We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,108)
Filter reviews
1,108 results
Traveler rating
236
449
296
77
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
449
296
77
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut grillattached restaurantkoi pondice pondclose to the airportsmall museumhawaiian familythe big islandbanyan drivebudget hotelfree breakfastfamily owned hotelolder hotelnice poolken's pancake houseold hawaiishort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
668 - 673 of 1,108 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I booked a package to Hilo through Expedia and decided to stay at Hilo Seaside while we were there for our 5 year anniversary. When we arrived we found that at no additional expense they had upgraded our room to overlook the koi pond. The room was very comfortable, (1950's small, but cozy) and the view from our room was absolutely relaxing. The staff, (which are for the most part all related) were very pleasant and knowledgable about the island and attractions to see there. Hilo is not the resort side of the island but the historical sites are amazing. Hilo Seaside was well kept and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLK7331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our 3 night stay Dec 18-20 at this hotel was quite pleasant… so close to the airport and ideal for exploring the gardens/ falls on the hilo side.

The location is picturesque, with huge banyan trees, a canal in front and a big koi pond at the entrance. Found the lobby cosy and the passage ways lovely decorated with lovely Hawaiian patchwork quilting wall hangings. The room was by the poolside, spacious with comfortable beds, a fridge, a decent shelf for clothes, a nice table

We had read the negative reviews about noise… we get out of the hotel we stay in pretty early in the morning and are sound sleepers, so we decided we’ll risk the noise… we were startled just once by the thundering roar of a plane taking off the evening we landed… thought it was the volcano exploding…. It was that loud… but during the rest of our stay we did not have any unpleasant experience… our poolside room was near the ‘employee room’ and the staff there were wheeling their sevice trolleys all hours… even wee hours of the morning… it did disturb us but with all our heavy touring, we were able to go back to sleep
Our room was not dated at all… it looked charming, the bed spreads were new, the room as well as the rest room scrupulously clean and the bath tub had two very well placed support rails to grip the free toileteries included a sewing kit... how sweet!!…we had no complaints at all
The free breakfast at coconut grill did not work for us… we went in at 7am , but the staff was just getting in, they were very tardy.. we were served one tablespoon of yogurt and a small glass of juice , one small slice of banana bread and a half of a tiny papaya after some 20 minutes… we refused their coffee, bowl of porridge and did not use our vouchers again…a buffet would have been easier on us as we start our day early and did not want to be late for our waipio valley horse ride at 9am that day
The checkin staff were uniformly efficient. We had stayed here for the 1st 3 days of our 1 week stay on the big island, then after a day at VNP, stayed at Sheraton Keauhou bay for the last 3 days… but we were catching our return flight to Honolulu from the hilo airport on 24th and so drove back from Sheraton in the morning… we asked the reception here if we can keep our bags here when we did some sight seeing and then collect them before we drive to the airport for our flight at 3.30. they were gracious about it and stored our bags in their luggage room when we turned up around 9am… we got back around 2 to pick them up and the reception girl (sorry, forgot her name) helped to wheel one of the bags and refused our tip also….. we have had the luggage storage service in other hotels elsewhere but it’s usually when we check out of the same hotel on that day… here there was a delay of 4 days after our checkout but they were gracious… we appreciate the service

our whole experience here was great, we had lovely sunny weather as well... we would gladly recommend this charming hotel to our friends and family

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndFamTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were staying in Kona, but because of reviews I read, chose to stay one night here before going exploring on the Hilo side. The location was perfect to see rainbow falls or head to the volcano. Close to walmart and other stores to get snacks before heading out exploring. We got in too late to eat at the restaurant on site but there is a good place next door for dinner. It is quite pricey but has really good drinks. Breakfast was included and wasnt bad. You get three choices.

The rooms were definitely dated. The bathrooms are tiny and the AC unit is one of the loud window kinds. We ran the ceiling fan rather than deal with the noise. I wish the laundry room was open later, but it closed at 8.

TIp: If doing a day trip and you want to see flowing lava, plan to stay here the night after you explore, as the best viewing apparently happens as night falls.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdsuindian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

No, it isn't a 5 star hotel. Yes, maybe I should have given it a 3 star rating, but there are some intangible and tangible things about this property that warrant the extra star. The best parts about it is that the staff is superb and that the hotel is truly Hawaiian in feel. To add to this, the location, cleanliness and quality of the beds and linens cannot be denied. Having a little fridge in the room, along with toiletries, an iron and hair dryer is also a bonus. All in all we had a terrific stay and even though I don't remember their names, I would like to send a special thank you to the two ladies that worked the reception desk in the evenings. Being from New Orleans, I was very impressed that after a very welcoming and efficient check-in, I was told "laissez les bon temps rouler", which was pronounced very adequately. The next welcoming gesture was to show me a can of Cafe du Monde coffee and chicory, while expressing their affinity for the product. I am promising myself that I shall ship some to them and if I don't, "I am wrong for that".
Ladies, thank you so much for a wonderful stay. I will recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

Room Tip: The front rooms with the lanai are very pleasant and overlook a fish pond that I wouldn't add to my landscaping, but that in context can be relaxing. They also overlook a small cove in Hilo bay.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nolatNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

everything good that others say about this place is true. The negative comments are, to our minds, unfair. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is spotlessly clean, the beds are comfortable, the public spaces are quite wonderful, and the staff is outstanding. Yes, it is dated. Yes, it feels truly Hawaiian; you will not think this is just another hotel in Miami. That alone is a good reason for staying here. In addition, the hotel's location is very convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews