We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accomodations”
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I agree with previous reviews - this is an adequate hotel with few amenities. Rooms are tiny, although our patio area was quite roomy! Our ocean view room was most certainly not oceanview - we had a first floor room that looked out onto the fish pond, which was enclosed by a fence - if you stood on tiptoe and peered over the pond, the fence, and the road, there was a glimpse of the bay. Not a big deal, and actually the fish pond was entertaining, as it is full of koi. The pool area is nice and quite large, and the attached restaurant had excellent food for dinner. Super close to the airport, but the planes did not disturb us at all. All in all, it was fine for the two nights we were there, but I certainly wouldn't want to spend much time there!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckrause02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Hilo Seaside is located virtually at the end of the runway of the town's airport, so it's very convenient. It's run by a Hawaiian family (who have hotels on neighbouring islands) and has a family-owned feel to it. It's rooms are ageing somewhat, but are clean and comfortable. Its only drawback was that the breakfast (which starts at 7a.m. - a little tight for anyone catching an 8.20 flight) is absurdly niggardly - coffee or juice, and a small serve of pancakes or oatmeal - not a generous look. Oh, and in a strange faux pas the desk gave the key to our room to another family, who walked in at 10pm - fortunately when we were just watching one of the seeming 100 channels on the TV. On the other hand its staff were friendly - though you'd think that they'd provide milk, rather than referring you to the convenience store about 500 yards away across a couple of roads and behind Ken's House of Pancakes. Hilo itself (a $10 taxi ride away) has a charming hippy ambiance, a refreshing change from the usual over-developed American resort style that characterises much of the rest of Hawaii.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool and the entrance - it was pretty noisy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We flew in and only spent one night in this particular hotel. It was clean and neat but really not noteworthy. They did have Wi Fi but only in the lobby...which was a bit of a walk. The room also had a refrigerator and a coffee maker, but that was all. The employees were nice though and that made up for the age of the hotel. There was a restaurant attached which was nice. Otherwise you are getting your money's worth and the view was really good :-)

Room Tip: Huge Koi pond and a spectacular view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mshellrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the staff because they are very friendly and try to help you as much as possible with directions. If we compare price to quality the hotel is over rated. I don't think that I'll go again to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I felt very pleased with my stay at the Hilo Seaside Hotel. A nurse recommended this hotel to me after a near disastrous incident, and I feel so grateful to have found such a warm, caring environment. The hotel is close to downtown Hilo and many attractions, and I found traveling
around the area to be quite reasonable on foot.

Room Tip: I liked my room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I did a last minute booking during a busy holiday season. We were lucky to get a room. It was old, clean, and overall ok for the value. Frankly, there's nothing special about the room. We just came to sleep and shower. That's all. The plus side is Ken breakfast place is within a walking distance.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank PoySak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Look no where in Hilo is there a high end resort. So if your looking for that this isn't it! However, it's clean and well kept for its age. The rooms are spacious beds are clean and comfy. They have ac and a fan. The staff has genuine aloha spirit. It is located near to Hilo town and is close to the airport. If you are looking for a place to stay for the right price this is it!! Don't forget to have breakfast at coconut grill it's good and reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JV V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
588 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
426 reviews
61.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,248 reviews
60.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4647
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range: $124 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing