We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hilo
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,420)
Filter reviews
1,420 results
Traveler rating
459
458
240
144
119
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
459
458
240
144
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hula hula valet parking wrap around balcony lobby bar warm cookies resort fee corner room breakfast buffet merrie monarch ocean front view of the bay the big island banyan drive banyan trees national park japanese garden rental car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,420 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2020

I stayed here on a business trip for a bit more than a week. I just wanted something that had air conditioning, would be quite while I slept, and had a decent restaurant. I was not interested in the restore amenities or any of those kinds of things.

First the positives:
On the positive side I will say the service offered by the staff was excellent!

Now the negatives:
While my room did have AC it was louder than standing next to a jet engine! During the night I had to chose between not being able to sleep due to the heat/humidity or due to the very loud noise of the AC unit when it would turn on. Without fail if I left the AC unit on over night it would wake me up when it would turn on. The second noise issue I had with this hotel was that the walls are paper thin. I could hear everything that was happening in the rooms adjacent to mine, so I assume they could hear me as well. This lack of privacy was unsettling. The room also had a very oddly placed bathtub that was outside of the bathroom and made walking to the bathroom from the bed very difficult.

The restaurant was decent but I found overpriced especially given that is serves more locals than hotel guest.

Overall I would not recommend staying at this hotel if you are just trying to get a decent nights sleep outside of the heat and humidity that can be Hawaii.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eduardom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

This hotel is beautiful overlooking Hilo Bay. The staff is warm and friendly and the amenities of the property are great . The only thing I would suggest is that they consider adding room service and a spa.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank kdmia4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

Excellent location in Hilo, close to airport, Ken's House of Pancake, downtown Hilo, and stores. Front desk staff are very welcoming and always smiling, but don't be surprised if there is a long line during check in. Valet staff are friendly and quick to get your vehicle.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Rosie14193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful. The location is perfect. The live evening music in the lobby area was very enjoyable. Rooms were clean and well maintained.
However staff hospitality is lacking. We had unpleasant experiences with breakfast and room attendant staff. Also there are no towels for the pool, you must walk a distance to the lobby to get one and maybe they have one (?), it was also requested that you walk back to the lobby to return your towel.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 302TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

If you are expecting a resort then dont be fooled by the marketing. It is only a good hotel for bags and bed. There is a really small cold pool and no entertainment activities onsite. Their valet service is great, rooms are in good condition but do not stay here expecting a resort quality stay.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank sivai2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews