We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$174
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aaron's Cottage(Hilo)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maureen's Bed & Breakfast(Hilo)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,115)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveler rating
240
451
296
77
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
451
296
77
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut grillattached restaurantkoi pondice pondclose to the airportsmall museumhawaiian familythe big islandbanyan drivebudget hotelfree breakfastfamily owned hotelolder hotelnice poolold hawaiiken's pancake houseceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
688 - 693 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times and find it the best value in Hawaii. Great location close to airport, beaches, Kens House of Pancakes etc., we will definately stay here again. Staff have the usual excellent Aloha Spirit and are very friendly. The fact that we have been here 4 or 5 times is testament in itself .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Seaside for four nights as we found the east side of the Big Island much more to our liking. The hotel's location in Hilo is very convenient, not only to restaurants, Banyan Dr. and the downtown area, but also to attractions in the Hilo area.
I'd suggest upgrading to one of the rooms with a lanai. Ours overlooked the pond at the front of the hotel and we used it a lot while at the hotel. Our room was impeccably clean and had been recently updated with a newly redone bathroom, new carpet and very comfy double beds. There was no need to use the AC as the ceiling fan was enough to keep the room comfortable. The hotel was built in the 50s, which is part of its charm. As well, one of the computers in the open-air lobby was always available whenever I wanted to use it.
The adjoining restaurant/lounge serves an adequate breakfast and has a happy hour from 2 to 6 every afternoon with reasonably priced local draft beer and other drinks.

The staff at this hotel was just about the friendliest and most helpful I've ever experienced in a hotel.

As well, the pool was clean and refreshing. We were almost the only guests using it and we made a point of doing so every late afternoon after a day of tourist activities.

Due to a tsunami warning, we were evacuated for five hours one night and without our having to ask for an adjustment of our bill, we were not charged for that night even though it was an act of nature which had necessitated the evacuation.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lanai (patio or balcony).
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

There’s no big-brand hotels in Hilo, and this motel really dates from a few decades.

Rooms are 1950’s style (color and amenities) but it was relatively clean.

We didn't sleep too deeply because the cargo airport is right beside, and there are intermodal trucks in the nearby industrial park.

Free parking and breakfast were included.

Front desk staff was nice and gave us indications.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Hilo Seaside is a comfortable hotel. The price is okay, but room wifi will cost. There is free wifi in the loby and an onsite restaurant that is very good. Parking is free and plentiful. The location is very close to the airport, and not far from the town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poiboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews