing