We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“besides the airport”
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“besides the airport”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

There’s no big-brand hotels in Hilo, and this motel really dates from a few decades.

Rooms are 1950’s style (color and amenities) but it was relatively clean.

We didn't sleep too deeply because the cargo airport is right beside, and there are intermodal trucks in the nearby industrial park.

Free parking and breakfast were included.

Front desk staff was nice and gave us indications.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    418
    287
    76
    49
See reviews for
224
442
96
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Hilo Seaside is a comfortable hotel. The price is okay, but room wifi will cost. There is free wifi in the loby and an onsite restaurant that is very good. Parking is free and plentiful. The location is very close to the airport, and not far from the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poiboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Let me start off by saying we had just come from a wonderful stay at the gorgeous Sheraton Keahou which we actually paid around the same price as the Hilo Seaside. I don't have anything else to compare it to on the east side of the island so this may actually be a decent hotel as compared to other available lodging as other reviewers indicate. However, i found the rooms to be old and a little grungy feeling as a result, and being in a place with so much rain and with windows that are more shutters than windows everything felt a little musty. Breakfast was included and was good though. Longer hours for the laundry would have been useful. We still had a decent night's sleep but in anywhere other than Hawaii this would be in the same category as any roadside motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloha_Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and felt very comfortable. The hotel was charming if a bit worn around the edges. Definitely not a chain hotel. Our price included breakfast, a good bargain. The only negative was occasional airport noise, but I suspect most of the hotels in the area suffer from some.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kipnrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hilo Seaside Hotel:


We stayed here for just one night and so there is not that much to draw on. That said, in the course of our 9-night stay in Hawaii, this was the only one of the four hotels where my wife said "Mehhh." As I do with all of my reviews, here are some positives and negatives:


Positives:


1) Price - this was competititive - I ended up booking through Priceline using Name your own price feature and got the room for $56/ night + taxes and priceline fees.

2) Location: Easy to find - we were coming in from the Volcano National Park. We stopped at a diner (Ken's) on our way to the hotel and from there, it was just one stoplight away. Overall, it was quite easy to locate and get in and get out of.

3) Checkin and Checkout process: It is amazing how many hotels screw this up so I mention it anytime a hotel does both without an issue. This hotel clicked on both.

4) Free parking: Right outside the hotel. There is also a security guard who patrols the area so this is somewhat better than randomly parking on the street.


Negatives:


1) This is an old hotel. Our hotel room was on the 2nd floor and yet there were no elevators to the room. We had to lug our luggage to the room and there was no bell hop who offered any help. The biggest disadvantage of the old rooms is that there is a bit of smell in the bathrooms. While I got whiffs of it, my wife who has a much sharper nose (don't they all do), picked up on it much more quickly.

2) No free internet in the rooms. We were even ready to pay but the connection seemed to not work and we didn't get it. I ended up sitting in the lobby for 3.5 hours to finish work on a deadline and get that out of the way.

3) Internet in the lobby is free and a pretty decent speed but you have to get a fresh password every 2 hours. What the hell!

4) By virtue of sitting in the lobby for 3.5 hours between the hours of 10-15 p.m. and 1-30 a.m. I got a sense of the characters staying at the hotel and I can tell you that the scene was not very reassuring. There were 4 guys between the ages of say 18 - 22 who tried checking in to the same hotel room and they were rebuffed because each room can have only 2 adults. They left cursing with expletives. There were others who seemed like a bit shady characters.


Overall if I had to do it again, I wouldn't have stayed here but paid a few bucks extra to go to a better hotel. Hilo has more options than Volcano and you can do better than Hilo Seaside Hotel.

Room Tip: There is apparently a lot of street noise - the lady at the front desk told us this and she assigned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

For a budget hotel, it was a pleasant stay. Very clean and super friendly staff. This hotel has a lot of charm that s hard to find these days and for that reason alone made it a nice stay.

pros:
-clean
-inexpensive
-awesome breakfast. Try the taro banana pancakes.

cons:
-a little noisy because it is close to te airport. if you are a light sleeper, might want to stay esewhere.


-a little

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having read the mixed comments about this hotel, we were kind apprehensive. However, all our fear was dispel when we arrived at the hotel.

The check-out was easy and the staff was very helpful. We told them that we were here for our anniversary. Despite that we booked from Hotwire, they upgraded our room to deluxe room with a king bed (minus the breakfast).

The room fits us both well. It's not as spacious. The most important for us that it is clean.
The bed and pillow is alright as well.
DH said that the standing shower is rather small but I'm alright with it.
We stored all our food in the compact refrigerator provided in the room.
The A/C was rather loud when it cranked up but it soon turned to a comforting lull. We only heard the coqui frogs when we were in the bathroom. :-) It didn't bother us at all.

The location of this hotel is very strategic. You will be entertained by the beautiful Banyan trees when walking towards Liliuokalani Garden and Coconut Island. They are reachable within 10 minutes of walking. And it's very near to eateries: Ken's House of Pancakes, Sombat's Thai Cuisine, and Verna's Drive In.

They have a laundromat on site as well. The koi pond is well-kept and very soothing to watch. We had a comfortable stay without breaking our budget.

Yes, we would stay at this hotel again when we visit Hilo.

Room Tip: If you're staying at the hotel on a special occasion, do remember tell the staff. You might be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Coffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
665 reviews
61.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
22.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Property: Hilo Seaside Hotel
Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing